We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg
Ranked #33 of 351 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A beautiful hotel, within easy walking distance of all main sites in St Petersburg, but its pricey to eat or drink here. the reception and lobby staff are extremely helpful and speak good English. Rooms were good quality - to be expected of international hotel. can anyone tell me the purpose of the young lady DJ at the music desk in the lobby? - it was certainly not a disco in there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg!

We are very grateful that you enjoyed our reception and lobby staff as well as our rooms. We regret that you found our food and drinks pricy, however, we have different special offers and we hope you will try them next time.

The purpose of our DJ in the lobby is to create a lounge atmosphere and to relax with a cocktail listening to the chill out music. We hope that you managed to enjoy it!

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the nearest future!

With best wishes,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    513
    144
    44
    25
See reviews for
194
472
94
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were staying in this hotel from 18-19th of March 2014, i reserved standard room cause before we stayed there Nov. 2013 i expected it to be more or less similar to what we saw before, but unfortunately it turns out that not all of the rooms in the hotel category 5 star are good. Imagine you check in in the marvelous lobby of an expensive hotel and everything seems to be quite nice, but then you are accommodated in room which looks and feels more like a room from the cheap motel not even a hotel! it has a sink which is made of plastic (COMPLETELY INSANE!!! remember this is a 5 star hotel) a mattress that feels like wooden + its moving insanely, dirty mirror and the interior of a bathroom mostly because of a color (its smth like grey) feels like morgue. Then we demanded to be relocated in a more appropriate room which at least feels like a hotel. The hotel personnel was kind and a bit surprised itself by having plastic sinks!) BUT they asked for a upgrade fee 50 euros plus taxes which is around 60 euros. And it was what we expected i mean the type of room. Thank 4 reading all of that. And be careful.

Мы уже останавливались в этом отеле, поэтому в принципе знали, чего ожидать. Но то, что мы увидели, совсем не было похоже на фотографии номеров на сайте отеля. После шикарного лобби нас проводили в комнату, которая не стоила и половины заплаченных за нее денег! Ни в одном отеле 5 или 4 звезд, мы не видели так плохо обставленную комнату. Мы посмотрели практически все отели в Санкт-Петербурге, где есть что посмотреть и нам есть с чем сравнить. Но в этом номере нам была предоставлена низкая кровать с отвратитеьным матрасом, грязные зеркала, старый диван, но что больше всего нас поразило, так это ПЛАСТМАССОВАЯ РАКОВИНА! Лично я такую видела только в поездах или в самолетах. После этого мы попросили переселить нас в более достойный номер, и работники отеля выполнили нашу просьбу, но в отличие от других отелей, где апгрейд до номера более высокой категории делается бесплатно в случае неудовольствия клиентов, с нас взяли дополнительную плату (50 евро+ налог 18 процентов). Кстати, стоит сказать, что курс евро в этом отеле бешеный, и вместо заявленной суммы с нас взяли намного больше.
Собственно, после переселения, с номером никаких проблем не было - представительский номер это действительно красивая комната, с хорошей кроватью, ванной и привилегиями в виде специальной представительской гостиной (с закусками и напитками в течении дня) и включенным в стоимость номер завтраком. Завтраки, кстати, очень вкусные, лучше, чем во многих пятизвездочных гостиницах Санкт-Петербурга. Но инцидент со стандартным номером значительно подпортил наше впечатление об этом отеле.

Room Tip: You need to reserve a room which is not less then executive cat., because then you would have access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel-Anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Google Translation
Большое спасибо за Ваш комментарий о Вашем последнем проживании в отеле Коринтия Санкт-Петербург!

Нам очень жаль, что в этот раз Вам не понравился первый номер, в котором Вы проживали. Наши сотрудники старались сделать все возможное, чтобы Вы остались довольны, жаль, что нам не удалось соответствовать Вашим ожиданиям. Но мы рады узнать, что номер представительского класса, гостиная представительского класса и завтраки Вам понравились.

Мы будем очень рады видеть Вас в нашем отеле снова и если в следующий раз Вы решите остановиться у нас, пожалуйста, напишите мне напрямую по электронной почте natalia.usova@corinthia.com

C наилучшими пожеланиями,

Наталья Усова
Резидент Менеджер
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Corinthia though as it is my first 5 star hotel experience I guess I am not necessarily the person to look for for a telling review of such establishments!

Our experience was that we were checked in very quickly by the friendly Olga and offered a drink by the kind bell boy. Nadia showed us to the lift and instructed us on the use of the room cards in there to get to your floor. We were on floor 7 (no smoking and no evidence of such in the room) and had a view over Nevskiy Prospect which we loved, though it may be a little loud for some.

Everyone couldn't have been more pleasant. Similarly on check-out Ekaterina was wonderful and advised us of lots of other great options for travel in Russia and Amr was not annoyed by our regular returns to our luggage, and the brief act of repacking in the lobby to put the final souvenir purchases in our cases.

Additionally, we thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast buffet complete with red caviar and russian champagne. Everyone we spoke to there was charming and positive, with big smiles and efficient service. We took room service on one evening as we returned late and it was very nice, a decent sized portion of food and whilst we did pay the extra charges, this is normal of room service in most hotels unfortunately.

Our driver Andrei returned us to the airport. He was friendly and charming too,
and actually saved us money (despite extensive travel experience we were naively ripped off at the arrivals hall on getting a taxi on arrival, happens everywhere though so no big deal and not the hotels fault in anyway. Though in hindsight we would recommend their car service as the 'metered taxi' we travelled in showed an extra 2000 roubles on their cost!!).

Unfortunately there are no tea facilities in the rooms and our safe did not work (though we were told it would be fixed the next day, it still wouldn't work after the man came from Geneva - I think I misheard Geneva!). Also, we did manage to get ourselves stuck in the lift for a few minutes when our cards both stopped working (bizarre bad luck) and the lift doors shut and took us to floor 4 for a couple of minutes. Fortunately we were rescued quickly on pressing the alarm (hubby was rather disappointed he didn't get to do a hollywood style breakout).

This and other bits mentioned did nothing to ruin our stay - just means I give Corinthia a 4 rather than 5 .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crooked_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg!

Thank you for mentioning the service provided by our employees - they will be very happy to know that they have met your expectations during your stay! High level of service - this is what the Corinthia Hotels are known for and we are very happy that you appreciated it!

We have noted your comments regarding tea and coffee facilities and we are very sorry that the safe in your room didnt work and there was an issue with the elevator but thank you so much for your understanding and we are happy that the issue with elevator has been resolved fast.

We will be very happy if we have an opportunity in the future to welcoming you back to our hotel! It is a big pleasure to have you as our guests at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg!

With best regards,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My daughter and I came to St Petersburg in Dec 2013 from USA to attend 2 nights at the Mariinsky theater, so you can imagine it was a special trip. Stayed for 2 nights and 3 days on the 4th floor in the so called Executive suite. There was nothing special in the room for a 5 star hotel. It was small, nice bathroom (yes, dark brown water!), nice bed with a great mattress. We were not "greeted with refreshments" as promised, were not given a welcoming something as promised. No sweat, I can survive, but do not promise if you cannot deliver. Agree with many here about the incompetent staff. They had this problem for years and still when we ordered taxi nobody bothered to tell us it would be waiting at the back door (mind please, you cannot find it on your own for the first time). As a result we ended up barely making it to the theater. I do remind you we came just for that event and the staff was informed about it. It was totally ridiculous when we ordered taxi again, - concierge rang the bell 3 (three!) times and nobody came. That is right, NOBODY answered the concierge's bell. At that point we just gave up. We also needed some help with TV in the room, somebody came and could not do anything. Had to call someone else and that person advised over the phone that nothing could be done. Executive room(!). Never mind the price of the room, the fridge- sodas, drinks, etc was extra charge - Yes, extra! We did not consume any hard liquor, and I was billed for it. A manager had to send a bellboy to check the fridge to make sure it was all there. Yet, at checkout the charge was there.
The only service quietly delivered with class and efficiency - 4th floor executive lounge. Food was adequate, staff was very nice and helpful.
My conclusion - in Russia in general and in that hotel in particular they respond only if you walk around pompous and arrogant. Your coming with a smile and unpretentious they take as a weakness and immediately categorize you accordingly. So my advice - put on all the air of importance and disdain, unfortunately that helps to get better results. Overall impression - slow incompetent staff in a fabulous location. Only because of the great location and people at the executive loungeI am giving it an average rate, otherwise it would have been below average.

Room Tip: 4th floor - executive
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DinaHu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg!

We are very sorry that we didnt manage to meet your expectations and you have experienced some issues during your stay. We always do our best in delivering high level of service and we are very dissapointed that we didnt manage to do it in your case.

However, thank you very much for mentioning the Executive Lounge employees and food there as well as our location.

We would be very happy if you give us a chance to improve your impression about our service and if you decide to visit St. Petersburg again, please, do not hesistate to contact me directly at natalia.usova@corinthia.com and I will personally take care of your stay. We will be very happy to see you with us again in the future!

With kind regards ,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed 4 nights. The staff in the restaurant were especially helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent - it even had champagne! The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable but were very hot - we ended up turning off the heating and opening the window even though the temperature outside hovered at about freezing. The bedrooms could be improved by providing tea and coffee making facilities and adding mattress toppers to the beds, but these are minor points. Yes, there was evidence of prostitutes in the foyer, but they did not cause a problem for us. We have also come across this in Moscow, so perhaps the Russians have a different attitude to such things? The hotel is well situated to visit the main tourist attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamNottingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review about your last stay at the Corinthia Hotel St.Petersburg!

We are very glad that overall we managed to meet your expectations and you enjoyed the clean less of our rooms, our breakfast and liked the service provided by our employees in the restaurant.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, temperature and mattress topper. We will definitely look into them.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!

With best wishes,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a conference. Great location and ok rooms with a large bed and small desk. Staff was helpful and friendly. The air quality in the hotel was horrible. Dense air with a smell of fast food. Air con was not working in my room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TeoandTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the review regarding your last stay at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg!

We are glad to know that generally you were satisfied with our rooms and employees, however, we are sorry to hear that you didnt like tha air quality in your rooms and the airconditioning was not working.

Your comments have been passed to the respective Department Head and we will make sure to avoid this situation in the future.

We will be very happy to welcome you back to our hotel and to show our improvements on your comments!

With best regards,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had an impression that Russian-speking guests or lone business travelers are not welcome here. The hotel's target segment are big groups of European pensioneers (they are allowed to drink cheap Russian semi-sweet champagne obscuring the reception with their luggage).
The reception stuff seem to be more responvive when speaking to foreigners that to local travellers (to them appearing to be more formal).

The reason coild be: the old Soviet hotel still have it's traditions to care more about foreign guests. Or the personnel expect locals not knowing how to use TripAdvisor and similar sites.

I forgot a Samsonite hanger in the room. When coming back to pick up my luggage I realized that I should have forgtten it. I asked the receptionist to call the chambermaid to ask about the shoulder bud they decieded not to contact her but to send the bellboy to check it. We also checked the room again with the bellbow but there was no sign of the hanger. (Why they didn't call the chambermaid - I don't know, they seem to ignore things).

Also I, as a quite experienced traveller, noticed that the receitoin stuff seem to be happy to say: 'Your room category doesn't include breakfast' or 'No, you can have only yard view'.

The DJ in the lobby operating a laptop looks like a zombie. Yes, and they play The Cure's 'Lullaby' at night.

I will actively advice my colleagues and partners no to visit your hotel.

Room Tip: You may prefer Novotel or Crowne Plaza nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NataliaUsova, Resident Manager at Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your last stay at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg,

We are very sorry to hear that you had such an impression about your stay but I would like to assure you that no one of our employees intended to give more preference to other guests. In our hotel all the guests who are staying with us independently of their nationality are very important to us and we treat all our guests with the same care and attention. We are very sorry to know that you have got another impression.

We are also sorry for not immediately finding the hanger you have left in the room. It has been found later and we will be happy to send it to you to any address you give us as soon as possible.

Here, at the Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg we are doing our best to deliver the best service possible to all our guest and to make them happy and it is a pity to know that it was not in your case.

We will be very happy to welcome you back to our hotel and to change your first negative impression about your stay with us. Please, feel free to contact me directly at Natalia.Usova@corinthia.com and please, give a chance to change your opinion about our service.

With kind regards,

Natalia Usova
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#70 of 351 in St. Petersburg
40 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,108 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 351 in St. Petersburg
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,575 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,142 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg

Property: Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 57, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#27 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the world-famous Nevsky Prospect, the main street once planned in meticulous detail by Peter the Great - who called St Petersburg his ‘window on the West’ - the hotel’s central location offers easy, direct access to major sites of cultural, artistic and economic interest for both leisure and business guests. A stunning building overflowing with art and beauty. World-class hospitality. Let the Corinthia St Petersburg be your window on a truly unique destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham St Petersburg
St Petersburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing