We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #18 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of May and really enjoyed it. Really great breakfast, fantastic service, not too big, not overrun. Definately would recommend it
Great accomodation, altho our room was smaller than I expected but, I suppose that it was you get from booking a 4 for 3 deal! At least it had a window to the outside and not to the atrium. Soom of the rooms face the atrium under the roof, which means no fresh air or outside view at all. Having said that we kept the window closed most of the time because of the mosquitos!!! I think there are very few rooms with a real view.
Only one complaint: the outrageous prices they charge in the restauarnt, bars, mini-bars, even for this type of hotel, I think they are over the top.

Room Tip: our room was smaller than I expected but, I suppose that it was you get from booking a 4 for 3 deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Arrived into SP airport and had no problem getting an official taxi - booth easily identified and cost to hotel was 900 rubles. Kempinski is not an overly impressive hotel both in the lobby and in your room as it is very small for what we thought was a high price (about 400 euros) The rooms were very hot and although we had AC set to 18, the temperature in the room always read between 24 adn 25 degrees and the AC unit was fairly loud. The location is great - easily walkable to many of the major sights and the staff were all very friendly. Upon arrival they provide you with a fruit basket and a small bottle of wine which was nice. Breakfast expensive and not great in the restaurant but room service for a continental breakfast with an extra pot of coffee served 2 people very nicely. TV's are very small, bathroom is very small but perhaps that is to be expected in most of these hotels? Had cocktails up on the roof which was lovely but very expensive - about 32 Euros for a 250ml serving of wine! Coke from mini bar was almost 7 euros! lots of little places around to share your money with and also convenient little grocery shops close by if you keep your eyes open to find them!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Генеральный директор at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear IceMommy,
We appreciate your comment and pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room service breakfast and the amazing location of Kempinski Hotel Moika 22. I am so sorry to hear that temperature in your room was not to your liking. Our technical staff checks every room for proper maintenance of the appliances on a regular basis. I want to assure you that the A/C will run properly for your next stay with us, as well as the flat-screen TV's are being replaced in all of the suits.
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is housed in a mansion designed by the Dutch engineer Basil von Witte in 1853 and the additional 9-floor building was strategically built to compliment and accomodate the mansion to its hotel fucntions.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

check in friendly, room ok but apple in fruit bowl already rotten, come back to room at 3 p.m. and not cleaned yet. Breakfast quality of food good but have to ask to clean table. we booked boat tour with hotel boat for 2 hours at 10.000 Rubel, but got little 21ft Monterey boat 1 hour tour and 8.000 Rubel, that's not what we expect from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The good: staff are very helpful and friendly (special thanks to the concierge desk staff for local info)
The location is perfect for accessing all the many, wonderful city sights, and right by the canal for tour boats
Breakfast very good
The average: the rooms are fine but not particularly wow and, as the weather was warming up, stuffy as air con stubborn!
The Hilarious: the bar to the front of the hotel looked like a nice place for a drink before setting out of an evening - oh no! The smokiest room ever (2013 anyone) really awful not helped by 'clubby style' low ceiling......and the drinks prices.....St Petersburg isn't cheap but £26 for small beer and vodka /tonic?!
Overall a great location, nice hotel but short of 5 star .......apart from bar prices

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank motofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Генеральный директор at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear motofish,
We appreciate your review and pleased to hear that you liked the breakfast and the location of Kempinski Hotel Moika 22. I wish you could have let us know about the problem with the A/C during your stay because the sunlight could definitely warm up the room very quick if the curtains are not closed, and I am always concerned about the well being of our guests that stay in the rooms with the sunny side.

Our bar Von Witte is one of few public places in the hotel where smoking is allowed. Due to the look and the atmosphere of the gentlemen's club, smoking cigars is very popular at the bar; therefore there are a lot of strategically placed A/C and smoking vents. There is, however, a wonderful smoke free Tea Room, which is located on the opposite side of the Von Witte bar in the lobby where you could be served food and beverages as well.

We hope that you would choose Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 for your next visit to St. Petersburg.
Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent hotel, located 5minutes walk from Winter Palace. Near main street, Nevski Prospect which has bars, restaurants etc although we only did a whistle stop tour of this area as we had to fit so much in during our stay. The hotel has very good restaurants, food is of a high standard especially meat dishes, however the creme brulee we had one evening was poor but the complimentary buffet breakfast which was inclusive is very good. The WIFI is free and we had a good connection. We had a corner deluxe room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the Moika river and the street. It was quiet eventhough we were at the front of the hotel. The room was large and comfortable enough for two.The hotel and the rooms were very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Every query I had prior to our arrival in St Petersburg was answered promptly by email and they assisted with getting us the appropriate documents to apply for our visas as we were not travelling via a tour company. We went in April and as I received no reply from some tour guides I contacted,I asked the hotel to arrange tour for us as we were only in St Petersburg for 3days. The hotel arranged a guide and a driver and although this was not cheap it was definitely worth it as we went to all the main sites and spent enough time at each that we did not feel cheated of any experience. We were also able to visit room where Rasputtin was killed as this can only be seen if you are accompanied by a tourguide.
Elena was friendly, helpful and was able to give us sufficient information re the city and the history so that I felt it was worth it. I would recommend that if you book a tourguide you highlight exactly what it is you need from the tour because there were moments that I felt we were receiving information that we already read up on or knew ie who impressionist painters were and how those paintings are defined although I never realised the history behind how some of those paintings ended up in Russia so that was a bonus. Everyone we met were friendly and helpful and although we couldn't communicate in Russian having Elena with us made a huge difference because we could see that St Petersburg citizens are friendly and helpful and that was the best part of our tour eventhough visiting the palaces etc was amazing. We arrived to a practice military parade which was in preparation for end of 2nd world war celebration and it felt like we were getting a peak into "russia during cold war days" so that was an excellent way to start our visit.

After checking in went to The Hermitage museum which is open until 21:00 on Wednesdays.As it was all within walking distance of the hotel it was an added bonus. I highly recommend the hotel because of its cleanliness, friendly staff and efficient service. They provided free fresh fruit on arrival, complimentary water and a bottle of complimentary wine. There is a cashpoint in the hotel and they also have a souvenir shop although the souvenirs at the various palaces are much better value and individual. Everyone working in the hotel spoke very good English. My only critiscims are that the shower was handheld and that one of the elevators indicated that the rooftop restaurant was on 8th floor which led to us walking around for ages and then we found another elevator which showed restaurant was actually on 9th floor. The views from the rooftop are spectacular. We didn't get to use the spa on this occasion but will hopefully do so when we return which we definitely will. So if you are looking for a clean hotel, unobtrusive service and excellent location choose Kempinski Moika

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonitravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location! Situated on the bank of the river Moika, just 5 minutes walk to main thoroughfare of St.Petersburg the Nevski Prospect where you will find restaurants/cafe's/shops and tourist attractions. Whole hotel is nicely & tastefully decorated. Our deluxe room was very well equipped with A/C, nice flat TV, writing desk & separate table & chairs for room service etc. mini bar, safe, extremely comfortable & large bed. Great view overlooking the River Moika. The only downside was the room was small in size & the en-suite was tiny! Only a shower in bath with a shower curtain (I really dislike shower curtains & showers in baths!), a room at this cost should have a separate shower in a glass cubicle. Admittedly there is no room for a separate shower in this bedroom arrangement. The en-suite was very clean & nicely decorated also. The hotel was very warm, despite the temperature outside being very mild the heating was on constantly but the bedroom did have A/C so we could adjust this. The ground floor bar was very quiet & drinks/food were nice but expensive. Breakfast buffet with made to order hot food was absolutely wonderfull.
Forget the resturant on the top floor. It has nice views but there is an outside area you can enjoy & take pictures of the view without visiting the resturant. The food choice is VERY limited, when it arrives (late despite being virtually empty) it is mediocre & very bland. VERY expensive wine & food for the quality & amount you receive, please don't bother & spend you money elsewhere in the city.
On the whole it is a really great hotel only let down by minor issues explained above, I would thoroughly recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dp1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall, the Kempinski is outstanding, although there are a couple of areas for improvement.

I write this on the last day of our 8-day stay.

Service is absolutely excellent, it just doesn't get better.

The complementary breakfast has to be the very best in the world! I travel widely, and have never seen better.

The hotel has the best location of any of the five star hotels here, right on the Moika River and directly across from the fabulous Hermitage Museum.

We had a Deluxe River View room. The room is large, but I would not get a lesser room than this for two people.

The River view rooms have a nice view, but can be outrageously noisy at night - loud partiers passing by until about 5 am and construction noises from the Hermitage.

Although the hotel has a nice steam/sauna/jacuzi area, there is no gym. Due to the high price of the hotel, and its five star status, I felt that they should offer a free pass to nearby gyms, but this may only matter to gym rats.

Surprisingly, although the room is lovely and comfortable, there is no shower - just a bathtub with a handheld shower devise with no place to hang it. This was a hassle, but I got used to it.

Overall, given the competition (the Astoria and the Grand Europe), I would choose the Kempinski again.

Room Tip: Pick an interior room with openable window on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,627 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,637 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,618 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $132 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing