We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient location, acceptable price.”
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #236 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel is situated very close to city center, stuff is friendly and quiet. Bar at 7th floor is overcrowded near midnight, beer selection very poor. Quality of TV is very low. Breakfast is good enough. Wi-Fi quality is unacceptable, touristic information in the rooms very poor. Anyway hotel is good enough for staying during short business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disel_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 710 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location in a very safe area with lots of shops and restauants. Nevsky prospect is within walking distance. Very young and charming hotel staff. Great breakfast buffet! 24 h supermarket in the basement where you can find everything you need.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katha1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

to be fair, it was very clean, and always hot water for shower, but very small pokey rooms, and quite depressing outlook, from my room anyhow. Can only speak of the lowest category room as I was traveliing with a group on a city break. Food was Ok, you wont starve, but I have to admit I was glad to leave it behind when the five nights were over. I'm not even sure I'd give it 3 stars, except that it seemed to be run efficiently and location was pretty good for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParsonRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Found this Hotel less than satisfactory. The airconditioning did not work and the rooms are over-heated to the point of being incredibly stuffy. Reception staff in this Hotel need re-training on how to provide good service with a smile. They are morose and totally uninterested in providing any service whatsoever and just ignore you at the counter! This in no way, reflects on our impressions of ordinary Russian people we have met during our travels here who are so friendly and obliging. Regrettably, the only good things we can say about Dostoevsky is that the breakfasts are excellent and the cleaning staff are friendly and do a great job.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, request a room that has always been a non-smoking room otherwise you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dostoevosky is well located for metro, shopping centre and easy walking to main street, city centre and river trips etc. Although on a very busy road no traffic noise but noisy aircon. Staff competent but a bit dour. Breakfast not bad but a bit of a scrum with so many rooms and people.. Items quickly replenished though so pretty painless. As the main joy of St. Petersberg is to be out and about the hotel works well as a sleeping base but other facilities limited.Opposite a lovely church and a good selection of restaurants within 5 minutes walk

Room Tip: All rooms at the back of the street frontage so I would assume little difference. Lower floors mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is a multistoried building with long corridors punctuated with rooms.The gym is conveniently avoidable with hardly any equipment.Breakfast gives almost no cooked choice for vegetarians and the attendants do not want to be disturbed in their robotic movements.The only advantage is the adjoining multi store where eatables could be procured.

Room Tip: Aparantly there is hardly any room for better choice.However request for a room closer to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunLoyalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed in various hotel in St. Petersburg but this was the the first time in this hotel. We had a group of 9 and all had superior rooms in the 6th floor. Our room was in the front and the noise coming from air-conditioning system was so loud that my husband had to sleep with earplugs.
The breakfast was reasonable, better than in some hotel where I have stayed. However we often had to sit on the table that hadn't been cleared after previous people.
The hotel in itself is well located near metro station although we walked to most of the destinations. The closest place of interest is Dostoevsky museum and statue which is just few hundred meters away from the hotel.
There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel so me and my husband did not use the hotel restaurant at all apart from having few drinks in one of the evenings in Raskolnikov bar. However the rest of our group ate in the restaurant on the day we were leaving and found the service very slow. One of the group member had waited for his meal for over an hour and did not get it all as we had to rush for our train to Helsinki. They also refused to give money back for the meal he never had and did not want to understand that he would miss his train if he has to wait for the meal any longer.
Our stay in this hotel was ok and the staff in the reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#62 of 359 in St. Petersburg
439 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#65 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,057 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 359 in St. Petersburg
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#13 of 359 in St. Petersburg
565 reviews
Aston Hotel
#37 of 359 in St. Petersburg
452 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#43 of 359 in St. Petersburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $49 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing