We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22(St. Petersburg)
$439
$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$473
$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$564
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$220
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Domina St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
$241
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$528
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$341
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveler rating
313
275
69
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
275
69
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisaac's cathedralexcellent locationglass of champagnewinter palacetop floorlate checkmajor sitesnevsky prospectwater pressurecomfortable roomsrooftop barcentral locationfour seasonsmin walkpalace squarenavigatorconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 687 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am a frequent guest in this very good property (last time in late June 2013) and keep on coming here for variety of reasons. First and foremost - excellent service and staff, well managed hotel, staffed with well trained, true Marriott professionals -- helpful, knowledgeable, energetic and multilingual, always customer service oriented and personable.

Then of course - there is location - hotel is ideally located for the St Petersburg visitor; few steps from St. Isaac's; short walk from Hermitage, river, Nevsky, and all main city attractions.

Rooms: classical Marriott rooms, not fancy but spacious, functional and very clean, with smell of freshness and very comfortable beds and very well functioning air conditioning in the summer and heating in the winter. After a good night sleep, you will enjoy a solid breakfast, with good variety of dishes. (Personally, I am an espresso addict and would suggest to F&B to change their choice of coffee in espresso machines from Jacobs (which is not really top choice for espresso lovers) to for example Lavazza or some other good espresso brand. That of course is a tiny detail, overall restaurant is very good.)

Connectivity in the rooms is very good; rooms have Ethernet connections and a separate box with inputs (including HDMI) for computer connectivity to the room's wide screen TV, which is great and it works very fast. I would not advise using Wi-Fi for serious business in the rooms from the other side, because it has tendency to work intermittently. The Wi-Fi connectivity in the common use areas was strong. TV channel selection is fine.

Gym is solid, although the equipment is somewhat dated - but again, this is something that only gym buffs (like me) will notice - gym serves its purpose very well. Summer terrace is something else - with breathtaking views over St. Isaac's - a great place to finish your day over a glass of wine.

All in all - highly recommend this hotel for both business and family travelers as well as tourists. Very good property with excellent services and management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zlatko Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your warm feedback Zlatko, and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel using my Marriott points. This is a rather small hotel 80 + rooms It is located right near St. Issacs and the nearby the Hermitage Museum. It's location was what attracted me and that proved to be correct, but the rooms were not very large and the facilities were definitely not high end. The room didn't even have a coffee maker. Half the rooms open to an interior court that makes them a bit dreary. The lobby restaurant had terrible service. More than 30 minutes waiting for coffee in the morning. But the front desk people were quite helpful, especially a young man named Havel, who volunteered several ideas of where to eat. Without this pleasant experience I would have rated the property lower.

Room Tip: There is a roof top bar that affords some nice views of the city especially St. Issacs. Make sure to ask for a room facing the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mengerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have taken steps to improve our morning coffee service. We also installed coffee and tea making facilities in all guest rooms in July 2013.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is excellent for the Hermitage and St Isaacs. The 6th floor Terrace Bar/Restaurant was great for hanging ot s the sun went down (almost) and the air cooled.

The hotel itself average and maybe a bit "worn". At least in the guest rooms. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Especially Sergey who went out of his way to help us find a 24 hour pizza delivery service and handled the ordering on our behalf.

I would stay here again based on location alone. Dining services are very limited at the hotel.

Also, there is a small 24 hour store/market few doors down which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We offer buffet and a la carte breakfast, plus la carte lunch in Canvas Restaurant. We also provide late lunch and supper dining on our 6th Floor Summer Terrace, as well as 24 hour Room Service.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The view from the lounge at sunset is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is an easy walk to the Hermitage from the hotel. Suggest that you contact the hotel manager to secure a car service from the airport. The staff was friendly and provided suggestions for places to visit in St Petersburg. Will definitely stay at the Renaissance on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeisgoodTexas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your warm comments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is a great spot to tour most of St. Petersburg by foot. Hotel is elegant and clean, rooms (ours at least) are very up to date.

Incredibly convenient to Hermiatge, St. Issac's, The Neva and St. Petersburg square

Alexander (bellman) and Pavel (bartender) were particularly nice and friendly. A bit pricey though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

I’m pleased you found our location to be suitable for St. Petersburg’s top attractions, and it will be my pleasure to share your service feedback with Alexander and Pavel.
We offer a variety of breakfast, lunch and evening dining options in our Restaurant, Lounge and Summer Terrace. In addition, our Navigators routinely guide our guests on local alternative dining options.
Best wishes, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews