We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tipical Eastern European Hotel”
Review of Moscow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moscow Hotel
Ranked #190 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Groningen
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Tipical Eastern European Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel is mosts of all big. Even when you have arrived on the right floor it may take you several minutes to reach your room. If you arrive at the breakfast and you have forgotten your breakfast card it will take you at least 5 yo 10 minutes to get it (depending on the time you loose at the elevators).
Breakfast room is very large and desptite of the fact that there are several buffets you have to wait in line in order to collect your food and drinks. Rooms are a bit out of date. Wireless internet available is but you have to buy a card at the receptions (and pay in cash) This information was not available in my room, so it took me 2 times up and down and about 15 minutes before i had a connection. The food in the Georgian restaurant and the Beerbar are of good quality..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    273
    315
    117
    65
See reviews for
110
184
63
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Beautiful hotel, near everything!
Food no good though..
Bowlingally down stairs with an awsom bar!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

After reading reviews we upgraded to business comfort - turned out to be a good idea. Room close to elevator, comfortable bed, fab views across river Neva and adjustable heat, so we were never too cold or too hot. Staff formal, but very helpful. We avoided using cash machines throughout visit. Nearby ( ie five minutes ) shopping mall with good supermarket where you can stock up on water and food items if you wish ( bedroom had a good-sized fridge ). Beer and wine much cheaper when bought this way. Take a bottle opener with you ! Shopping mall has a Big Mac place - great for teens.
Hotel still soviet style so might not suit all tastes. Feels as if you have re-entered the late 1970's - 80's. Great for nostaglia but vastly improved since our previous visit 1982.
Food OK but not brilliant. Morning buffet fine. Evening buffet not so good. We needed to be very selective about what we ate ( ie. was food being recyled ? ). Fine if you like a lot of carrot, pickes and beetroot. As the metro is very close, you may prefer to find other restaurants with a higher standard of cuisine. However, as the Hotel was full of Russian customers, our judgment might have been skewered by slightly higher western expectations.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This is a basic hotel near Nevski Prospekt and all the stores and sightseeing. It´s just next to a metro station, so moving in the city is easy. Also there´s a McDonald´s, small shopping centre and Prisma (supermarket / grocery store where you can find everything you need) just next door. I found this very handy for example buying drinking water and snacks.

The rooms are OK, basic but allright. The air conditioning did not work not in my room or any colleagues room either. Also the fan that was brought to my room was broken. Well, it was October when I stayed here, so no fuss about that, but in the summertime it could get hot. There is a bar in the hotel (upstairs) and I saw some peolple eat there too, so you can get some food from the hotel also.

Breakfast wasn´t very good, except the coffee, which was good. Juices (orange, apple) weren´t cold, but otherwise OK (they weren´t for example watered down, as someone here told earlier). Bread was hard, and there were just few things to put on your bread. I ate youghurt and cereals, which were OK.

All in all, very basic, but OK for a short travel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The hotel was quite comfortable, with quite a large room and renovated large bathroom. It felt like an old communist style hostel that had been converted. Our room had a lovely view over the square, onto the church across the wide road and some of the river. It was snowing and it was a wonderful place to watch the snowflakes drift past the window. It did give the impression of trying hard to be western but not quite making it. The breakfast was plentiful and the other patrons seemed to mainly be Russians so we did stand out as only English speakers. One of us spoke medium level Russian and the hotel staff did speak some English and appeared to be helpful but not really caring about non Russians. Overall, at the time quite satisfied with the hotel. However ....... we used the cash point located in the large hotel lobby/reception floor (the only cash point that we used in Russia), It was next to the tours organizer desk and the separate information desk and the machine had a choice of English instructions and was convenient and we believed, reasonably secure. Nearly 12 months later however, it appears that the hotel cashpoint was being skimmed and Aus $10,000 has been taken from our cash account over a 2 week period at various points in St Petersburg. Despite security guards and proximity to check in desk etc, the hotel is clearly not really secure or to be trusted and would be reluctant to recommend it to anyone else in hindsight. Events such as this really spoil the impression and trust in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windchime1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I've just come back from taking 40 people on a school tour of Moscow & St Petersburg.
This hotel is right by a metro station so very good transport-wise. It has a large, marble entrance lobby and the rooms are roomy enough, with comfy beds and good showers. The views are not great but the winows block out the noise of traffic.

The hotel has a 24 hour cafe, 2 bars and a restaurant. We enjoyed the food here - lots of choice at the breakfast and dinner buffets and staff who were almost to keen to take you plate! The wine at the bar was reasonable compared to other places we stayed, but be warned - Russia is not cheap!

The hotel was modern and the staff was good.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The hotel was basic but clean and modern. The breakfast was not very appealing, hard bread, chopped up frankfurters, watered down juices. Also the same tray of beetroot/tomatoes/salad seemed to be wheeled out for both breakfast and dinner time. Restaurant staff were over eager to clear away dishes, often waiting beside you as you finished your last bite so that they could take the plate. Our alleged "triple" room was anything but. It was a double room with an extra camp bed in place so it was a very tight squeeze, with all three beds pushed together against a wall, so that one had to clamber across the others to get to their bed. After speaking to a rude receptionist, we asked the management about the room and subsequently, the coffee table and chairs were removed so that the beds were separated, great solution! The room was a 2-3 minute walk from the elevators as the corridors are very long. The location was quite remote but there is a metro station right outside the hotel and its just a few stops to get into the city centre. I would not recommend it to a friend or return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punchdude2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Oktyabrskaya
#157 of 349 in St. Petersburg
477 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg
#70 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,286 reviews
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
#211 of 349 in St. Petersburg
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#17 of 349 in St. Petersburg
738 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiysk...
#103 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,294 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 349 in St. Petersburg
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Hotel

Property: Moscow Hotel
Address: Aleksandra Nevskogo Sq., 2, St. Petersburg 191317, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#69 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moscow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 749
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Moscow" is one of the best business hotels in St. Petersburg between 4 stars hotels. It is located in the city center near Nevsky Prospekt. The Metro Station "Alexander Nevsky Square-I» is in the building of the hotel. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the main historical attractions thanks to excellent transport location. The hotel and restaurant "Moscow" has been approved as a reliable partner by the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation (CCI of Russia) and included in the list of reliable partners. Magnificent views from the windows of the hotel to the river "Neva", the bridge and the Alexander Nevsky Lavra is exact advantage of the hotel. Our hotel offers: • 737 rooms of different categories (breakfast "buffet" included in the price) • free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, • air conditioning, • room service 24 hours, • restaurants and 4 banquet rooms with first-class cuisine (up to 1000 guests) • 10 meeting rooms, including 4 cinema halls with modern equipment (up to 400 guests) • parking, • business center, • dry cleaning, laundry, • repair and ironing, • taxi and car rental, • "Moscow" cinema, • shopping center "Moscow" • SPA-salon "Aria" • supermarket, • order air and rail / train tickets, • beauty salon • postal services; concierge service and more. Business atmosphere, convenient location, comfortable rooms, multi-functionality, the whole range of various additional services are the business card of the hotel. Russian and foreign representatives of business, political and cultural community often stay here: everyone who appreciates comfort for work and relax, the high level of service and the good experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moscow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moscow Moskva
Moscow Moskva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing