We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't imagine a better place to stay in St. Pete if you're somehow on a budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soul Kitchen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This is certainly the best hostel I've ever stayed at - and (not bragging about it) I've already been to 30 countries.
Imagine an EXTREMELY cozy place, with the friendliest staff you can get and an atmosphere that makes you feel sooo much like home. I loved it, my girlfriend loved it and I had the feeling that so did every single guest I met there. Some HOTEL owners should visit Soul Kitchen Junior to take it as an example for their properties.
Oh, and DO NOT let the building entrance scare you! It is a building from the 19th century and it seems like the staircase is maintenance is not a priority for whoever is responsible for it, but you can't imagine how positively surprised you will be obce you're actually in the hostel facilities.
Location: perfect.
Value for money: the best you can get.
Cleanness: probably cleaner than my apartment ;-), both in the rooms and common areas.
Safety: nothing to complain about.

PLUS;
- they offer free calls to more than 50 countries
- the kitchen is very well organized
- the living room features a nintendo wii, a huge TV and an even bigger sofa
- every single detail from decoration makes you wonder how can somebody pay so much attention to details.

Well, all I can say is that I normally don't write such long reviews, but I was so impressed by this place that I just had to share my opinion with a higher level of detail.
If you're going to St. Petersburg, rest assured that you can't go wrong if you pick Soul Kitchen Junior for your accomodation. And you will wish you could stay longer...

Thanks for a great stay guys! Mainly Maria, Lena and Sascha!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_Guilherme_R_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 393 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Recently had an excellent stay at Soul Kitchen Junior.

Previously booked into Soul Kitchen Hostel however contacted the hostel and they were happy to change our reservation to Soul Kitchen Junior. Great email contact - helped us get our Russian invitations and visas.

Arrived at the hostel to a warm welcome, staff were happy to help our regarding directions, suggestions of things to do, table reservations etc.

The hostel had great facilities - large kitchen/dining area, a common room with a tv, a Wii & dvd player, apple mac laptops which are free to use... me and my boyfriend stayed in a double room with ensuite - large room, very clean - defo worth the extra money.

Great location close to all the main attractions - St Issacs Cathedral, The Hermitage, Church of Spilled Blood... check out Zoom cafe, Teplo and Clean Plate Society for some fab food.

Overall... a fantastic hostel with great staff and facilities in a great location in Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wise_frog_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love evething about this hostel!
The rooms are clean, big beds, love the kitchen and the computer room!
There is a small balcony you can share a cigarette there and have a beautiful view at the Moyka river.
Location is very very nice - 10 minutes to Nevsky Boulevard!
Staff are friendly and nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vadim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is brilliat, by far the best hostel I have every stayed in. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The beds are comfortable, roomy and each has a shelf, light ,power point and lockable storage. The bathrooms are clean and plentiful and the water pressure is great. The kitchen has everything you need. The staff are friendly and helpful and most of all fun. The location is perfect for sightseeing. I can't recommend this place enough, it is the ONLY place I would consider staying in St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in both an 8 bed dorm and a twin private, both in seperate parts of the hostel, both were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schmugerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

SKJ Hostel is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! The location is perfect. It's very close to all attractions n tourists sites. Next to Isaac's Cathedral, Nevsky Prospect, Ermitage etc. One thing I like the most is very friendly n helpful staff. Girls who are working there are full of energy n smile everyday This is probably what makes the atmosphere in a hostel so incredible. The next thing is incredible design. Huge n colorful common area with big n comfortable sofa, big n fully equipped kitchen and great, cosy rooms with comfy beds n nice bedclothes. There are no words to descripe this amazing place! You feel in this place like at home :) I would reccommend this hostel for all travellers.

Room Tip: mixed dorm room with double beds n view to Moika River is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

During a recent trip over 4 months of travel, in 7 different countries, this hostel was by far and away the best place we stayed at.

The general feeling of the place is wonderful, and reflects the design sense of the team who have created it. For me, the small details are the ones that make a difference in this hostel. We slept in an 8 person dorm, and the huge comfy beds with curtains (6 beds in this style) had good reading lights as well as electrical outlets handily accessible.

Regarding rooms, I only saw inside our dorm room, which had it's own toilet room and shower room (not attached to each other), with high ceilings giving a sense of space, and the view out the window across the canal was amazing.

There are 3 different common areas:

1. Kitchen.
2. Lounge area with big TV and movies by request.
3. Computer room (3 MacBooks) with seating as well as bean bags (small balcony too).

The kitchen was a joy to cook in. We cooked 4 night out of 5, as well as making breakfasts. 6 burner gas hob, two sinks, free drinking water, microwave, filter coffee maker (coffee provided), sharp knives, etc, etc. In the midst of all this there was frequent and thorough cleaning of the kitchen area, leaving it clean. There are 3 big tables to eat at and chat with others.

The staff were helpful and smart. They even organized activities such as pancake/ Russian-pie nights.

The hostel is well located and we walked almost everywhere from here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkkkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It's all amazing in this hostel. The decoration is gorgeous, it's all made with good taste, clean and beautiful. The hostel staff is very polite and helpful, in fact, they realy care about you. The hostel is located 200 meters from Nevsky Prospect and 500 meters from Hermitage. Perfect!

Room Tip: You should ask about Yana's pancakes. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronzi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Galakt Hotel
#159 of 362 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Austrian Yard -Hotel
#154 of 362 in St. Petersburg
103 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#148 of 362 in St. Petersburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Baby Lemonade Hostel
Baby Lemonade Hostel
#4 of 1,775 in St. Petersburg
257 reviews
Nevskiy
Cuba Hostel
Cuba Hostel
#3 of 1,775 in St. Petersburg
172 reviews
Vladimir
Taiga Hostel
Taiga Hostel
#6 of 1,775 in St. Petersburg
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soul Kitchen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soul Kitchen Hostel

Address: Moiki Reki Emb., 62/2-9, St. Petersburg 191000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,775 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $16 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Soul Kitchen Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soul Kitchen junior hostel is ideally located in the most beautiful and central area of St Petersburg (near St Isaac's cathedral) in 150 years old neo-baroc building, within a short walking distance to all major attractions and interesting spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Soul Kitchen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing