We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group stayed here. It was very clean and well decorated. The buffet breakfast had a huge selection to choose from and the staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to St Petersburg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    248
    77
    24
    21
See reviews for
245
587
95
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff were so responsive to our needs. One bellman recognized that we were waiting a longer than normal time for our driver and took the initiative to call the local branch of our travel company to find out what had happened. After this, our driver finally came! We could not have done this without his help.

Room Tip: Rooms over the atrium have balconies and are just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnBurnett81151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, or I would say, this palace, offers you everything you need to have a trully russian experience: great food - breakfest amazing and other 4 more restaurants - great location, english-speaking staff, great concierge, confortable rooms and russian banya. At the caviar bar I could emerge in Russian Soul tasting vodka and caviar listeng to balalaika and acordeon! And I have a vodka sommelier to explain me every detail of vodka making! Aklishna! If you can not afford to stay in this hotel, come for a drink and the jazz music at the Lobby bar or at Europe restaurant, it will be a blast!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fabio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gheurope, Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Fabio D

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and I am delighted we helped create a memorable Russian experience for you.

We are very proud of our Caviar Bar and Restaurant as it is the only caviar restaurant remaining in St Petersburg and offers one of the largest selections of vodka in the city. Vodka and caviar is the quintessential Russian culinary experience and our vodka sommelier has arguable the best job in the hotel.

Caviar Bar also offers Beef Stroganoff made to the original recipe that was very kindly donated by a member of the Stroganoff family and I highly recommend you try it on your next visit if you wish to sample a true taste of imperial Russia.

With kindest regards from St Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This beautiful historic hotel is in a great location (just off Nevsky Prospekt and near a Metro), and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bottled water was provided free of charge and replenished daily. The WiFi was easy to use and reliable. The bathroom was large and well-appointed, and the shower was heaven! As in all high-end hotels, the restaurants are very expensive. But the staff and service was unbeatable. When we notified Reception that our room was not cool enough and requested a fan, the response was immediate. The breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) was beautifully presented and delicious, with a pianist or harpist to accompany our breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent one night here to get off of our cruise ship and really enjoy the city. Hotel is great, but a little over priced. We booked a delux room with a king bed. Very spacious with nice furnishings. We did enjoy the food venues. Italian restaurant is very nice and has a great menu. For a late dinner we ate at the bar. Highly recommend the Kamchatka crab club sandwich! In room breakfast was served hot and at the time we requested. One nice touch is the transportation desk which helps with taxi bookings. Great hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCI-KBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was a great disappointment to me that Orient-Express had allowed this beautiful and historic property be almost over-run by tour groups. One of the marks of a great hotel is the amount of space it provides in its public rooms and restaurants. To observe the L'Europe Restaurant being turned into a crowded railway cafeteria for breakfast was sad (as well as inconvenient) indeed!

Breakfast is a very important meal for me. I like it to be relaxed. I like good coffee and food that is of high quality and in small portions. I do not expect to have tables so close to each other that it's very difficult to move around. I do not expect to witness plagues of locusts devouring lashings of food. I know these places exist but I try to avoid them, and I would not have expected an Orient Express hotel to be one of these places. L'Europe Restaurant is a beautiful room but that's about it.

One one occasion we planned to have an early snack at the Mezzanine Cafe prior a Mariinsky performance. We we informed on arrival that the whole of the cafe had been pre-booked for a tour group. We were referred to the Lobby Bar but as it was full of nicotine addicts I was not prepared to jeopardise my own health. After a complaint to Guest Relations, we were able to have a sandwich snack at one of the other restaurants. We were clearly upset that yet again the hotel had been taken over by tour groups. Management showed little empathy for our situation whereas another top quality hotel would have tried to smooth ruffled feathers by some small acknowledgement.

On another occasion the Front Desk was unable to change a large denomination note as they had run out of change. No apology was offered by the receptionist for a situation which should never occur in a five star hotel. I can only assume that yet another tour group had depleted supplies.

On another occasion we decided to have lunch at the hotel's pavement cafe. The Maitre d' was rude and surly and declared there were no tables available when clearly there were several.

One evening we ate in the Caviar Bar and Russian Restaurant. The meal was quite satisfactory except there were only eight guests the whole evening. There was live entertainment, and we couldn't help feel a bit sorry for a very nice soprano as she tried to engage such a small number of guests. When time came to sign the bill, the waitress returned to request a tip in cash rather than charging to our account. In a five star establishment it would be fair to expect that remuneration issues are clearly sorted by management and their staff and not have such matters projected on to clients.

There were positives to our seven night stay here. The Concierge Desk was exceptionally helpful both prior to our stay and during it. Anna Mikhaylova was extremely helpful in organising tickets and private tours, and while the hotel added a hefty surcharge, it was worth it to have everything organised so well and coordinated with the hotel's limousine service. The crowds and queues at most of the places we visited were quite daunting, and it was both effective and efficient to have a private guide and driver. We very much appreciated the advice to book VIP services for arrival and departure from St Petersburg airport. The lines waiting for immigration and security were indeed formidable.

The rooms were on the smallish size for the price, but were well maintained and serviced and had good outlooks over a park and through the trees to the towers of the Church of the Spilt Blood. Given that we didn't see night-time (the white nights period) the light blockout on the windows could have been more effective. The doormen were excellent at their job as were the drivers of the hotel limousines.

This hotel has potential if for nothing else that its history and location. Unfortunately on this occasion the experience was disappointing. Even more so, because it is not a cheap hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gheurope, Hotel Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr Cosift

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay. At Orient-Express Hotels we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and I was sorry to read that on this occasion we were unable to do so.

The month of June is the most popular time for groups to visit St Petersburg and we had an unusually high number of group guests staying with us on certain dates. As a individual traveller, I appreciate your comments and we have put in place a limit to the number of rooms we allocate to groups in future.

I was also interested to read your other comments and I will be sharing them with my Executive Committee as we really value guest feedback as it allows us to try and exceed guest expectations.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Grand Hotel Europe.


Kind regards,

Yulia Pashkovskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I really love this hotel, this is my fav hotel in St.Pete although I prefer small/boutique hotels - everything is just perfect here! Rooms, service, restaurants and absolutely fantastic location - between Nevsky prospekt and the Italian square.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corazonlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 355 in St. Petersburg
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,119 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#9 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing