We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Mindal Cafe

Mindal Cafe
Ranked #193 of 10,448 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralteisky
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It is positively one of the coziest places I have ever been to. I picked this restaurant as a venue for a weekend lunch and the staff did they best to let us feel like home! The lady chef is a big professional and she gave us the best advise about the dishes that were very tasty. I highly recommend the Tbilisso salad and Suluguni with cottage cheese and mint.
We got absolutely amazing mango sorbet as a compliment from the chef which she made right in front of us!

Overall, it's a great place for any kind of event: birthday, wedding, date night, friends eating-out...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olinka1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    32
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you have one meal in St Petersburg. Have it here.”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our hotel driver, this restaurant proved to be a great find in the city...

The Chef is ebullient and is happy to recommend dishes if you hesitate for half a second. Listen to her! The dishes recommended were without fail flavorsome and a treat to the Taste buds.

Try the Phaleuli! Five tasters that blew my socks off.

The meat mains were nice. My chops were minced :-) full of flavor however

Nice Italian wine complemented the food.

DO the desert. Our sorbet was prepared in front of us using nitrogen. Flashy yes. A creamy sorbet ! Different and oh so nice.

Vodka and coffee to settle the full tummy and we had a slow walk back to our hotel, smiling at the wonderful experience.

A repeat is on the cards

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a gem ! SO much enjoyed our evening !”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

While not sure at first seating, this indeed turned out to be one of the best restaurant experiences we've had in travel to major world cities.
Our hotel (Sokos Palace Bridge, see reviews) recommended this as true experience for authentic Georgian cuisine.
It is a small restaurant, and upon seeing that the interior two rooms each had large groups, we almost left. The "queen" of the house (she seemed to be server, chef, entertainer, all in one) encouraged us to sit at a table outside under the covered awning. It seemed too close to the street at rush hour, too impersonable, and not what we wanted that evening.
However, everything changed as we got settled, the car traffic changed to foot traffic, the great food and energy of the server/chef began enticing us with great charm and wonderful flavors.
Our table mates at the tables surrounding us were repeat customers, and helped the server translate for us (English-speaking). Each had a very interesting story, and encouraged us to try more.
We were told by the locals that we "had" to have the home-made wild berry sorbet by our acclaimed queen of Mindal. Which to our surprise was created at our tableside, with liquid nitrogen to immediately freeze her wild berry creation. INCREDIBLE end to the meal, besides the late-nigh sunset over the river and bridge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ricarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Walking down the South bank in poring rain I past it twice having glanced at its rather tacky looking menu, however as I couldn't find the restaurant I was looking for I ventured in and what a surprise I got.
Beautiful interior, very smart with excellent service. I had good Stroganoff and something the waiter suggested as a starter (some sort of melted cheese bread) which was delicious. Well worth a visit. Even with the rain the views were spectacular. Only downside was no beer but settled for a glass of good house red instead.

Helpful?
Thank fdb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
“Totally worth it!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was one of the best restaurants we have been in town so far. The Napoleon desert was the best and served personally by the chef. Would definitely visit it again next when I am in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mindal Cafe also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mindal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing