We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel has history and charm but is not cheap but worth it for a once in a lifetime visit to this city.

DINING
Breakfast (be sure you get it in your room rate) is amazing, we would call it brunch in the USA as it has lunch foods as well. Endless choices and chefs making crepes and eggs to order.
Dinner was part of our package for one night and the L’Europe restaurant is stunning, amazing service and entertainment on some nights. Check the website for details. Food was flawless!

ROOM
Spotless clean, spacious and tastefull.

SPA
Nothing great but clean and nice, we have seen much nicer ones.

SERVICE
Anything we asked for was with us in less than 5 mins, the best staff!

CONCIERGE
Not good at all, they don’t listen to what you want and suggest the same overpriced restaurants again and again. AND when we had our own suggestion they gave us a hard time to book it for us! Plus they screwed up our Ballet tickets but leaving them too late and we didn’t even sit together.

Room Tip: Arrange a car service via the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbkurutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

This place has a wonderful old-world charm and the service is excellent. It is also in a very convenient location for most of the sights. The food is a little more hit and miss, and some of it was not really to our taste although the ingredients were of high quality. The beef stroganoff, which was served for breakfast (!?), was really good and the hotel has a very atmospheric bar, where to sit and drink a glass or two of vodka was a real pleasure. The Concierge was extremely helpful and managed to get us seats at the Mariinsky theater and a wonderful private tour of the city with an extremely knowledgable and interesting guide. We also stayed at the Kempinski, which was very good too, but the Grand Hotel Europe has more atmosphere and is certainly a very good choice for a visit to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neville16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Some parts of hotel restaurants and entertainment are the best I've experienced. BUT service has been very poor at times for example this morning I waited 13 min for my pouched eggs to arrive. Where as my wife's omelet took just 3. Some of the staff can seem very frosty and I was completely ignored on one occasion. On to the positive........wow if you only go to one restaurant in st petes then you have to choose L Europe. The service was very good, to sit and have a like Michelin star meal whilst watching ballot then listening to an opera singer was just fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikecoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great hotel. Room was extremely comfortable with pure cotton bedding, good temperature control and an outstanding bathroom. Slept very well every night. Staff were knowledgeable, very helpful and attentive. Location was ideal for all the sights.

It is, however, very expensive - perfect for a special getaway, but less so for budget conscious break.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJP_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very good hotel staff was polite and affable, was the best place in town were.
The great room was very clean and I suggest you stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHAHRAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

we enjoyed our stay here. the staff all spoke english and the concierge helped us with a lost baggage situation and consistently followed up with the airport for us. we had a corner room, with a king size bed and found it to be spacious. the bathroom was nice and had the hottest water i have ever experienced at a hotel. the breakfast buffet was expensive but the food was plentiful - if you eat a lot (and drink enough champagne) you could get your money's worth! we ate there because it's dark in st. petersburg until 11AM in january so we didn't feel like venturing out in the pitch black early in the morning. we had drinks one night in the lobby bar and enjoyed some very nice live jazz music. the location could not be better - st. petersburg philharmonic is across the street, the russian museum is right behind it, nevsky prospekt (the michigan ave. of st. petersburg) is a few steps away and it's a short walk to the hermitage and many other attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimsgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever been. Great service, room and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walter02446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
866 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,173 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,665 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $148 - $1,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing