We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European Charm, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“European Charm, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We may be biased because we moved to Helvetia after a horrific check in at the Azimut, but this place felt like heaven in comparison. We could only get this place for two of our four nights in town, and we dreaded moving.

This is a classically lovely European hotel in a really good location, just a block from Nevskii Prospekt and a Metro station. And personnel here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. You walk through a lovely courtyard to get to the reception area. Breakfast area is elegant with a very generous choice of foods and beverages. We would love to return to this hotel on our next stay in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    165
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
108
221
55
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Possibly one of the most un-obliging places we have stayed in. My wife has dietary issues with gluten and dairy but they refused to provide anything that was not on their set menu - and this was after pre-advising of her needs and being told they would cater for her. The Deputy Manager was simply rude to us when we complained. The curtains in the bedrooms are very thin - indeed translucent, which is unhelpful this time of year when there are 21 hours of daylight. Whilst they have a non-smoking area in the restaurant it is sandwiched between two smoking areas. The ceilings in the restaurant are low with the result that the smoke drifts through the entire restaurant. Breakfasting in stale smoke was most unpleasant

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Helvetia hotel in St Petersburg for my wife's 40th Birthday.

The hotel is about 40 minutes from the airport and I would suggest booking your taxi from the desk in the arrivals hall (cost 900r )

The hotel doesn't look much from the road but as soon as you go through the iron gate you walk into a lovely courtyard where you can sit and have a drink.

The reception staff were excellent and we were quickly checked in and up to our room.

The room was spotlessly clean and very well appointed and was perfect for our short stay.

The hotel has 2 restaurants but e only ate at the Marisa's which was very good if not a little pricey.

The hotel is in an excellent location being a 40 minute walk to the Hermitage or 25 minutes to the church of the spilled blood, and I would recommend the walk as you pass dozens of shops, bars and spectacular architecture on your way.

All in all I would highly recommend my stay at this hotel and will definitely return for another weekend soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iainmoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very good experience. Staff, location, restaurants and history are the highlights of this very interesting and highly recommendable hotel. The only complaint refers to the size of the room. Too small for a taveler who was expecting low temperatures and packed with plenty and heavy clothes to face them.

Room Tip: Check if there are bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I went to St Petersburg for the first time in February this year. The experience at the hotel was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and they were eager to help us with our stay in the city. If they didn't have the answer immediately they knew how to get it. This covered information about the opera, busses, sites, restaurants, shopping and so on.

There are 2 restaurants in the hotel around the central courtyard. Both are very good. The staff in the restaurants were equally helpful and friendly. The food very good both for breakfast and dinner. The atmosphere good too.

The Helvetia building has a fascinating history which you can read about there.

The Hotel is situated very close to Nevsky Prospekt the main shopping street of St Petersburg, with good bus links and 3 subway stations.

I have traveled all over the world and I have stayed in many different types of hotels. This was one of the best experiences I've had. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very convenient hotel 50m from Nievsky Prospect.
All restaurant and shopping in this area
Small but confortable room, perfect cleaning service and "real" airdryer in the bathroom.
English spooken is very good for almost all employees.
Food of both restaurant are good and breakfast with à lot of choises.

ONE POINT TO IMPROVE: Too young waiter and waitress are not very skill but it's not a problem just somethink to improve!

Room Tip: Prefer room with view on the little courtyard in order to see the sun rising in your roon in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Choosing high quality but affordable hotels in Moscow is realtively easy. In Petersburg, it's ,uch more challenging. There are the very expensive five stars and then the budget two stars, with not uch in between if you want to stay in the centre.

The Helvetia offers a solution. OK, its nt a perfect location. It's on Marat, off Nevsky Prospekt, but it is at the other end of the street from the sights. It is easily walkable, but in the region of 20-30 minutes not 5!. (Though if you arrive by train from Moscow, be aware, it is only five minutes' walk from the station - the sharks will charge you £30 for the trip!)

The accommodation is good quality and recently refurbished. Standard rooms are not huge but are adequate. Housekeeping is excellent and there is a choice of hotel restaurants as well as a range of local eateries.

The building is historic with many a tale to tell. It's worth reading the in-room guide.

All in all a very pleasant place to stay in this delightful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piknmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Property: Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing