We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neither overwhelmed nor underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #34 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Neither overwhelmed nor underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is located near to St Isaac's Cathedral, the Bronze Horseman, Admiralty and many more sights. We spent three nights here in February 2012 as part of a business trip. My previous experience of Renaisance was that it was better than a Courtyard but not as posh and expensive as a JW Marriott. I would say that this Renaissance is more akin to a Courtyard: the entrance, reception and lobby of the hotel are small, modern and not dissimilar to a Travel Lodge type place in the UK. Beyond the reception is a lounge area, and beyond that is the only restaurant in the hotel, where breakfast is served. It is definitely not five star - maybe three star.

Again, it is disappointing that internet is charged for in a business hotel, but this seems to be standard in Russia, regardless of whether you stay at a small independent hotel or a chain.

We ate dinner in the hotel, and the menu was very limited, but breakfast was good. You have to ask if you want porridge, which is included in the breakfast buffet price. Eating in the hotel is very pricey, and if you are drinking in the bar be very careful to note what you have as we were charged for an extra four drinks. When we queried this, they were very reluctant to admit a mistake.

The rooms are standard hotel rooms, our was on the sixth floor. The windows overlook the lobby rather than outside, and were quite dark and stuffy (couldn't find anyway of turning the heating down), but were comfortable enough.

As we were taking the midnight sleeper train, we asked for a late check-out. I have found that in most other marriott hotels, this is offered until 4pm free of charge (I am a silver card holder), but here it took a bit of negotiation to get an extension to 3pm.

On the whole, this is a tourist hotel that is sold as a business hotel. It suits tourists due to its proximity to all the beautiful sights, but it is underwhelming as a business hotel. Last time in St Petersburg I stayed at the Petro Palace hotel, which is on the next block, the other side of the cathedral. This was more reasonably priced for much the same in terms of quality and facilities.

It will take fifteen-twenty minutes to to the hotel from the Moskovsky Station due to the clogged up traffic along Nevsky Prospekt (it will take an hour to walk - without luggage), and a hotel car will cost 1300 roubles, compared to a regular taxi which will cost between 300-600 roubles.

Room Tip: There are fantastic views of St Isaacs Cathedral from the 6th Floor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodTiger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    231
    59
    20
    4
See reviews for
120
182
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kranenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This review is a mixed bag of impressions, both positive and some negative.

Let's get the negative out of the way and finish with the good stuff.
1. The bathroom smelled like a sewer, as if a siphon wasn't functioning properly
2. The restaurant is overpriced for the quality of the food and the service

Now the good part:
3. The room is large and the bed is excellent
4. Cleanliness is exemplary
5. Fast internet is really fast for a hotel connection: ~6Mb/s, even though expensive (800 Rub for 24 hours, i.e. EURO 20)
6. The service was very friendly.
7. The location is good, with short distances from the Hermitage and the Cathedral.

Will I come back? Maybe. Shall I be sorry for staying there again? No!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The rooms are clean, although the bathrooms are small and the water pressure is weak. The location is fantastic-- it's minute away from Saint Isaac's Cathedral, not too far from Nevsky prospect, the Hermitage/Winter Palace. The breakfast buffet is delicious! You definitely get what you are paying for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigantocypris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is not a five star hotel, but I give them a 5 rating on quality of service and cleanliness. They assisted me with car service to and from airport, and everything else I needed.

Great location, within walking distance of the museums and sights of St. Pete.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadKing68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Enjoyed the Renaissance, which was a great base to explore several tourist attractions during a brief stay in St. Petersburg. Outstanding location, good service, and typical accommodations for a European Marriott-branded hotel. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed two nights at the hotel in December 2011. This time of the year is not popular for visiting St. Petersburg and the hotel was not overcrowded as usual.
The Renaissance is within walking distance to almost all sightseeing of the city, especially to the Hermitage, Nevsky prospect, Cathedrals.
The hotel is comfortable and with its own style. As a gold Marriott member I received a free upgrade to a luxury room on the 8th floor. The room was clean and comfortable with two TVs, a teapot with tea bags and instant coffee, a compliment bottle of still water. All furniture is in good condition. On my second night I received a present from the hotel – a compliment bottle of Russian vodka (on the picture) with two small glasses. Russian traditions…
A buffet breakfast was rich. Also I had dinner at the hotel’s restaurant and was surprised by quality of service and food. It was delicious!
The staff was friendly and helpful and speaks good English.
There were a bowl with fresh fruits on the 8th floor - a good healthy snack

Room Tip: Ask for vouchers for a compliment beverage and drink. The hotel usually provides a voucher for each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Renaissance is conveniently located and a good choice for a visit to the city. It is within walking distance to the Hermitage and many other sites. The hotel is comfortable, has good service and the staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the eighth floor are junior suites and quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC_expat_in_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#21 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#30 of 333 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Property: Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Address: Pochtamtskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#63 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, the hotel captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing