We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most weird hotel in my life” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taleon Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Ranked #31 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The most weird hotel in my life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived late at night and suddenly a pianist came down from nowhere and started to play the piano in the lobby despite the late hour and absence of other guests.
We were taken by a reception guy to our room where he offered to show us our room... and failed miserably trying to find a safe and master switch for electric lights clumsy opening all wardrobe doors and turning on and off all switches in the room.
The system of hotel's hallways and passes seemed to be a maze so getting to some particular place at the hotel was a challenge at the first day.
We stayed at the 2-room suite on the 4th floor overlooking the Atrium so there were no street view. We never knew whether it was raining or sunny ouside. The room was very dull, in purple colors decorated with heavy dense curtains. It made us feel like staying in a medieval castle.
The breakfast cost 45 Euro (equivalent in rubles), but it was below expectations. The bread served was not newly baked, croissants were cold and not tasty, salmon looked sad.
The SPA was good in general, but saunas were cold, around 45 degrees.
There were no Hermes bathroom kits as it was announced on booking.com, maybe the hotel had already changed its supplier for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sertova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    112
    42
    11
    14
See reviews for
111
213
27
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. The pictures are correct. We easily got to the hotel by taking the metro from the train station and then walking up Nevskiy Prospekt. Walk took about 10 minutes. We stayed on the 5th floor. The room had no view (there was a protective barrier) which was disappointing. The room and bathroom were both huge! The shower was great and the bath tub very relaxing. The staff was very helpful (especially Anna) but the key cards would get de-activated after one use. It was annoying to have to constantly go downstairs to get new key cards. The location was wonderful - very close to the Hermitage and an easy walk to everything else. I can't comment on the food at the hotel but the little cafe next door is wonderful. A great visit and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me, my husband and our 13-year old daughter stayed in this hotel for 1 week in mid-July.
The hotel is magnificent, and I can not imagine how much time and resources it took to convert a couple of buildings from 18-19 century into a palace. I loved our room on the third floor. We had two bathrooms and, what a delight, heated floors!
The location of hotel is the best you can find. % minutes to Hermitage and St.Isaac's Cathedral, right on the Nevsky prospect.
The breakfast, included with the stay, on the terrace of the 6th floor was delightful.
Concierge service was great too.
Too bad with didn't have a few more days to enjoy the pool and spa, but hopefully we will on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verochka71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a most elegant hotel and the staff is very nice and helpful. Ekatrina (the young beautiful concierge was charming and excellent). The pool at the top of the roof is great. Our room was perfect. I would stay here in a New York minute! Excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaBendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Room 513 has no city view because it's blocked by tarasse wall.

Room 407 has bathroom wirh only juccuzi tub. If you try to take a shower floor gets flooded. It's the only room with balcony.

Hallways are difficult to navigate - it's like a maze and easy to get lost.

Concierge overcharges for museum tickets.

Overall it's very nice hotel by any standards and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladikavkaz, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel in June 2012. Hotel is brilliant. It has everything you may need. Great location right in the center of the City. Well served by public transport.

The standard room was exceptional, well decorated, comfortable bed. Impressed with Hermes toiletry in the bathroom and climbing equipment in the room!

Breakfast was standard for 5 stars, but I was disappointed by the lack of desserts.

The staff were very friendly and service was good. All of my special requests were met with warm cooperation and understanding.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel to anyone who is staying in Saint-Petersburg bearing in mind that it is one the most expensive hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knockkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved the hotel. Our room was beautiful and spacious. They had good wifi in the rooms and air conditioning, which was needed. The staff was very helpful and their English was very good. Paint music in the lobby at night. The breakfast was overlooking the city and was very good. It he doorman recognized us each time and gave us a warm welcome. Very good service for a country that is learning the hospitality industry.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taleon Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taleon Imperial Hotel

Property: Taleon Imperial Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 15, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia (Formerly Eliseev Palace Hotel)
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taleon Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taleon Imperial Hotel is the only modern luxury hotel in St. Petersburg, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World and Virtuoso associations. This former czarist-era palace, built in XVIII century, is located in the heart of the city, only 5 minutes walk from the Hermitage. The hotel offers 89 individually designed and decorated rooms and suites, 3 restaurants, exclusive SPA on the rooftop with a large swimming pool and a variety of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Taleon Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing