We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umao

Umao
Ranked #189 of 10,180 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the area and came to Umao because good reviews. We were very happy with our meal, service, and ambiance. We highly recommend coming here!

Helpful?
Thank rustyxray
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    26
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No wonder it's so popular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

For a place that opened only in December 2012 and seats only about 20, it does a great business, and now I know why. I arrived at 2 pm on a Monday. Seven young upwardly mobile Russians at the biggest table, plus various individuals and pairs came in and out. It's an Asian fusion kind of place, and the Tom Yam soup was absolutely on target! Leona, the server in blond dreadlocks and a colorful tattoo on her right calf and loads of personality, told me "but it's spicy." Ordered it anyway and glad I did. Also had their pork and veggie dumplings with three dipping sauces, and the teriyaki chicken fried rice. Credit for having larger than usual chunks of chicken, but the danger is that they lose their tenderness, and I also suggested adding just a touch of green onion -- which Julia, the owner, seemed to take seriously. Even the ambiance is nice, with jazz and other classic tunes in the background. At this writing, Umao is #11, and it deserves every bit of that rating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wkyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

So I went back to Umao with my wife and again we loved it - the steamed dumplings, the Tom Yum soup, and an exquisite little vegetable dish - great stuff, and great value for what you get compared to other restaurants in the city.

The hostess was very friendly and spoke English (which was great for us) and they had English menus also.

Cant wait to go back to St Petersburg just for the dumplings!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CostasA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Simplistic quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited twice once at lunchtime for coffee waffles and icecream and a banana spring roll equivalent. Simple but was sheer quality. Place was packed and I would book if possible. For the evening visit we had delightful salads and spring rolls and Asian mains. This place deserves its high reputatation. The food is freshly cooked by a chef who is clearly at the top of their game.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oneisspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Took family to a delightful lunch before our Segway tour, which conveniently was right next door to the restaurant! Dishes were lovely, we had most of the dim sum menu and a noodle and rice dish. Ambience was friendly, the waitress was very friendly and kind and music was great. A very nice experience I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyHHongKong_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umao also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Umao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing