We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special anniversary”
Review of Meat Head

Meat Head
Ranked #594 of 10,448 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $33 - $50
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nevskiy
Description: The concept of the cuisine can be distinguished as "refined simplicity". The main component of the menu - the meat prepared in a coal furnace josper - covered grill. But it also suggests a big variaty of fish and seafood, popular kinds of antipasti and beer snacks. Special attention is given to the wine list. Selected wines are designed to be a worthy accompaniment to the dishes, as well as an indicator class. The restaurant interior is stylish, comfortable and strong at the same time. There is no artificiality. The interior and furniture used only natural materials - oak, brick, and leather.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special anniversary”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stumbled upon this extremely interesting world class restaurant shortly after it opened and selected it for our 25th anniversary dinner from a combination of its menu and gorgeous interior. Our dinner, seated by chance next to a diplomatic couple from Portugal living in France, was both interesting and delicious. Although our experience may not be representative because we dined rather early for this city (7:30), we were not disappointed. The location across from one of the most famous and beautiful cathedrals in St. Petersburg enhanced the experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank carpathianarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    106
    49
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great start to our trip!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had only been in St Petersburg for a matter of hours and stumbled across Meathead following our first encounter with the church on spilled blood (it's literally just behind it). It was also starting to rain so it seemed rude not to give it a go. It was only a Wednesday night about 7:00pm when we arrived but the staff seemed friendly enough and the food was excellent: I had the Elk cutlets; delicious - the stroganoff and venison were also really good. The menu is a bit expensive, but the food was great - overall a great start to our trip.

Although we didn't experience anything other than positive service I can imagine it could get a tad pretentious on a weekend visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanenClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Location and Questionable Service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The place is perfectly located right near the Savior on the Blood Cathedral and offers excellent steak and grill. The interior is nice, light lounge music playing in the background, making Meat Head a good place not just to eat delicious meat dishes, but to hang out and chat. All in all the place is highly recommended and would've received my top mark if not for the very questionable service, First the waiter tried to persuade me in a rather rude manner to order rib-eye steak instead of burger (I wanted burger!). And then he told me that despite there were about 25 items in the Wines by Glass section of the menu - "nobody here" orders wine by glass, therefore "we have only 2 and they are bad". How good is that? And then he said: "I recommend you to order a half bottle". Yeah, right. Just for me, a half bottle, despite I only wanted one glass. Clearly the waiters are trained here to try to get as much money for the orders from the clientèle as possible. That is just ridiculous. Otherwise great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best steak house for 2012-2013”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

There are many good steak houses in St.Petersburg but this one is now the best!
They have not only steaks but many other dishes from russian cuisine including fish.
But steaks are their best! I took australian ribeye (80$) and a side dish, the meat was properly cooked - medium-rare as I liked and ordered.
Wine list is a bit expansive but it's a common problem in Russia.
Service is exceptional and not irritating as it happens in the high class restaurants!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal, great location - don't be put off by the name!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went offseason, but I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. It's in a lovely building, under brick arches and next to the stunning church of the spillied blood. The service was exceptional, effecient and frinedly and the food was delicious. 10 of us went for dinner and everyone had amazing food. We are not always easy to please but the food was amazing. So would happily recommend

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Head also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Meat Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing