We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really fun and delicious experience”

Kvartirka Soviet Cafe
Ranked #77 of 10,503 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Russian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
Riverside, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A really fun and delicious experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Two of us saw the sign for this restaurant just steps from the Radisson (our hotel) and decided we HAD to go even before we read the reviews. We shared: borscht, pea soup, good sour rye bread, pelmini with bacon and mushrooms, krynicki with sour cherry, all washed down with a couple of small steins of local beer. Everything was very fresh and tasty, and there was plenty to look at all around the walls and on the old tv screens. (I think we watched a Soviet version of The 3 Stooges!). All in all, a memorable experience for about $30 total. Go! Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllenH1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    222
    47
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glamorgan s/wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice original cafe/restuarant”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

23 March 2013
My wife and i found the "Soviet cafe Kvartirka" , Hermitage end of Nevsky Prospct.
You go down the stairs ,and are taken back in time .
The staff ask you for non/smoking area . then you have a great choice of food all freshly cooked And very good quality.
They also serve a "black beer" to die for
The food/drink/service /Ambience was so good we went back for lunch on 24th March before our flight home
recommend to everyone

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Live like you're in the USSR”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On Nevsky Prospekt neat the Palace Hotel, down stairs below the sidewalk. You walk into what appears to be an old Soviet apartment (kvartirka) complete with a B & W TV showing old Russian films and cartoons. Even though the bar is small, the bartender can make you most anything. The Russian beer is very good. I had their beef stroganoff with vegetables and black bread. The food is very good and the prices are reasonable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hearty food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing little restaurant. Doesn't look like much from the front...or from the inside but the food is amazing! You should try the meat stew. The prices are really reasonable as well

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

You need to wait around 15 minutes to get the menu and your drink. The place is simple and the food is average.
There are better options around.

Helpful?
Thank Leandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kvartirka Soviet Cafe also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Kvartirka Soviet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing