We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and delicious stay in St. Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and delicious stay in St. Petersburg”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My daughter and I spent a glorious summer weekend at the Grand Hotel Europe. The kind reception staff went out of their way to have our room prepared so we could check in at 9am, after an overnight train ride from Moscow. In our room, we found the most luscious arrangements of exotic fruits and chocolates from the hotel's chocolate factory. And, out the window, we were treated to stunning views of park and cathedral, with golden onion domes. The hotel architecture is the same mix of neoclassicism and art nouveau that characterizes the architecture of the city. Breakfast takes place in a spectacular dining room. I have never seen such a sumptuous and elegantly presented buffet. I could not possibly list all of the fabulous selections, so I'll just mention that the blinis with sour cream and caviar were my favorites. Food and drink is one of the great pleasures at this hotel - we enjoyed drinks in the hotel's lobby bar, a light dinner in the sidewalk cafe, cappuccinos on the mezzanine, and dinner beautifully served in our room. All of the hotel staff spoke English, very helpful for American travelers in a country where English proficiency is rare. The Grand Hotel truly lives up to its name - we had a grand weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedArrowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us.

We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your weekend stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    246
    76
    24
    21
See reviews for
241
576
95
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location, but until they fix their air-conditioning system and change the mattresses, we will not be back. We were too uncomfortable most of the time and did not consider this to be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Annice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you having taken the time to share your review. It greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this. Discussions involving the respective departments have taken place to review your valuable comments.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were told this was the second best hotel in Russia (behind the Moscow Ararat). In my opinion, it is better than the Ararat. Based on the VIPs, the luxury cars out front (a Bugati), and location, I have no doubt. Besides location (at the Nevsky Prospect metro), this old hotel has beautiful classical architecture, both in the rooms and around the facility.

The front desk staff was typical for a 5 star hotel and I did not have an opportunity to use the concierge services. As I have noticed in many European hotels, the rooms have poor air conditioning and there is no ability to control the temperature in the room. I asked for a fan and one was delivered quickly. Attentive and prompt is the best way to describe the service in this hotel. The bed was comfortable and the hotel even gives you a pillow menu, a very nice touch.

The rooms are large and beautiful with very good privacy blinds, for the bright summer nights. The bathroom was equally large and beautiful with all the featured required of a luxury hotel. As you walk the hotel you immediately notice the elegance. The lobby bar, mezzanine café, formal dining room, shop and lobby are all designed to perfection. A great experience and a hotel I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is an elegant hotel with a quaint charm that fits in so well with the ambience of St Petersburg as a whole. The hotel is very well located close to many of the sights and on the main arterial road of Nevsky street with plenty of dining options. Whilst the rooms are comfortable with all the general amenities, it does look dated in keeping with old world elegance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warlock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at The Grand Hotel Europe for 4 nights in early July 2014.
Our experience was good overall, however the rooms are in need of renovation.
linen and beds are old and of average quality. furniture and carpet also old. i was disappointed when shown my room on the third floor- it was very "standard".
it was quite warm in the room, and there was only an ancient thermostat with 3 settings- you have no idea which is heat, and which is cool. theres no instructions that i could find.
bathroom had inadequate space to put ones toiletries, and sink in the bathroom did not drain well.
we had drinks in the Lobby Bar, which was great, and ate at both the L'Europe restarurant and the Caviar Bar. Food in both was exceptional!
there was always plenty of staff around if you needed anything.
location was fantastic for sightseeing - walking distance to nevsky for shopping, and many of the main sights (Hermitage). if returning to Dt Petersburg, i would stay elsewhere. for that price, you have plenty of options for accom!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you having taken the time to write your review, as it is only through feedback of our patrons that we can continuously review and improve our services and quality offered. In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality, it greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to all your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

everything is wonderful, don't miss it!services are fantastic and its located in nevsky, best area of saint Petersburg. And also restaurant is the best place that you have to examin it. I advise it to everyone. It worth.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towhidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have always had a soft spot for this hotel. If I were to find an analogy, Belmond Grand Hotel is a like a private membership club in New York where locals socialize and tourists stay. The cafe, restaurants, decor and live music transport you back into the 19th century. Banquet halls are perfect for meetings and receptions. All in all, it is definitely my most favorite hotel in Saint Petersburg. In addition, it faces Russian museum as well as Nevsky Prospekt - you can pretty much walk everywhere and see everything if you stay there. Hermitage is 25 m away by foot, Kazansky Cathedral is 5 minutes away- you just can't beat the location, the service and the sophisticated luxury.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the trip to St Petersburg. We aim to provide the best service possible and we are glad you felt pampered while being with us.

Thank you very much for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
773 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 349 in St. Petersburg
975 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,565 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,108 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing