We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost)
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.59*
and up
Private Walking Tour: History of Saint Petersburg
Ranked #25 of 1,781 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built as a fortress in 1703 by Peter the Great, this building was used instead as a political prison under the czars, and houses the City History Museum, the Mint, and the Peter and Paul Cathedral.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was part of our included tour so I do not know if there is an entrance fee. Once you get inside it is beautiful!. All of the Tsars since Peter the Great have been buried there. There is a cannon that gets fired at noon. This was one of my favorite spots in St. Petersburg.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,818
    958
    352
    51
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
680 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A complex of historical building where St. petersburg began”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a must see place in St. Petersburg. It is full of history as many other attractions in the city, but here is actually were the city began.

Peter The Great decided to build a fortress in order to protect the area in the river Neva that was disputed with the Swedish, and which he had take possession. A measure in order to avoid future attacks from them.

The place has as central building the peter & Paul Cathedral and a building that used to be a garrison and also served as a jail for political prisoners, where many notorious Russians were held.

There are other attractions as a wax museum and an area for exhibitions as well as facilities like a cafe. In the nearby area around the fortress enjoy walking and appreciating the view of the river.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Resting place of the Tzars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The cathedral is a beautiful and moving place, which is a resting place for the Russian Tzars. Well worth a visit inside to see the tombs and crests of the Romanov dynasty

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NuNu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little Island ---fab fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a free entry to the island place ! The island is lovely and access is by a lovely old bridge...there is a fantastic restaurant on the island called KOPIOWKA and it is probably the best food I have ever eaten ! I had Salmon on two evenings with pan fried potatoes and mushrooms...and I'd that was just heaven, I followed on with the meringue afters ...and floated back to the hotel ! Yum.. However, on the third night we had a language problem and ended up with a main meal between two ( as we had ordered the same thing ) ... But hey, there is enough did two !
The fortress is superb...and such history..and it is on a lovely beach...
All worth a trip and the restaurant is the best one I tried in 5 days ( went back 3 times )

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quite interesting....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Well, it´s a historical site. You can walk through the fortress, after buying the ticket you´re allowed to go to Peter and Paul Cathedral, which is really lovely and full of light. It is also a place of last
rest of the tsars. You can also go to the museum of Trubecky bastion, which used to serve as a prison for politically arrested person - is interesting, but you won´t see nothing more than the cells and beds....and if you´re not a specialist for russian pre-communist history, I don´t think you´ll recognize the names of prisoners. We also wanted to have a look to the city with Winter Palace from another bastion, but we realize we´ll have to pay againg....the saummary is: if you have a free day and the weather is pleasant, stay one day here. You can always cross the bridge and you´ll find Kronberk - the museum of army, which is very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marketa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost) also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Peter and Paul Fortress (Petropavlovskaya Krepost)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing