We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All time favourite”
Review of Pyshechnaya

Pyshechnaya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
Reviewed September 7, 2016

I was eating pyshki (donuts) here, since i was a little kid (1990th). And its still good. Pyshki are cheap and yummi, cats that live in the cafe are fat and healthy, tables are tall and clean, napkins are hard and cut out of big pieces of paper, atmosphere is soviet and nice nice nice. Love it)

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank subbotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

A return to Soviet era, and not an unpleasant one. A long line of people from all over the world, united, we stand, to get a bite of "pyshki", whicj actually are ..do-nuts..)) Like a guy from Ulyanovsk said, what kind of toppings do we get. You get sugar, guys. We all get it.. Lots. For 13 RUB a piece. Get 5 each, to save a trip next time.. ;)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Dealsetmatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

Went here as I am interested in Soviet era buildings - this has been here since 1958 & is hardly changed. They sell pyshki (or pyshka) which are deep fried dough which is sprinkled with powdered sugar. Lighter than doughnuts & eaten hot, they are superb. Have them with a cup of sweeetened, milky coffee - the only kind you can get there; its served out of a big metal urn which is regularly topped up. The coffee has sugar & condensed milk added, which is my idea of heaven! I queued for over half an hour & it was so worth it. I bought a bag to take away - very, very hotin there. Very cheap - 13 roubles each. Will definitely go there again - would be perfect on a cold, quiet day. I loved it. No frills, no choice!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jaxspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Went on the recommendation of a local. It was like walking into a different era. The decor was minimal, the service was rude, the coffee weak and overly sweet but oh my the pishki were divine. As it was crowded we shared our table with another couple. They turned out to be from Moscow on a holiday. We ended up having supper with them that night at a very good out of the way place and they gave us tips for some other interesting places to eat and drink in the city. Pyshechnaya is a unique place!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Désirée M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

These are simply the best! These Pishki may look like doughnuts, but don’t be fulled by their roundness and a hole in the middle. These are fantastic little snacks at an amazing 13 rubles a piece. Fried dough sprinkled with confectioner sugar. Light and tasty. You just have to try one, but get at least three. The little cafe, from the soviet times, serves an assortment of drinks, but these are best either with tea or with house special coffee, which comes from a giant barrel pre-mixed with milk. Please keep in mind this is not a gourmet restaurant, so don’t expect wide variety of anything, they serve only one kind of Pishka. Oh, yeah, they also have resident cats in the place a super fat orange tabby and a pretty calico. You will love it all!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luv2Tour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyshechnaya also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Pyshechnaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.