We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you forget you are in the city”

Summer Garden (Letny Sad) and Summer Palace of Peter I
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
St. Petersburg Shore Excursion: One Day Highlights Tour
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private 4-Hour Grand Tour of Saint Petersburg with Complimentary Faberge Museum...
More Info
$309.85*
and up
Private Half Day St Petersburg City Tour including visit to the Russian Museum
Ranked #70 of 1,812 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The modest palace is set amid the lovely Summer Gardens, where Peter the Great held "assemblies" attended by aristocrats eager to maintain their social standing.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Makes you forget you are in the city”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was surprising how much the gardens blocked out the sound. Every little courtyard held another surprise. It is worth a walk around for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    52
    24
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good to stroll around very close to Nevski avenue”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This garden was renewed and reopened just a year ago. It is a very nice place to walk during summer days. Lots of weddings on Saturdays!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Summer palace”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting with the history of the Russian Monarchy and the surrounding areas. The craftsmanship involved in every aspect of the building is brilliant from the floor with its individual panels to the door handles and the cielings.
The artwork and furniture are amazing and the stories of the pieces and how they were made and saved from destruction are great -well worth a visit.
The church isnt far away and is also worth a visit also

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameliasburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“a green oasis”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

While on our city tour of St Petersburg, our guide recommended that we return another day to visit the Summer Garden, close to the Palace Embankment. She told us that the area had recently been renovated and now it was open to the public with no ticket required for perhaps a year. On a mild end of summer Saturday, we took her advice and strolled through the park. Since this was our first visit, we had no basis for comparison but we enjoyed its lush greenery, its fountains, and its many statues. Many others shared our pleasure, watching as various wedding parties posed for photos. We spied a pair of swans in the lake near the end of the gardens. I was hoping to see some flowers – perhaps it’s too soon after the renovations? Or perhaps it will remain a green oasis.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Newly revovated and quite contrained”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The new Summer Garden (not the picture given by Trip Advisor for this review - The picture is Petergof) has just opened after a far too long renovation. The Garden has gone from open spaced to fenced walkways with as many surveillance cameras as statues. Big Brother is watching! The garden closed after several of the statues were defaced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Garden (Letny Sad) and Summer Palace of Peter I also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Summer Garden (Letny Sad) and Summer Palace of Peter I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing