We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great located Novotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel St. Petersburg Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Ranked #51 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great located Novotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been in Novotel for 4. ights with a guide tour in a family vacation.
Its located in a n strategic place to accesss walking li ts of restaurants and points of interest in the Nevsky ave.
Rooms are clean and quite. Bathroom are extremely clean bit br very careful because the bath tub is a death trap....its too high and you can trip and fall stepping out.
Service can be improved. Maybe its a cultural thing but staff wasnt very kind in their manners and not all of them speak good English.
The buffet for breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Caria!

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your nice comments regarding the hotel location, breakfast and room cleanness. Concerning bath tub, I would like to mention, that on guest's request we provide with anti-slip bath mat and also some of our rooms are equipped with both bath tub and shower cabin.

I am truly sorry that the service was not up to your expectations and hope that you will give us a chance to serve you better during your next vacations to St. Petersburg.

Best regards,

Afanasyeva Natalia,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    514
    169
    38
    13
See reviews for
158
343
99
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 5th to 9th of July 2013.
Nevsky Avenue is the main thoroughfare and shopping street in St Petersburg and the traffic is very noisy. This hotel is about 100m off the main road and is very quiet. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. I'm not sure how many languages they can 'get by' in but many of them could certainly speak sufficient English to make communication fairly painless. As the hotel also had large tourist groups from Italy, France and Spain there during our stay the staff might well understand the essentials of those languages as well.

The rooms were very clean and had tea and coffee making facilities, a minibar, TV and wi-fi. The size of our room (which was presumably typical) was adequate but not over generous. The toilet and bathroom are separate which can have its advantages, but also its drawbacks because there is no wash-handbasin in the toilet. The built-in wardrobe was minuscule, a cupboard wide enough to accommodate a jacket on a coat hanger and deep enough to accommodate six such hangers on a rail that ran from the doorway to the back of the cupboard. That made removing clothes from hanger number six fairly difficult. Although our bed was reasonably comfortable it lacked sufficient firmness - at least for me. The arrangement of one large square pillow with two smaller pillows was definitely not to my liking.

It's a large hotel but with no staircase other than the (internal) fire escapes. At peak times the lifts - 3 of them with a maximum of 6 persons each - are heavily used and I found it frustrating that there was no obvious way of walking up to (or down from) my room which was only on the second floor.

The food at breakfast was good with plenty of choice, but it was often quite chaotic. There need to be 2 tea/coffee machines some distance apart and similarly two locations for cutting the delicious bread loaves and the toasters. Of course if you breakfast early then everything is fine.

Dinner in the restaurant is also worthwhile and on the 2 occasions we ate there the food was excellently cooked. Expect to pay around R3000 for two people (plus the tip).

We spent 4 nights at the hotel, and it was entirely satisfactory for a short stay. But 4 nights was probably enough. Despite being close to the centre of all the action in St Petersburg, with scores of restaurants and bars and shops on the doorstep, its greatest virtue is that it doesn't suffer from traffic noise. One final point. Although all the rooms on our floor were non-smoking, there was often a very strong smell of tobacco smoke in the room when we returned to it, doubtless delivered by the air conditioning. I don't know what can be done about that. Obviously you can't spy on guests in their bedrooms to make sure they're not breaking the rules.

Room Tip: There are no good views from anywhere. Rooms on lower floors afford a chance to avoid congestion wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cielward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Saint Petersburg Centre.

It's great to hear that our team was helpful and friendly and I will definitely pass your nice comments to the staff. Please, be assured, that your positive feedback is a great mean of motivation for our team.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our central and quiet location, room cleanness and breakfast (despite it was a bit crowded due to high season). At the same time we are sorry to hear that some of the room features were not up to your expectations. Concerning the good views, I would like to mention, that our Executive rooms and Suites are located on the top floor and have fascinating view over the city roofs. We appreciate all of your points and we are working hard on those improvements to be done, to make Novotel St. Petersburg Centre even better.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next trip to St. Petersburg.

Best regards,

Afanasyeva Natalia,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good hotel for business travellers located in the centre of St Petersburg. Not too far to walk to Nevsky Prospekt the main shopping road in St Petersburg. Good restaurant in the hotel and offers a good breakfast with a great choice. Room was light and Bright and with good internet in the room included in the price (which all Russian hotels still don't always offer). Many good reasonably priced restaurants in the area too. Good meeting room facilities also available if required.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Denise,

We are so happy to hear You enjoyed our amazing central location, facilities and restaurant!

I want to thank You on behalf of the hotel staff for staying with us and sharing Your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate a lot Your feedback and are looking forward to seeing You again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Afanasyeva Natalia,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very well kept hotel with all the facilities you can ask for,located just about 100 mtrs from the NEVSKY PROSPEKT, the main shopping street and along which Saint Petersburg is concentrated. The hotel is connected to all important places by public transport n cab service. Restaurant is very nice and the the breakfast layout was excellent. There are large numbers of cafes n eating joints very close to the hotel ..Concierge was at hand to book our tkts for all the places wanted to visit. The staff is very good and helpful.Cant ask for more.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms on the 4th floor, in non smoking wing all rooms were good quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about the stay at Novotel Saint-Petersburg Centre.

We appreciate all of your nice comments regarding our location, restaurant and friendly service. The positive feedback is always great motivation for all of our team. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at Novotel and try our best to make your next stay as enjoyable as this one.

Best regards,

Vladimir Shuvanov
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been staying in Novotel on a regular basis for 3 years now. Excellent location that combines peaceful and quite but is still in the very heart of town few meters from the main street Nevsky prospect.
Service only got better throughout the years - you can still spot here and there pockets of service culture resistance but, well, 1) nobody is perfect and 2) they are really trying hard to get better.
It is by far not the cheapest place but you can certainly find another 5 to 10 hotels that are even more expensive with little more to offer.
Nice rooms and, I must admit, the best ever swedish table lunch menu, I have seen in a hotel.
On the "lets hope for the better side":
- wi-fi varies greatly from room to room and sometimes (when the purspose of your visit is business) it may spoil your stay
- it is understandable that French hotel will choose French lifts. Still the lifts in Novotel should be changed in the next sizable renovation. They are noisy and the floor under your feet is moving which gives you some uneasy.
Otherwise really good choice!

Room Tip: Be clear that you want room with good wi-fi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterZashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Zashev,

On behalf of our team let me thank you for your kind words about Novotel Saint-Petersburg Centre. It's vital for us to get feedback from our guests - this allows us to adjust and improve our product to serve you better in future.

Concerning the Wi-Fi, I would like to mention that this week we launch a new 5th generation system - the solution developed for the hotel by Motorola. The new equipment is already installed and after a few days of testing we will be happy to provide you with much faster Internet connection.

Again, thank you for your review and we will be delighted to see you as our guest in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Vladimir Shuvanov
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Abroad
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was in a group of ten people who spent three nights at this hotel in St Petersburg in April. We had no complaints at all. The location, in a street just off Nevsky Prospekt, was wonderful, with a fair-sized department store just around the corner, some small cafes and a metro station nearby, yet absolute quiet, ensuring good sleep. Our room was large enough, the mattress was firm but comfortable, extra pillows were supplied instantly and there was a good ensuite bathroom. (We had a shower recess AND a shower over the bath in ours!) There was free wifi in our room.The staff were attentive and well-mannered and the service was very good. The buffet breakfast was excellent with many choices and the servery was constantly replenished. Our group had booked a three-course dinner for each night in the dining room, and the presentation, variety and standard of the food were excellent. I'd go back to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triciamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Centre, Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Traveller!

On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for such a positive review about your stay at Novotel Saint-Petersburg Centre!

Starting from the hotel opening for our team we tried to attract people, devoted to great service and united by the passion to hospitality. So for us it is a great pleasure to know that you trully enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again at Novotel soon!

Best regards,

Vladimir Shuvanov
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#17 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#65 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Ibis St. Petersburg Centre Hotel
#62 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel St. Petersburg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel St. Petersburg Centre

Property: Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Address: Mayakovskogo St., 3A, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#53 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#74 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel St. Petersburg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, a 4 star hotel located in the very heart of the historical centre of St. Petersburg close to all main attractions: the Hermitage, Mikhailovsky Theatre, Russian art museum, the Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan, Summer garden and Marsovo Field. A perfect base to explore the city centre. Relaxing accommodation in quiet surroundings 100 meters away from Nevsky Prospect with its nightlife, bar scene and shopping. Business travelers are catered for with free Wi-Fi Internet, 11 meeting rooms and a business centre. Be indulged at the Cote Jardin restaurant, Intermezzo Lobby bar, and cozy Novotel Cafe. Unwind in our free fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel St. Petersburg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel St Petersburg Centre Hotel St. Petersburg
Novotel Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing