We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing buffet breakfast with first class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #18 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

i think this hotel is largely for business people but it didnt feel like that, apart from the brilliant wifi - free and large band width! The location is very central and you can walk to most places, while the staff are pleasant and helpful. While we were there local children came into the reception area to sing and dance early evening while we were provided with mulled wine and hand made biscuits. Its not cheap so unless you have won the lottery avoid the bar (£25 for 2 drinks!!!) and any other extras unless you know the price. But as a base it was really good and felt homely for a corporate hotel. Have to mention the breakfast - everything you could imagine - fresh and perfectly served. They serve to 11.00 am so no panic - just wish i could eat more in the morning.
Hate to add a negative but the bed was a bit hard for my liking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppy1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

I spent 2 nights in this hotel on business and it was really good. Very pleasant staff on reception made check-in easy. Not really necessary to be escorted to my room for a private introduction to the facilities but better I suppose than the surly response that is still common in Russia.
The room was pleasant enough although I found the bed uncomfortably hard.
For me the highlight of the stay was the breakfast. Expensive, but they always are in Russia, but really first class. Worth getting up 20 minutes earlier just to take a bit more time there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UK_Patch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

As you would expect of a 5* hotel, restaurant and bar prices were sky high, even by St Peterburg standards and the rooms were not over sized, BUT I would recommend the hotel as a base when visiting St Petersburg. 2 minutes and you are at the door of the Hermitage. 4 minutes to the ferry for the Peterhof. Conveniently situated for many of the main sights and restaurants. Consierge service excellent and the buffet breakfast got us fuelled up for the day.

Room Tip: Dig deep into your wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jetinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

While the Kempinski Moika 22 is amazing in most ways, the service level is what sets it apart from anything I've tried before.

Starting at check-in, my request for a high floor room was granted with a smile, I was given an upgrade (granted, due to my stay length) and there was no problem with a late check-out. More importantly, the feeling of warmth was genuine.

At breakfast (sumptuous, incredible buffet), the guy making the fresh juice knows your name and wants to chat - and the waitresses are incredibly attentive, broad smiles all over.

The rooms are decent sized, but the bath room and TV could be bigger. Not my biggest worry when in a beautiful city like St Petersburg, but some might take issue with that.

The location, on the other hand, is great; right next to the Winter Palace and within walking distance 10-20 mins of the 10-15 biggest attractions in the city.

On departure, the concierge helped me - again with a smile - to change my airline ticket within 45 min, doing all the work. And there was absolutely no problem advancing my check-out date by two days.

The hotel is on the pricier side, including the club sandwiches in the bar - but I'd still give it overall 5 stars here on TripAdvisor.

PS - make sure you try the afternoon tea. It's worth it !
PPS - I can't say how happy I was to finally find a business hotel, where wifi was actually free ! And worked - at high bandwidth !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed in the hotel 4 or 5 times for over 2 months in total - every occasion was business related.

It is simply superb. If I choose to get married in St Petersburg, my wedding reception may well be there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safaricakes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our group of five couples stayed at the Kempinski for six nights at the end of September. Great location and service. Breakfast was over the top.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel staff supplied the documents for the laborious visa application, provided good suggestions for casual dining, and had the most lavish breakfast buffet - including champagne and caviar. The hotel is located within a few hundred yards of the Hermitage and close to the Russian Museum and park. It's several blocks to the Nevskiiy Prospect metro stop. The only flaw in this place is that they charge exorbitant fees for transport from the airport or for a sightseeing trip. They are happy to suggest and give details for less expensive options, though. The atmosphere is refined and formal but friendly Nice sauna - co-ed, so bring a swimsuit

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and get a view of the Hermitage and the Neva River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,630 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,620 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $109 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing