We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A posh cafe!”
Review of Astoria Cafe

Astoria Cafe
Ranked #306 of 10,503 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Description: The new restaurant opened at Hotel Astoria in April in cooperation with prominent Chef and restaurateur Aram Mnatsakanov. Astoria Café is a landmark Russian restaurant with Russian modern cuisine: fresh, light, trendy recipes even for the classic dishes. Astoria Café is the place for fine dining in comfortable luxury. Guests are welcome to try an exquisite menu of Imperial Russian cuisine from Executive chef Ian Minnis. Business Lunch From Monday to Friday we do serve Business Lunch from noon to 3:00 pm. The guests can choose between a two or three course menu, starting at 550 RUB per person. Beyond we do also serve dishes from our á la carte menu with 20% discount. The restaurant is open daily from 7.00 am to midnight, breakfast is served from 7.00 am to 10.30 am (on weekends until 11.00 am)
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A posh cafe!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is really a restaurant in a cafe style.Food was excellent if on the expensive side and the restaurant manager started off in an aggressive manner while answering my questions, but later became all sweetness and light!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jharr1s0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for such lovely review about Astoria Cafe.

We are very happy that you enjoed your dinner with us. Your kind words about atmosphere are very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Elegant and refined”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pre opera dinner here was lovely. Traditional Russian food with a modern twist. Faultless service and beautiful restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Cafe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jane, thank you very much for the lovely review you've shared with other tripadvisor users about Astoria Cafe.

It is always pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your dinner in Astoria Cafe. We are looking forward to see you soon!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent evening dining”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Astoria Café has a very modern interior but it is very in keeping with the classical style of an historic hotel. The cuisine, has a mix of trendy recipes and traditional Russian dishes, makes for a perfectly relaxed lunch or dinner after sightseeing, we joined friends for dinner.
We were greeted very warmly by the front of house team. I would highly recommend the signature dishes, especially their ‘Pavlova’ dessert" it was so light. Although I personally did not order a first course, the waitress brought me a small appetiser as compliments of the chef. I thought this was a very nice touch.
If you are able, try to sit near the windows of the restaurant to enjoy the view of the majestic St. Isaac's Cathedral.
Thank you to the dining room waitress who was very knowledgeable about the fayre on offer and the kitchen staff for creating such works of art! A very happy customer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 735PLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Cafe, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for the kind review you've shared with us!

We are very glad that you enjoed your dinner with us, it is a pleasure for us to know that you liked our signature "Anna Pavlova" dessert, we look forward to offer you something new.

We hope to see you again in Hotel Astoria and Astoria Cafe!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great business lunch, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Went for a business lunch with an old friend and we wanted to have a quiet relaxed place with good food. Astoria Cafe proved to be a good choice. Historical place, beautiful interior and delicious food. All fresh and served by a very nice waiter. We tried the special Lent menu, mushroom pelmeni were very tasty!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Cafe, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback on www.tripadvisor.ru!

We are very proud that Astoria Cafe met your expectations. Your kind words are very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely last evening”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went here for our final evening out. The food was very god and service great. Decided to sample the cheaper end of the caviar, very nice with pancakes. We then both chose local dishes which were equally as good. The view onto St Isaac's is lovely in the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJSh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Cafe, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Astoria Cafe!

I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant. I will definately share yours kind words about service and quality of food with my team.

We hope to see you again in Hotel Astoria and Astoria Cafe!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria Cafe also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Astoria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing