We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andersen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aston Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NasHotel(St. Petersburg)
$97
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$412
$379
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$81
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nevsky Forum Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$120
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ligotel(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Repinskaya(Repino)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
32
64
37
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
64
37
13
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 147 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hotel Andersen is an adequate hotel, staff are fairly friendly and good location only 10-15mins walk to Metro station. However, the rooms definitely need updating. The carpet was flithy in our room and the shower was a nightmare. The staff couldn't cope with breakfast on the first morning, with lots of people - no clean tables, hardly any food. But this improved on the following morning when many of the guests had left. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but as a bed for the night its adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pink_cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is ideal if you're trying to see and do as much as possible on a budget. The room itself was fine - 1970s decor, but I had no problems with cleanliness. Yes, the hotel smells a bit of smoke, but everyone in Russia seems to smoke! The walls are thin so if you're after total privacy, then stay elsewhere. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - they helped me enormously when the ATM in the hotel lobby ate my money!! I particularly appreciated the free internet access in the hotel lobby and the fact that you could open the windows. All in all - this hotel is a solid choice and well-located in a spectacular city!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel is DIRTY. In addition, the company prepayment for the room was lost so I had to pay a second time (Scam?). The rooms have no bottled water (as it is dangerous to drink tap water), Paint is falling off radiatiors, and the floor has a undefined color of dirt. No English channels on the TV. Walls are thin like paper so you hear everything that is going on in adjoining rooms. They understand themselves that the place is really bad, as the "Guest Comment card" includes 3 options to mark: Excellent - Good - Satisfactory!
Please do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HermanK_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour- as did pretty much every other guest at this hotel! I think we overran the place!
It's location is not in the city centre, although it is easy enough to get in on the efficient Metro. St Petersburg is a fairly easy city to Navigate, and fortunately they have English translations on their Metro maps.
The Metro station was about a 10min walk away. Inbetween the hotel and the metro are several restaurants and convenience stores, so it was easy enough to find somewhere to eat.
The breakfast was quite poor. Most of the food was barely edible, so we found ourselves eating Pancakes every morning (a Russian staple!).
The bar at the hotel was reasonably priced, and is open 24hrs, so we could all pop in for a drink no matter what time we got back.
The rooms themselves all smelled of cigarettes- but hey it's Russia- everything smells like smoke and vodka!
Aside from that, they were clean enough, although certainly nothing special.
Overall, it was pretty much what I expected of a Russian 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiara_renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Anderson with a friend for 3 nights; the room was small but adequate - two twin beds on either side of the room. There was a small TV, which we never put on, an armoir, a small table, and a clean bathroom. The beds were comfy and the room was clean, except for a set-in stain on the rug. Also, if you stay at the hotel during summer/early fall, please use the plug-in Raid provided - it is a mosquito repellent. I liked the location because it was away from the hustle and bustle; it was a minute's walk to a bus stop and about a 10 minute walk to the metro station. There were shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Breakfast was included. The restaurant also served dinner, but I never ate there, so I cannot attest to the food. WiFi was available in the lobby, as well as one computer with internet access, all free of charge. Something I had to get accustomed to was the cigarette smell, not just in the hotel, but everywhere. Smoking is allowed in public places in Russia, although they do have non-smoking areas.

If you want a luxurious hotel, this is not the place for you; but if you want a place to hang your hat, then this will definitely serve your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews