We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel”
Review of Dostoevsky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dostoevsky Hotel
Ranked #221 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed in various hotel in St. Petersburg but this was the the first time in this hotel. We had a group of 9 and all had superior rooms in the 6th floor. Our room was in the front and the noise coming from air-conditioning system was so loud that my husband had to sleep with earplugs.
The breakfast was reasonable, better than in some hotel where I have stayed. However we often had to sit on the table that hadn't been cleared after previous people.
The hotel in itself is well located near metro station although we walked to most of the destinations. The closest place of interest is Dostoevsky museum and statue which is just few hundred meters away from the hotel.
There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel so me and my husband did not use the hotel restaurant at all apart from having few drinks in one of the evenings in Raskolnikov bar. However the rest of our group ate in the restaurant on the day we were leaving and found the service very slow. One of the group member had waited for his meal for over an hour and did not get it all as we had to rush for our train to Helsinki. They also refused to give money back for the meal he never had and did not want to understand that he would miss his train if he has to wait for the meal any longer.
Our stay in this hotel was ok and the staff in the reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 720 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Dostoevsky is an non-descriptive sleeping factory with 218 rooms at Vladimirsky Prospect, one of St Petersburg's boulevards. Although the city does its utmost to hide it, with 70 years of Soviet rule and 20 years of proletary capitalism, decline is behind every doorstep.

The Dostoevsky is atop a mall at storeys 5, 6 and 7 with two small elevators the only way up. The walls between rooms are relatively thin. Our room was small, yet clean and furnished with wardrobe, small desk, TV set and locked mini-bar. Beds are twins and OK. All rooms have air-conditioning. Complementary Wi-Fi Internet. The small bathroom is appropriate with washbasin, toilet and shower.

Rooms at the mall court have windows that cannot be opened. In these rooms you likely will be short of fresh air. At floor 6 near the front the noise of the central air-conditioning machine is very loud.

We stayed at the Dostoevky in July and found that it mainly caters for groups of elder tourists. The hotel definitely has inherited its four stars from its Soviet days over two decades ago. Nowadays it is more a 2 to 3 star.

The buffet style breakfast is OK with ample variety: cereals, fruits, orange juice, pastries, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, rolls, cold-cuts, cheeses, eggs, etc. With so many groups tables are scarce at breakfast peak-time. Staffs were reasonably friendly. I would recommend it to all who seek a no-nonsense accommodation in a mass-tourist town in decline.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is much bigger than it first appears from the small entrance lobby as it actually consists of the 5th, 6th and 7th floors of a large shopping complex. Most rooms face out onto small courtyards, not scenic but quiet, unless the courtyard is the restaurant / breakfast area in which case there will be noise in summer up until midnight and from 7 in the morning. Breakfast was adequate and could be taken outside in the small courtyard. We always ate a late breakfast and there was always plenty to eat although bread rolls tended to be in short supply. The hotel is about 100m from the Metro station Dostoevsky on the M4 line (therefore easy to get to/from the airport) and there is a 24 hour supermarket in the shopping centre (entrance next door) where one can buy bottled water (and any forgotten items) cheaply. Nevsky prospect is only a few minutes walk away - however this is a very long street so you are still 30 minutes walk from the Neva.
The rooms are small but very clean and well maintained. The APs for the free WiFi are in the ground floor lobby and 24H bar on the 7th floor. This means that many of the rooms on the 7th floor have WiFi otherwise you have to go to the bar or lobby. Irrespective of signal strength Internet access is very slow despite the hotel blocking MAPI and downloading anything other than very small files.
The blocking of MAPI means that you have to access your email via the web rather than via an Email client - which is a bit tedious. My solution was to use the hotel WiFi to get information about opening times, maps, weather reports etc and to get my email and PDF/JPG downloads by going outside and finding an open WiFi, so it helps if you have installed a WiFi signal locator app. Fortunately lots of cafés, bars and restaurants offer free WiFi so it isn’t particularly hard to get access to the internet from these public places

Room Tip: Try to get a room that opens out onto a courtyard other than the restaurant area. These are quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

had a 4 night stay, clean , quiet room, small bathroom, but also clean.
Breakfast was ok, we were 4 people and always had a table.
Close to Nevsky Prospekt and subway, I would stay here again if I was in St.Petersburg

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vakantiefanHelmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Centrally located, close to many tourist attractions.
In terms of facilities, it seems a bit old and dusty. The rooms are clean, but basic. The ventilation is really bad. There is a distinct smell of stale food throughout the hotel, probably because the exhaust from the kitchen and food courts below the hotel somehow gets into the air that circulates around.
The choice of food at breakfast was good, however the restaurant was crowded, and the service was non-existent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012. Basic room, clean but nothing special. Breakfast was good but their restaurant for dinner can be passed on. Not many dinner restaurants in the area but a cafe and coffee shop next store in a mall that also has a 24 hour supermarket. Three blocks from the major avenue in St. Petersburg that has good public transportation. There is a metro stop across the street from the hotel and a currency exchange a few doors up the street. Only one desk clerk that was also the concierge - this slowed things down at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an outside wall, not looking into the shopping center center court - these windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Dostoevsky in mid-May for 5 days. The hotel itself is just average - clean room, uncomfortable beds, spotty WiFi, adequate breakfast. The big pluses are the location, access to the Metro, the train station and the attached market that lets you pick up picnic supplies for the day's exploring. Overall I thought the price was a bit high for just a decent experience.

I was really shocked and very annoyed at check out to find that the cost would actually be at leat 15% higher. I had booked the stay through a Canadian travel agent who quoted me a rate in Euros. When I checked in I was asked to sign a voucher which quoted the same rate in Euros. However, on check out I was informed the hotel does not charge your credit card in Euros but in Rubles AT THE HOTELS OWN FIXED RATE of 45 rubles per Euro. Nothing to do with current market rates. They just pick a rate and won't budge. I asked to be charged in Euros and they refused saying it's their long standing policy and apologized but said my travel agent should have informed me. During my stay the prevailing rate was 40 Rubles per Euro. So presto, an additional 15% which turns a marginal experience into a perfectly annoying and disappointing one. I protest as politely as I could for about 45 minutes to no avail until I had to catch my train.

So, if you have not paid in advance do NOT hope to settle up at the hotel at any rate you’ve been quoted. They’ll apply their own rate to squeeze a bit more out of you. I really wouldn’t recommend staying at this hotel. For what you end up paying it’s not a great experience.

Room Tip: The area is pretty busy and outside rooms wouldn't have a great view anyway. Try to get a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga K, Director of Sales at Dostoevsky Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Mr. John T.

First of all we would like to thank you for your staying in the Hotel Dostoevsky
You are appreciated for your comments about the rates.
Unfortunatelly we are not able to take payment in other currency except rubles. The hotel exchange course is fixed by Financial department of the hotel.
It's higher than central bank course if you pay cash or credit card.
Now we have updated all booking systems once again about the internal exchange course to avoid any missunderstanding upon guest's arrival
Sorry for inconvenience and for the bad experience that you had in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#49 of 364 in St. Petersburg
838 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#50 of 364 in St. Petersburg
402 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 364 in St. Petersburg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aston Hotel
#45 of 364 in St. Petersburg
471 reviews
Men'k Kings
#259 of 364 in St. Petersburg
26 reviews
Asteria Hotel
#136 of 364 in St. Petersburg
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoevsky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoevsky Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#80 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $51 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoevsky Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dostoevsky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing