We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, nothing more, nothing less.”
Review of Moscow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Moscow Hotel
Ranked #225 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really haven't got much to add to the other comments. The hotel dates from Soviet times, when Big was considered to be Better. Check-In is fuzz-free. There's are enough cash-dispensers and opportunities for changing money. The 'bar' really doesn't deserve that name: I think they want people to go into the beer restaurant which is in the basement. Corridors are loooooooooooong. If you have some problems walking, REMEMBER TO ASK A ROOM CLOSE TO THE ELEVATORS. If you get one of those, there's no problem. Breakfast starts late, 07.30, so at that time there's a long line waiting. Come a bit later, in the end you will eat almost at the same time! Rooms are basic but OK. Nothing special, in a good or bad sense.
One big advantage though: located at the Nevski Prospekt,'the Champs Elysées of Saint Petersburg' it's a perfect location for exploring the city. Right next to a metro station. Across the Alexander Nevski monastery; one of the most important monasteries in Russia. Last tip: if you need a really good coffee, pop into the McDonalds next door; they serve seriously good coffee!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 946 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I thought other reviewers were kidding about the long walk to the rooms. They weren't kidding. It was a really long walk (5 minutes from the lobby to my room), so don't forget anything in your room and expect to "run back up and get it" really quickly. The drapes don't block the light, so don't expect to sleep late unless you bring a mask. The housekeeping staff was friendly, but the front desk staff was not friendly at all and refused to return my passport until I checked out. Breakfast was disappointing and extremely crowded. On the plus side the hotel is above a metro station and a big grocery store, but there's not much else going for it. I stayed here as part of a tour and didn't get to select the hotel or I would have stayed again at the much smaller and much nicer Pushka Inn Hotel near the Hermitage. I stayed at the Pushka Inn in 2010 and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St Petersburg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a huge hotel that is well located but seriously functional. An extremely long walk to rooms at the far end of the corridors -they should think about offering taxis! Rooms small but functional - don't expect any luxuries or niceties. Staff are fine. Restaurants are fine. When i was there the room temperature seemed to have a mind of its own - it was like having a flame thrower in the room and made it almost impossible to sleep. Only things to recommend this place would be the proximity to the Metro and the supermarket next door. All in all it is just fine!

Room Tip: Get one near the lift!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonamesleft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location. There is a metro station right next to the hotel and downstairs there is a supermarket that is open 24/7. Hotel rooms are decent, they have fridge, safety box and decent shower and a very old TV. Cleaning staff was not very efficient, but it did not bother me too much. The hotel lobby and the bar inside the hotel has working girls rolling around at night times. So maybe i would not recommend this hotel to a families.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luhnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I and my friends stayed hotel for two nights in february 2013. Cheap hotel, allthough we liked. Nothing fancy but excellent for sleep. Breakfast was OK. Good location, friendly service. Rooms are kinda cheap too but do their job. Clean and quiet hotel. Hotel is huge size. Lots of walking involved when entering your room :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent location, the metro station is just next to it. clean modern rooms. The rooms may not be of the latest design and decor but for what you are paying its good enough. Its close to everything and a good point to start walking and wondering around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Moscow for 2 nights in April 2012. This hotel is very centrally located, being just a few minutes walk off Nevsky Prospect, the main and largest street in St. Petersburg. This proved to be the best part of my stay in this hotel.

The check-in experience was fuss-free. The rooms were spacious enough and they were clean and comfortable. No complains about that. The daily buffet breakfast was alright. Not a whole lot of variety, but still it was acceptable. The only complaint I had was that there were very few seats available, and everyone had to share seats with other guests. Other guests might consider this a cosy arrangement, but to me it was a logistical failure.

The hotel is connected to the adjacent shopping centre, and this proved to be very useful to me as I frequented the shopping cente during my stay there. There were two staircases connecting the hotel to the shopping centre; one at the lobby and the other on one of the guest floors.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers. The rates are reasonable, the place safe and I had a smooth, pleasant experience there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time_5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Atrium Hotel & Apartments
#33 of 361 in St. Petersburg
303 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#38 of 361 in St. Petersburg
659 reviews
T-hotel
#101 of 361 in St. Petersburg
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Red Stars Hotel
Red Stars Hotel
#57 of 361 in St. Petersburg
288 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 361 in St. Petersburg
610 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Hotel

Address: Aleksandra Nevskogo Sq., 2, St. Petersburg 191317, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#77 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $49 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moscow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 843
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Moscow" is one of the best business hotels in St. Petersburg between 4 stars hotels. It is located in the city center near Nevsky Prospekt. The Metro Station "Alexander Nevsky Square-I» is in the building of the hotel. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the main historical attractions thanks to excellent transport location. The hotel and restaurant "Moscow" has been approved as a reliable partner by the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation (CCI of Russia) and included in the list of reliable partners. Magnificent views from the windows of the hotel to the river "Neva", the bridge and the Alexander Nevsky Lavra is exact advantage of the hotel. Our hotel offers: • 737 rooms of different categories (breakfast "buffet" included in the price) • free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, • air conditioning, • room service 24 hours, • restaurants and 4 banquet rooms with first-class cuisine (up to 1000 guests) • 10 meeting rooms, including 4 cinema halls with modern equipment (up to 400 guests) • parking, • business center, • dry cleaning, laundry, • repair and ironing, • taxi and car rental, • "Moscow" cinema, • shopping center "Moscow" • SPA-salon "Aria" • supermarket, • order air and rail / train tickets, • beauty salon • postal services; concierge service and more. Business atmosphere, convenient location, comfortable rooms, multi-functionality, the whole range of various additional services are the business card of the hotel. Russian and foreign representatives of business, political and cultural community often stay here: everyone who appreciates comfort for work and relax, the high level of service and the good experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moscow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moscow Moskva
Moscow Moskva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing