We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food topped by superb service”
Review of Bombay Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Bar & Grill
Ranked #2,992 of 10,373 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: European, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Liteyny
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food topped by superb service”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

After being here a year, and trying Indian food at many places, this is our favorite. The food is amazing (menu in English). I could talk for days about how good the food is, but what really sets it apart from other restaurants in SPB is the service. We've been here 4 or 5 times now and they know us and are very friendly. It's nice to have such great service after experiencing such apathy in most other places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrennaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, Mexican with indian soul”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to this place as our first restaurant. Being mexican, the indian food is the closest to the spiciness I can have. In russia people don't know anything about jalapenos nor chipotle peppers. However this place was pretty good, it was hard to find at first, there is a small sign outside the place. Once in the decoration was really good and friendly, all people spoke English wish is a +, We order Chicken vindaloo (they only have lamb, but they did it with chicken just for me), tomato soup, garlic naan and the best of the best gulam jabun. Opposite to any other location where I have eaten India food, in Russia rice is not included so you need to order it. Living in USA in my perspective the price was too high, almost 1700 Rbl for what I described above. However the flavors and taste are reasons I will come back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abecedario13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Indian restaurant in St. Petersburg, Russia”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have lived and traveled in India for more than five years and know good, authentic Indian food. Bombay Bar and Grill is very good. The selection is extensive, the portions large, and the prices are most reasonable. The staff are friendly and speak English perfectly. During ten days in St. Petersburg, I enjoyed the restaurant for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToranErikson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
270 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great affordable meal”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

most indian places in St Petersburg are rather expensive. This is more moderat with huge servings. You can hear the cook preparing the food! It is very fresh and taste like the real India.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
“Good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were in this restaurant for the first time. It's quite a small place. The service was perfect and food was great. The portions are big, which makes this restaurant far less expensive than other Indian restaurants in town. We ordered two main courses for two along with a bowl of rice - and it was totally enough. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Bombay Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing