We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city & great hotel.”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our 2 night stay in St Petersburg was greatly enhanced by choosing the Astoria hotel as our base. Central location enables visitors to walk everywhere. Old hotel with very comfortable public areas and good sized, well fitted bedrooms. Very helpful concierge steered us to all the best places and events. Pleasant restaurant with excellent food. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: A view of St Isaacs is nice but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear guest, thank you most sincerely for yours highly positive feedback on Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru

It is a pleasure to know that you loved your stay with us. Your kind words encourage us to keep working everyday to better our service!

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Astoria offers an exceptional location with modern luxurious bedrooms. The hotel is in the centre of the town which makes it easy to walk to all the tourist sights, the nearest being St. Issacs Cathedral with its golden dome in front of the hotel..
All the staff were very friendly, but some of them seemed to struggle understanding or speaking english and the service on several occasions was very slow in the restaurant and bar.
The food in the restaurant was of an excellent standard, I would recommend it for dinner or lunch even if you weren't staying in the hotel.
I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends or business associates, thank you for a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 439 and our friends in room 409, both were stylish and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 735PLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Astoria and also leaving your review about your stay!

I was very happy to hear that you had great time with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced at our Hotel. Let me assure you that we will do the utmost to develop and polish our level of service.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I did not care for this hotel I have stayed at other Rocco forte hotels in Rome ( the de Russie ) and. Berlin and Florence but this was not in the same class . Small rooms
Old hotel . Pool in a closed wing of another building and very expensive - 4 seasons just opened and is a better choice

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacmandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on www.tripadvisor.ru.

We have noted your comments in regards to the value for money that we are offering. We are constantly working to fill a historic building with a contemporary flair and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future to experience the many changes we are making.

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Warmest regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel has a very beautifully designed rooms as all Rocco Forte hotels. The historical building is very well located close to all tourist attractions. Somehow is this beautiful hotel a tourist trap. Prices are very high per example car services are three times as expensive as the taxi outside the hotel. So be carefully. Most guest there are 60 years old and over so you stay in really historical atmosphere.
Needs refreshment.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Georg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We appreciate your positive comments in regards to our Hotel and we have noted your comments in regards to the value for money that we are offering. We are constantly working to fill a historic building with a contemporary flair and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future to experience the many changes we are making.

Thank you once again for your comments! Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Astoria offers exceptional hospitality, reminiscent of years gone by, traditional and yet modern, relaxed sophistication with understated style, luxuriously earthy but definitely not rustic, beautiful Volga linen with splashes of vibrant colour - quiet and relaxing. The Astoria is a St Petersburg landmark in its own right and is situated across from another great landmark, St Isaacs Cathedral of which one has beautiful views from most of the rooms. The impressive black and white prints of famous ballet dancers in action in the bedrooms are extra special and make the link with St Petersburg so much more real. The staff are all exceptionally welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The food on offer is very good and especially the breakfast offers something very different from the normal five star fare. A fantastic hotel befitting a beautiful city like St Petersburg!

Room Tip: a view of the St Isaacs is definitely special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest, thank you most sincerely for yours highly positive feedback on Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru.

I was very glad to read your kind words about interiors of the rooms, quality of service and food at Astoria Cafe restaurant. I will definately share yours comments with my team. I am very proud that Hotel Astoria met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel building is stunning and the arquitecture has been well preserved! I love the hotel rooms with a classic decoration but being contemporary at the same time! The team is great and provides a fantastic service! Very good breakfast! Great 5 star hotel if you're staying in SP.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloOliveira82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for choosing Hotel Astoria and also leaving your comments on www.tripadvisor.ru

I was very happy to read that you loved your stay with us, it is very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy staying with Hotel Astoria.

Looking forward to your next visit to St Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Coming to St Petersburg for the Mariinsky Ballet Festival, I stayed at the Rocco Forte Astoria which is of walkable distance to the theatre. One of only two historic hotels of St Petersburg, it retains much of the 100-year old features and yet has the most modern equipped interior. Rooms are large, many overlook the St Isaac Cathedral Square. Like other Rocco Forte hotels, the interior design combines modern convenience with the local flavor, here perhaps it is ballet and rooms have ballet photos. The hotel also has its private balcony at both Mariinsky and Mikhailovsky theatres. There are many touches of thoughtfulness, in service and in décor, down to minor details, even bottled water is of their own special design. Hospitality is incredible. They even have a guest name card with name prepared when you enter the restaurant for breakfast and they place the card on your table, so that you feel like a VIP. Great hotel in every aspect. Also most staff are fluent in English, probably more so than any other Russian hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the Cathedral...no noise, great double-glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for such positive review about Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru!

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read such kind words regarding service in Hotel Astoria and I will certainly share your comments with my team.

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Warmest regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
833 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,156 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $207 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing