We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”

Grand Choral Synagogue
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.40*
and up
Jewish Heritage Private Tour including Grand Choral Synagogue and Ethnography...
Ranked #89 of 1,793 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
468 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is the only synagogue in St. Petersburg and dates back to the late 1800's. It has a long history of survival through Lenin, Stalin, the Russian Revolution, World War II and more recently, the KGB. it is an active synagogue, beautiful and understated. There is of course, no charge to enter but if you want a guided tour there's a small fee for the guide. It is a visit worth making.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a truly unique place in St. Petersburg. We were on a private tour with another couple who requested to visit this historic synagogue. We took a guided tour and learned the history of the synagogue as well as the history of the Jewish people in St. Petersburg. An interesting part of the guided tour was a visit to the "Brides" room. Don't forget to visit the shop next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken and Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
360 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Can't compare with the Great Synagogue in Budapest”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were very warmly greeted. There was no entry fee – unless you wanted a guided tour.
The synagogue is tranquil, attractive and large in stature but in my opinion you simply can’t compare it with the Great Synagogue in Budapest. I’m glad we saw it while we were in the vicinity, but wouldn’t make a special detour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous building”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited the synagogue on a family vacation. A young woman seated near the entrance to chapel suggested a tour. I was skeptical but my two sons who are not religious we're enthusiastic about having a guide. The guide - can not recall her name - grew up in St Petersburg. According to her there are about 80,000 Jews in the city. There are several schools ans JCCs now - seems they all are supported by the Chabad. She also showed us the Wedding Hall which contains some historical exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheripap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
360 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A magnificent Architectural Gem”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This synagogue, the sole synagogue in the city of St. Petersburg, Russia, is built in the Moorish style and exudes tremendous warmth despite its rather large size. The magnificent chandeliers that greet you upon entry into the sanctuary make a wonderful first impression. The view from the women's section upstairs is tremendous. Also on the grounds of the synagogue is a kosher restaurant, a wonderful kosher take-out market, and a gift shop that benefits the Jewish community (on the outside of the synagogue) as well as a gift shop in the interior of the synagogue which is said to be owned privately. I took food out from the mini-market on the grounds of the synagogue and it was extremely tasty and reasonable in price while being strictly kosher. Suggest it highly to those who follow kosher precepts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Choral Synagogue also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Grand Choral Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing