We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So tasty”

Yat Restaurant-Buffet
Reserve a Table
Ranked #83 of 12,116 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
Description: We are delighted to welcome you to our traditional Russian cuisine restaurant Yat! The restaurant Yat is an endowment to the cultural character of St. Petersburg. Our menu presents Russian traditional dishes cooked according to the old recipes of different Russian regions (from Siberia to Rostov and Arkhangelsk region). We offer you to try Pelmeni or Vareniki (Russian dumplings), homemade cutlets, Russian “herring under fur coat” salad (known as Shuba or Seledka Pod Shuboi), Borsch and Schi-soup as well as a fresh bakery and desserts. A wide variety of drinks including local Russian and Georgian wines, Old World and New World wines, are offered to guests along with home-made “mors” (fruit and berries juice) and in-house homemade alcoholic tinctures. Live classical music and jazz are played at Yat on Fridays and Saturdays during the evening. Children can enjoy their time at Yat in a separate room with big soft pillows and toys as well as an area with a fluffy rabbits.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Big tasting vodka platter as a starter then pelmeni dumplings and caviar and blini. Simply superb. Did not expect food so delicious on this trip and staff were so friendly too. Excellent

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 273kathrynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapartala, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Yat Restaurant-Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

273kathrynr, thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our meals and spent a wonderful time at Yat. That's exactly what we are working for. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes,
the restaurant Yat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2019

Thank you Yat Restaurant! This is a truly wonderful place to eat. It is very close to the Hermitage but don't let this put you off because it is in a tourist area. The food is completely wonderful and tremendous value. I have spoken about this wonderful meal to friends and family every since my visit. Very highly recommended if you want local Russian cuisine.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tvmaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapartala, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Yat Restaurant-Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Dear tvmaned, thank you very much for your lovely review and recommendations! We are delighted to know that you found your experience in Yat to be excellent and memorable and enjoyed it so much. We hope to welcome you back again in the nearest future.
Best regards,
The restaurant Yat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Very closed to Hermitage, this place is a nice small restaurant serving home made Russian cuisine: everything was very well cooked and prepared with fresh local products. A very good piano player made the atmophere absolutely special!
Make a reservation.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chiara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapartala, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Yat Restaurant-Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear Chiara Q,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are happy to know that you spent a great time with us and enjoyed your meal and ambiance. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Best regards,
The restaurant Yat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019

Yat is set in a unique atmosphere, resembling a Russian home. The food, simple, hearty but elegant reflecting authentic Russian cuisine. There was live music that added to the atmosphere. Service was friendly and helpful. Some good vegetarian options too.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Westedge2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapartala, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Yat Restaurant-Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear Westedge2004, thank you for your feedback! It is nice to hear that you had a great time visiting Yat. I will pass along your compliments to our chef and staff. We hope to welcome you back again!
Best regards,
the restaurant Yat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

This restaurant was only 30m from the Pushka INN Hotel where we stayed and we had a late lunch on our last day. The restaurant is downstairs and has a very cosy atmosphere with many interesting items around the rooms. The menu is quite extensive and focuses on Russian cuisine. We shared a beetroot salad and then two fish dishes - one pike, one trout. They were all beautifully presented and delicious. The staff were friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Clavein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapartala, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Yat Restaurant-Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Hello Clavein! Thank you for your review. It is pleased to know that you have enjoyed our food and service, because we really do try for excellence so it is great to hear that we are getting it right! We are really excited to read such a positive comment and looking forward to meeting you again at Yat in the nearest future!
Best wishes, the restaurant Yat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yat Restaurant-Buffet also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Yat Restaurant-Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing