We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Längtar tillbaka - Longing back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 48 Chairs

48 Chairs
Ranked #163 of 10,187 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Längtar tillbaka - Longing back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Vi var där i fyra dagar, och åt här två gånger (tredje gången vi var där var det fullt). Allt var väldigt gott och deras Carbonara får mig att längta tillbaka dit.

We were there for four days, and during the stay we ate at this restaurant twice (third time we passed it it was full). Everything tasted delicious and there Spaghetti Carbonara makes me longing back.

If we ever go to St Petersburg again - we will definitly eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lasse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    52
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was not that cool”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Not so cool as it was written here. A lot of jazzy noise, poor service and not so good food for that price

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Food and Music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is really difficult to combine a Cozy Jazz Bar and luxurious restaurant, but 48 chairs definitely achieves this.

Going for dinner to 48 chairs was probably my best gastronomic experience in Russia.Old School furniture, intimate decoration, great drinks and excellent service were just the beginning of my experience.

At 10 the band started playing, great music and even better audience, I felt back in the 1920´s, completely surrounded by beautiful russian woman and elegant man.

Food was simply perfect, great french dishes and even better desserts! Creme Brulee is simply a must.

Worth paying the extra price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Gem of Authenticity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a lovely jazz club, with a romantic ambiance and great food. The wine list is extensive, but many of the items are not available, so be prepared with a second or even third choice. The service was excellent. The meat dishes were of large portions and, like most places we tried in St P, the salmon was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good music, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went there for dinner, and unfortunately we were late for our reservation and as a result weren't able to sit in the main restaurant, but instead in the bar. Whilst that was our fault, and we were still abloe to hear the music, we didn't get the full experience, so you may want to take that into account in terms of this review.

Food - solid if unspectacular - my gf has pig knuckle, and tbh I've never seen a plate filled quite so high with food. I had the beefsteak, which was perfectly nice if unexciting.

Service was good, and we were well looked after, especially in light of us being late. We had selected a wine which they had run out of, and the alternative selected (upon their suggestion) was amazing.

The music was excellent throughout (if slightly odd veering between jazz and euro-dance during breaks). As we were sat in the bar, obviously the atmosphere was slightly more 'rambunctious', but without being over-powering. Other people were also eating, so I am guessing that when busy, any table is a good table for dinner!

The dessert was lovely, and cocktails to finish. The bill wasn't too expensive, and was primarily driven by the wine (a word to the wise - wine in Russia is relatively expensive).

Overall an excellent experience and one worth doing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 48 Chairs also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to 48 Chairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing