We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveler rating
854
286
84
33
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
286
84
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter palacerooftop restaurantpalace squarestandard suitetop floorsteam roomroom serviceperfect locationturn down serviceseparate showerconcierge desknevsky prospectspilled bloodhotel is beautifulbreakfast staffcaviarother attractions
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Booked from the hotel website and got a good rate. Emailed them several times re: airport transfers and visa help - quick replies always received.

A lovely, newish hotel in a great location. Rooms are small but well designed and equipped. Queen sized bed. Bath and shower in our bathroom. Air con also good.

The food prices are a bit steep but restaurant on top floor worth it for the views and ambience.

Beware the St P taxi drivers. They do not use meters and prices can be to high. Hotel cars are great esp. to airport.

Staff speak English and are very heloful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlopsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

This hotel is excellent by all means. Perfect location (just behind the Hermitage), friendly staff, marvellous breakfast, good price and services. The room rate included internet as well, therefore you don't have to buy cards etc. The room includes both cable and WiFi. The rooms are very well-equipped (safe, flat-screen TV, internet etc.) and clean. The bathroom is a little bit small, but the decoration/interior is very nice (both for room and bathroom). The room rates are very reasonable, good value for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank katje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Selected on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews the standard of this hotel was of the highest order from the meeting at the airport to the drop-off five days later. On arrival we were upgraded to an excellent room overlooking the river and the concierge team worked hard to organise guides, restaurants and theatre tickets, and to give good advice when required.
It seemed that everyone in the hotel spoke English which was very helpful as we did have a word of Russian and the whole atmosphere is one of calm efficiency.
St Petersburg itself can be very expensive so we suggest that you try local Russian restaurants - Lonely Planet have some good suggestions- and try and avoid imported wines which are absurdly overpriced. You can soon get used to Russian champagne at £4 a glass and there is always vodka of course.
There has been some comment about the cost of using the hotel cars but if you are out and about at night local taxis have a minimum charge of 20 euros, about 700 roubles, whereas the Kempinski charges 13 euros per trip.
Finally, afternoon tea in the Kempinski is fantastic value for £10 per head and served in very comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We were extremely pleased with everything about our stay at the Kempinski in St. Petersburg. Although the first room they showed us was not fantastic, they eventually gave us a nice room with a view of the Hermitage for the same rate. The staff were very polite, spoke excellent English and gave us many great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. Be sure at least to have a drink in the hotel's restaurant on the 9th floor - the views of St. Petersburg at sunset can't be beat. We had vodka and caviar there one night before going out to dinner - very memorable. The hotel gym and spa are small, but very pleasant with both a steam room and a sauna for guests use. The breakfast buffet is as good as it gets.

The concierge booked our train tickets for the overnight Rossiya train to Moscow without a hitch - a very fun thing to do, by the way, if you have the time. We highly recommend Triton restaurant, which was a hotel recommendation. It's pricey but it's worthy of a Michelin star so in the end it's good value for the money. If you go, the chef 's name is Linton and he's from Canada. Ask for him - he really went out of the way to make sure we had a great dinner.

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

Visited a St Petersburg the first week of March 2007 on a short holiday to visit The Hermitage and some of the other attractions in the city. In terms of location, no other luxury hotel is better situated. Located on a quiet side street off Nevsky Prospect The Hermitage, St Isaacs Cathedral, Kazan Cathedral, and the Russia Museum are less than a five minute walk away. The hotel is less than a year old, and I could not find any fault with it. Rooms were gorgeous with a nautical type theme. The hotel in general is spotlessly clean and staff was very friendly and spoke very good english. Free WiFi and LAN Internet access was also available. The breakfast buffet was very tasty and fresh squeezed orange juice was available (which is always a favorite of mine).

Based on advice from the Trip Advisor forums and the Lonely Planet Guidebook, i pre-booked a car service to pick me up at the airport for $60 USD (taxis waiting at the terminal wanted 100 euros!). On the return trip to the airport I used one of the taxis waiting outside the hotel and they only charged 1500 Rubles (about $30 USD). The airport is only 10 miles from the center of the city, but traffic is horrendous during rush hour so they journey will take about 1 hour. In summary, the hotel's #1 rating is well deserved!

0

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank mschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews