We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, variable service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, variable service.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in August in a "queen suite".
My wife arrived very early on the first day and the hotel checked her in without problems, which was good.
All front of house staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Room comfortable, but was an interior room on 5th floor so windows looked out over the atrium and corridors, so you had to keep the curtains closed for privacy. Go for higher floors if you want real sunlight.
Roof restaurant was a little odd at first. Greeting staff seemed a bit confused, but the evening was very pleasant. Food ok, but nothing special. VERY expensive though.
Breakfast was the biggest disappointment. Nobody to greet you, though there were people wandering around. Had to practically grab someone to take a coffee order, then the waitress disappeared. Eventually a seemingly senior and pleasant woman took an order for food, but it took a long time to arrive. I'd be disappointed with this level of service in a 2 star motel. Also very expensive.
Fortunately, the hotel's location means there are many other places to eat and drink for a lot less money.
On the other hand, the bar/cafe in the lobby was pleasant, comfortable and well manned.
Seems to be a bit of a lottery.
Frequent live music in the lobby area, violinists, pianist. Very nice.
"Lady in red" service for advice, reservations, etc seemed like a good idea, but there was not always someone there. Regular concierge service fine though.

Room Tip: Go for an inner room above floor 7 if you want to have an outside window... or go for an exterior fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goron59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Управляющий at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear goron59,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences, as we value every comment that our guests leave on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

We regret to know that you were not pleased with our breakfast service. Usually, we receive very positive feedback on it. We can assure you that following your comments we will follow up with the respective department and implement the necessary actions.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our Von Witte bar and life music in Lobby area. We hope to welcome you to our hotel once again during your next visit to St. Petersburg having chance to show you our real Kempinski hospitality.

Sincerely yours,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    257
    71
    25
    19
See reviews for
170
400
64
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iran
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Locate in the center of city. Nearby the most important place. Such as Hermitag musuem,...
There is some music players in this hotel that you can experience a litile consert. There is spa center for relaxition. The breakfast service is good whit more type of chees and jam.
There is a motorcycle (BMW) on the roof where the restorant located and you can seat on it and take picture.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasihAfzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Hotel Location was simply fantastic the Hotel was in close proximity to everything no need for taxis. Tons of restaurants & cafes close by.

The Hotel graciously upgraded us to a suite & escorted us to it. On arrival to our suite we were greeted with champagne, chocolates & delicious macaroons lovely gesture I might add. The Suite which I have to say was a shocker to me, it seemed like a good size regular room, with a view of the Moika river which was pretty noisy during the day as one could hear the river cruise operators, but that didn't bother us as we were out all day. The interiors & furnishings seemed very tired definitely could do with a refurbishment. The Bathrooms a tad small & the amenities very sorry. The Air conditioning was terrible our suite never cooled below 26 degrees Celsius which is not comfortable especially after a long day walking around the city sightseeing.
Even after request for a service engineer to take a look although was very prompt the room never cooled down. Even mentioned it to the front desk who instead of being sympathetic in turn informed me that this has never happened & blew it off. The temperature in the hallways from elevators to the rooms was like a furnace easily about 30 degrees.
All the girls at the Concierge were very helpful managed to get us last minute seats to the Ballet & the Circus (amazing seats).
Be advised that the Hotel does not change US$ only Euros and was told that it was the policy of all hotels in saint petersburg. bank is 2 min walk from the hotel. We used the Hotel car for a short distance to the Faberge Museum 800 RUB Vs our return journey by local taxi 300RUB. Also Hotel Airport Transfer 4400 RUB vs private car service (Welcome Taxi) with english speaking driver RUB2000. Infact we continued using Welcome Taxi our entire stay to go to the ballet, late night dining etc. very convenient & fabulous service.
The Breakfast buffet was good, visited their roof top resturant/Bar which was disappointing but it could be fabulous with the right architect & designer.
Although the Staff were pleasant, I Have to say was disappointed with the Hotels interior as was expecting a lot more from a Kempinski Brand Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Управляющий at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Naita,

thank you for taking your time for writing your review and sharing your experience. We value each and every comment that our guests leave on TripAdvisor, as it helps us to control our service and maintain it at the top level to satisfy all our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our attentive concierge team as well as the uniqe location of Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.
Also we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast at Beau Rivage restaurant. We received many positive comments about it as well as about our room decor in marine style which reflects the spirit of St. Petersburg port.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel once again during your next visit to St. Petersburg.
Sincerely yours,
Simon Zagelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

After flying from Ekat for more than five hours, I was just exhausted. The only thing I needed was a good shower and a comfortable bed.
Check in was a breeze and even though I arrived early, the room was ready.
The room itself is boring. Old style. I am not particularly fond of such design.
However the restaurant on the top floor was good. The service is ok. Nothing special.

The location is superb. I walked to our St.Pete office and really enjoyed the White nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in a standard suite at The Kempinski for three nights in June, at the time of the White Nights Festival. We expected luxury and that was exactly what the hotel delivered. We arrived early, around 9.30, not expecting to check in, but our suite was made ready by 10.15. All staff were most helpful and courteous; room service was prompt and the room itself excellent. The buffet breakfast is possibly the best we have experienced (and we are well-travelled). The hotel has an excellent location being only five minutes to The Hermitage and even less time to Nevsky Prospect. We shall certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Управляющий at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing such a positive feedback about your stay at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

It is our pleasure to learn that we have met and even exceeded your expectations. Your kind words about our service, breakfast and location are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Sincerely yours,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I love St Petersburg and I love Moika 22. This is really a great hotel, superbly located in one of the loveliest city in St Petersburg. Yes the rooms are quite small and the temperature in the corridors a bit too high, but everything else is top notch. If you are there on a sunny day go to the deck by the relaxation center for some sunbathing time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esieens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Управляющий at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Esieens,

Thank you for such a warm review about our hotel and staff. It's very motivating for our team to have a positive feedback from our guests. In our constant attempt of delivering the high level of service we do appreciate to hear the comments of our guests.

It will be an honor for us to welcome you back to the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely yours,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

we loved our stay in July at the hotel! the location is perfect , close to everything - the hermitage, the Nevisky prospect, the river ! the concierge was very helpful, they gave us early check in as well, the breakfast is fit for an Russian tsar! you can see most of spb's iconic structure from its roof top restaurant
the hotel makes up in location and service which it lacks ( a bit) in infrastructure the building is a heritage building

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Управляющий at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Abhijit S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It was a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and we hope that your trip left only positive memories.

We are looking forward to seeing you back to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely yours,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,593 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 355 in St. Petersburg
990 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Property: Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing