We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$328
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
M-Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$83
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$218
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$210
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Domina St. Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
$151
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$390
$329
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
844
280
81
30
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
280
81
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter palacerooftop restaurantpalace squarestandard suitetop floorsteam roomroom serviceperfect locationturn down serviceseparate showerconcierge desknevsky prospectspilled bloodhotel is beautifulbreakfast staffcaviarthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As many have noted in prior reviews this is really a great hotel. Location is excellent being within a block or two of the The Winter Palace, Nevsky Prospekt, the Hydrofoil to Peterhof and so much more. The hotel is typical Kempinski ---- that is wonderful. The staff was superb and rooms and facilities were impeccable. What more could you ask for. Next time we are in St. Petersburg we will again stay at the Kempinski Hotel Moika.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful. It is the shortest walk to The Hermitage and close to most sights. Breakfast was lovely. We preferred to wait for the light and airy main room rather the overflow room but it was the high season. The terrace is the best place for a drink and view over St Petersburg. As with most up market place it isn't cheap but in this case it was really good.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all good but one looking into the atrium may be brighter than those at the back
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Diggerdave,

We appreciate your comment and pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Beau Rivage restaurant, as well as the amazing location of the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.
The top floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant, whose summer terrace you enjoyed, has just presented a new menu thoughtfully created by our French chef Christope Laplaza. The menu features various fine french cuisine dishes as well as traditional Russian dishes.
We hope that you choose the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 once again for your next trip to St. Petersburg and try our new menu at the Bellevue Brasserie.

Sincerely,
Simon Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

i stayed at the kempinski hotel st petersburg.a wonderful hotel in every way.impeccable service everything perfect.the staff at the reception and the concierge very helpful.the breakfast out of this world and all the staff very helpful.wonderful rooms,very very happy.i dont want to mention people by name because i might forget people and is not fair.i will go back again and again.
hermes angeloudis

Room Tip: my room was wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermes a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear hermes a,

We were pleased to have you at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 during your stay. Thank you so much for such warm review about our hotel and staff.

It will be our honor to welcome you back to the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I really suggest, if not to stay in this hotel, wch can be a bit on the expensive side, to go at least once on the terrace for a drink. There you can have a great view of saint Petersbourg, her churches and palaces, in particular the nearby Hermitage.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mario123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Mario 123123123,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we value every comment that our guests leave on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at the top floor restaurant - Bellevue Brasserie. Our french chef Christophe Laplaza just updated the entire menu of the restaurant. He crafted each dish with only the best local and imported ingredients and was able to draw upon the rich experience he received working at four of the Michelin-starred restaurants in France. The new menu features a vast variety of fine french cuisine dishes as well as traditional russian dishes. We hope that you can discover the culinary creations of chef Laplaza in your next visit to St. Petersburg.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are a couple in our late 30s who like value for money but we have a decent budget. We went to St Petersburg for a three night long weekend. We booked here based on the good reviews, location and cost.

We arrived mid-afternoon to the airport and had the hotel car collect us. The driver was well dressed in a sober suit but clearly was a smoker and the car reeked of smoke. He also spoke very little English. We accept this is not essential but the route goes past several notable monuments to the dead of WW2, a huge statue of Lenin and a victory arch as well as the area devastated by the siege and rebuilt post-war. The driver was unable to communicate any of this to us. The taxi driver on the return trip was able and it was far more interesting as a result. The car was a BMW and as comfortable as you might expect but not especially well cleaned. A water bottle for us each was included. The cost was 4400 RUR. In contrast the return trip was 900 RUR and just as comfortable in a city taxi. This was in our view an outrageously expensive journey and we would not recommend it. I foolishly had not checked the cost as I only emailed them to arrange the transfer late and when I questioned the cost by email at the airport I was told there were no alternative options from the hotel.

The porters at the hotel were helpful with the luggage and very friendly. We were pleased by their reception and by that of the reception staff who were beautifully presented and could not be helpful enough. Anna in particular stood out with her wonderful welcome.

The concierge were unable to find either cuff links or safety pins for me when I realised as we changed for the theatre that I had forgotten my cufflinks. It was my fault but their job is perform minor miracles and in this they failed. They were otherwise efficient and effective in printing boarding cards, booking cabs and restaurants and generally satisfying the usual routine requests.

There are two ATMs in the hotel lobby.

The room was clean and comfortable. My girlfriend particularly appreciated the complimentary scrubs and oils etc that can be ordered. Housekeeping was a trifle tardy - on our second full day they arrived at 1800 to clean the room after we had just got back from the afternoon sightseeing. They did do a good job once there. Wifi in the room is quick, reliable and complimentary - a decent perk. The welcome chocolates were dispatched quickly and I was disappointed new ones never reappeared on the next two days! There was also a complimentary fruit bowl that was good.

We did not use the restaurants or spa - we were a bit put of by the 50 GBP pricetag attached to the breakfast and so just went out - there was a great place for breakfast / lunch left out of the hotel and around 300-400m on the same road. It felt like a farmhouse kitchen but was very tasty food with good service and a reasonable pricetag. It is downstairs in a cellar area but we never worked out the name.

Overall the stay was acceptable in that the hotel was comfortable and the reception and portering staff were good. The location was excellent. The service otherwise was adequate but not to the standard I would expect of a hotel of this supposed class and cost. Overall it was overpriced and we will not be going back. We were particularly annoyed by the expensive airport transfer. We will try the Four Season, the Grand Hotel Europe or another central hotel next time. I have possibly unfairly marked the hotel 'poor' but it is at best average.

A note for the hotel: we asked to leave a tip at departure but there was no communal kitty so we ended up giving less than the earmarked total to a porter and nothing to the reception or concierge staff. I don't like tipping as we go along as it seems in some places to create an expectation which can feel rather grubby (not seen at this hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Andrew C,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we value every comment that our guests leave on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

Let me start by expressing my regret that you were not satisfied with our transfer service. We have immediately addressed issues such as the cleanliness of the car provided and the smoking habits of our driver. I can assure you that I will follow up on the described occurrences with the respective department and will implement the necessary actions.

I am very glad to hear that you liked the location of our hotel and appreciate your kind words about our courteous staff at the reception and concierge desks, as well as our porters.

We hope that you will come back to the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and have a chance to dine in one of our amazing restaurants or visit our luxury Spa which has a complimentary access to its facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews