We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence, however charmless service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Ranked #39 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kempten, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Opulence, however charmless service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the architecture and the location are astounding. However, the service from the staff is very dry and unattentive. The location of the hotel is great, but for the price it left me wondering if there are other places within the same price range that are better, or even others that are not so expensive and better in terms of price-quality. Some issues are also strange, buffet is included but only continental, full breakfast is extra. Deinitely room for improvement, especially considering the price and the category of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    119
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
124
233
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lots of marble and other impressive decor. Mat in the elevator with the name of the day of week and lots of other useless decorations. Food for breakfast -- average. Sturgeon was definitely of "second freshness" as Bulgakov said in Master & Margarita, as was fruit and cheese. Air conditioning -- ancient, as is sanitary equipment. This is more of a parody of luxury. Stayed for one night in September, won't come back as Kempinksi or W seem to be in my taste better alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful stay at this hotel. Probably because we went at the end of the usual tourist season, we were given an upgrade to a suite overlooking the canal. The staff were extremely helpful, giving us directions for the sights, booking restaurants etc. Great location, a few hundred metres from the Hermitage. Convenient for restaurants and bars. Lovely swimming pool on the 6th floor, with views over the city rooftops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a great hotel, wonderfully located. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite overlooking the canal. The room was massive with a semi-circle of columns inside the door and a vast marble bathroom. The skills of an olympic hurdler would have been handy to get into the jacuzzi bath and I had to use several of the ten(!) towels provided to mop up the floor after showering. It was all very luxurious though so it was no hardship. The hotel itself is quite higgledy pigglydy with lots and lots of corridors. I did get lost quite a bit. However, the service throughout was excellent and a special mention has to be made of the concierge who booked guides and taxis promptly and efficiently. I had snacks in the downstairs bar, room service and breakfast on the top floor - all delicious. I was travelling on my own and meeting up with friends who were staying elsewhere in St Petersburg so I wanted somewhere safe, welcoming and comfortable to stay in the city. The Taleon came through on all fronts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpomLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed for about a week at the Taleon. This is a superb hotel with excellent service. The room was very well appointed. The only problem was some flooding when taking a shower. A few towels are needed on the floor and then all is fine. It seems the design of the shower over the bath was incorrectly done. I don't however want this small detail to take away from the overall experience: a great hotel in a wonderful location. The breakfast was of excellent quality, it would however be nice if the chef changed the hot meals a bit, as it was the same the whole 6 days we stayed. Delicious though! We did try to have a meal in the bar restaurant on the ground floor. We actually left before we ordered as the staff had a loud movie with gunfighting and car chases playing on big screens which was a real turn off. We then ate in the resturant on the top floor (same place as breakfast) which was excellent. Had coffees and cake in the lobby lounge which was all good as well. The indoor pool is an oasis in the city. Very clean and well maintained. Sauna great as well. Overall, all staff at the hotel had a smile and were eager to help. We would stay again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iglortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived late at night and suddenly a pianist came down from nowhere and started to play the piano in the lobby despite the late hour and absence of other guests.
We were taken by a reception guy to our room where he offered to show us our room... and failed miserably trying to find a safe and master switch for electric lights clumsy opening all wardrobe doors and turning on and off all switches in the room.
The system of hotel's hallways and passes seemed to be a maze so getting to some particular place at the hotel was a challenge at the first day.
We stayed at the 2-room suite on the 4th floor overlooking the Atrium so there were no street view. We never knew whether it was raining or sunny ouside. The room was very dull, in purple colors decorated with heavy dense curtains. It made us feel like staying in a medieval castle.
The breakfast cost 45 Euro (equivalent in rubles), but it was below expectations. The bread served was not newly baked, croissants were cold and not tasty, salmon looked sad.
The SPA was good in general, but saunas were cold, around 45 degrees.
There were no Hermes bathroom kits as it was announced on booking.com, maybe the hotel had already changed its supplier for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sertova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. The pictures are correct. We easily got to the hotel by taking the metro from the train station and then walking up Nevskiy Prospekt. Walk took about 10 minutes. We stayed on the 5th floor. The room had no view (there was a protective barrier) which was disappointing. The room and bathroom were both huge! The shower was great and the bath tub very relaxing. The staff was very helpful (especially Anna) but the key cards would get de-activated after one use. It was annoying to have to constantly go downstairs to get new key cards. The location was wonderful - very close to the Hermitage and an easy walk to everything else. I can't comment on the food at the hotel but the little cafe next door is wonderful. A great visit and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,108 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,574 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taleon Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taleon Imperial Hotel

Property: Taleon Imperial Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 15, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia (Formerly Eliseev Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taleon Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taleon Imperial Hotel is the only modern luxury hotel in St. Petersburg, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World and Virtuoso associations. This former czarist-era palace, built in XVIII century, is located in the heart of the city, only 5 minutes walk from the Hermitage. The hotel offers 89 individually designed and decorated rooms and suites, 3 restaurants, exclusive SPA on the rooftop with a large swimming pool and a variety of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taleon Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing