We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal,great service”

Yat Restaurant-Buffet
Ranked #39 of 10,510 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely meal,great service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were staying nearby, but would recommend this place. Had lovely Georgian white wine and flavoured vodka to drink, and good food. The menu was helpfully translated into English, and our waitress was delightful. Her English, and willingness to be helpful to two folk who struggled with Russian, put us to shame. We had a great evening and paid 5,000 rubles including tip for 3 courses, 2 bottles of wine, coffee and vodka shots.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange8z8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    258
    42
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in St.Petersburg”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Russian cuisine with lots of traditional tinctures and appetizers. Home made soups and salads. Good personnel. Beautiful music and it's not to loud. There are several cozy halls with great interior. Room for kids with real rabbits. Good choice to relax and to eat. Old school design of the WC. You'll like it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good start fot our visit to St Petersburg”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

After two long flights from Adelaide it was recommended that we try some traditional Russian food close to our hotel so we were booked in to Yat, a nice cafe/restaurant in the basement of a beautiful old building. The service was excellent and we ordered beef stroganoff and mash and also pork medalians with baked vegies. Both delicious. So good food, good service, good price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A charmer, and great pottery and wine shopping !”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a find! I saw pottery in the basement level windows of this restaurant by a canal very near the Hermitage! I thoguht it was a pottery shop but turned out to be an adorable restaurant! Turned out the pottery was for sale, and I bought a lot, right off the dinner tables! Very reasonably priced by American standards. Lovely, hand-made and painted (some plain brown) pottery from a nearby village made exclusiely for this restaurant. And, besides the friendly and gracious staff, they offered me a tasting of Georgian wines. One of the best shopping experiences I've ever had! The food looked delicious too, but I must confess that I didn't have the room to eat any! I'm sure it's wonderful! (PS, "Yat" is an old, no longer used, Cyrillic letter)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“Great place on the Moika to have Lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our Russian guide recommended this restaurant to us (two couples) as a nice place to have a Russian lunch. And so it was. We all loved the Borscht and the cabbage rolls. The apple strudel which we had for desert was among the best I have ever had. And the white Georgian wine was very tasty and quite reasonably priced. The service was very good and the people very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yat Restaurant-Buffet also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Yat Restaurant-Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing