We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great donuts!”
Review of Pyshechnaya

Pyshechnaya
Ranked #34 of 10,291 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Tiny scorching hot room serving plates of donuts and not much else. Full of locals worth checking out though we didn't stay very long due to the speed at which we ate the donuts and the temperature of the room.

Seemed the norm for family's to buy an entire plate of 10 each for lunch we shared 3 they were tasty and very cheap.

Helpful?
Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    211
    87
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Must visit!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

That's a very cheap place that is must visit both for local and tourists. With an absolutly unique atmosphere of the good pay of the USSR. Cozy place with very tasty "pishki"!

Helpful?
Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Russian version of donuts”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

To me the fundamental difference between Donuts & Pyshki was that Pyshki was much lighter. When they are warm you tend to gobble up quite a few of them at one go. The first time we came to Pyshechnaya, we ordered 2 pieces & a coffee per head. The 2 pieces disappeared very quickly. So had to go back & order some more. Then realized that most people were ordering around 4-5 pieces per head. When we visited again we ordered 5 per head!

The coffee & Pyshki at Pyshechnaya is a great pit stop. The place is busy & you will need to cue up for your turn. Most people are regulars. If the cue is long & you are more than 1 person, then it might make sense to split up so that some could grab a table & the rest could grab the Pyshki & the coffee.

The counter ladys are not the friendliest but very efficient.

Not sure if this should rate within the top 3 restaurants in St Petersburg but it is surely an essential St Petersburg experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shibac701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Pyshky”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The best place to try pyshky! The cafe has two small rooms and has been serving somewhat greasy and filling doughnuts (known as pyshky) for almost half a century. This is a very nostalgic Soviet-era cafe. Located just a few steps from Nevsky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolandG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must for Russia”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Prpbably tipical Russian, but this is my first time in this country. Authentic, old fashioned and USSR style place. I would never visit such place in my country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyshechnaya also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Pyshechnaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing