We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, wonderful hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Kempinski is right behind the Hermitage, so very central for all the sights of Saint Petersburg. We were able to explore in the evenings after our exhausting days of excursions, and visited local restaurants, shops and cafes.

Very well run and beautifully fitted out, this hotel was a perfect base for our 3 day visit to Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    257
    71
    25
    19
See reviews for
170
400
64
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vilnius
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I really enjoyed service at this wonderfull St.Petersburg hotel. Breakfast is a joy, you would not like to leave the restaurant. Spa is perfect (and few people there), Restaurant on top floor offers perfect views of the city.

And being at the conference, I was busy to pack my things and left my jeans in the room. I did realise this only 4 days later - after arriving home from multi-city trip, Hotel managers did find them and gave back to my friend. Thank you very much, I will definitely stay again at Moika22.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raliska a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, very close to The Hermitage and within walking distance of many of St Petersburg's churches and cathedrals and the main shopping street. There are plenty of restaurants nearby to suit all budgets.

The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have ever seen with lovely juices, a splendid array of fruit. cold meats, yoghurts etc and pastries - and the toaster worked well! But ordering tea was very slow and a second pot could not be provided because the hot water had run out! Cooked items had to be ordered from the menu - scrambled egg came in a bowl swimming in water with tiny pieces of undercooked bacon. Fried eggs were OK but still with cut up pieces of bacon.

Our room was an adequate size with a good bathroom with a bath and separate shower cubicle.
The chocolates were much appreciated but 3 oranges seemed a strange offering for complimentary fruit.

The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Although a large double. it had a massive dip in the middle like a hammock and we were constantly rolling down to the middle and found it most uncomfortable.

The wardrobe was tiny and quite inadequate for 2 people and there were no drawers to put clothes in with the result that we had to leave half of our things in our suitcases for the 3 nights that we were there.

We were unable to get BBC World on our TV and although someone was sent to our room very quickly when we reported it he could not fix it but said it would be done next day. Next day we had the picture for BBC World but no sound - and this continued for the rest of our stay.

Wi fi is free throughout the hotel but very intermittent in the room so we had to use the lobby where it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

When we start looking for a hotel to spend a perfect holiday we consider 3 major aspects to chose, 1st one is the location, 2nd one is the quality of service, 3rd one is the room quality. In Moika 22 Kempinski hotel you will surprise when you found the hotel exceeding your expectations.
The location is only few steps from Palace square and Hermitage and in other side your only 5 minutes by walk to Nevsky Prospect where you can enjoy your meals, shopping, and clubbing, and the hotel is not only near the Hermitage it is also very near to other most seen attractions in SPB where you can go by walk.
I spent 6 nights in the hotel from 11th to 17th of June, the chick in process took only 5 minutes from the front desk with a wide and warm smile. The reception is well decorated and wide with live piano and violin music plays on the upper floor and fresh floors. I booked a superior room and my room was number 827, it was very clean and well equipped but after first night I called the reception to change it because the bed was King size with double mattress where I want a king size bed with one mattress and they changed my room within 30 minutes.
The breakfast is unforgettable with wide variety of choices and hot dishes from a menu set, the open buffet included Champagne, Caviar, fresh juices, fresh fruits.
The bar in the lobby is very cozy and the guys there are too friendly and polite as all the hotel staff, but the prices are expensive, a glass of red wine might cost you 2000 rubles.
The concierge desk is very useful and helpful and ready to answer all questions. The business center is too useful and contains 2 desks with 2 desk top PCs and flat screens and printer and free of charge.
Over all my experience was amazing and will not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to my friends.

Thank you Moika 22 Kempinski Hotel and thanks to all your polite, smiley, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael-anfenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Wael-anfenan,

Thank you sincerely for sharing such highly positive feedback about your stay at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

It is our pleasure learn that we have exceeded your expectations. Your kind words about our service, location, breakfast and restaurants are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel the next time you visit St Petersburg.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

There are few first class hotels in S:t Petersburg and Kempinski is one of them. The hardware is fine and staff are alert and customer focused. However nothing to do and if you sit on the top floor restaurang which has a wonderful view of town you are probably alone.No gym as far as I could see.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Bengt J,

We appreciate your kind review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our roof top Bellevue Brasserie restaurant, as well as the courteous and attentive staff of our hotel.

I truly regret to learn that we have not lived up to your expectations in regards to entertainment in the hotel. I wish you could address your concerns to our concierge staff and to our icon of Guest Relations – Lady in Red. They are always delighted to provide recommendations to each and every guest about personalized entertainment program, whether it’s a sightseeing tour, museum tour, vivid show or quiet restaurant get away.

We really hope that you could take advantage of our guest relation services your next visit to St Petersburg as well as our complimentary access to the gym, located on the 8th floor of the hotel with whirlpool, sauna and steam room.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location and the breakfast and staff were superb. But the standard room was another story, First one was a very tiny double bed room and we changed to a room with a queen, #539. Still incredibly small and cramped and we asked for an upgrade but were told the hotel was sold out. The hallway in both rooms was only large enough for one person at a time. BTW, the shower leaked badly and got the bathroom floor very wet.

My advise is to not book a standard room but a deluxe or better. The price difference is not that great and those rooms are beautiful.

Room Tip: Do nor book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear AZNorm,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We value each and every comment that our guests leave on Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and that almost everything was to your liking.

The hotel is housed in a mansion designed by the Dutch engineer Basil von Witte in 1853 and the additional 9-floor building was strategically built to compliment and accommodate the mansion to its hotel functions. Thus the size of the rooms convey the elegance and historical essence of the mansion.

In regards to the shower malfunction, I have immediately forwarded your comments to the appropriate department. Let me assure you that we will do the utmost to resolve this problem.

We hope you choose to stay at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 for your next trip to St.Petersburg and we would be happy to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A good choice if visiting the Hermitage Museum area. Top marks to the doorman who greeted me by name as soon as I stepped out of the car and introduced me to the concierge who escorted me directly to the room (very slick and professional checkin). Rooms a bit small, but about as expected, and nicely decorated with a nice complimentary welcome basket of fresh fruit and nibbles. A personalised hand written welcome note from the hotel manager was a nice touch, and whilst not uncommon to receive in better hotels, it was somewhat more sincere and well thought out than some of the "pre-fabricated" welcomes from other establishments. All the staff were faultless, and the edible gift on checkout was a great touch - maybe I just looked hungry? Other hotels in the area take note - this is what hospitality is about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalApproach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear SoCalApproach,

We would like to thank you for a kind review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.
At Kempinski we truly believe in our core values - being people oriented and provide European luxury service in everything that we do. Taking care of our guests and consistently deliver the highest level of service is what is makes our hotel the 5 star quality it is.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and we are sure the following visits will be even more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,593 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 355 in St. Petersburg
990 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Property: Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing