We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the first time we have written a review of a hotel for Trip Advisor. Sometimes you read reviews of hotels and wonder if you are staying at the same property. We have just returned from Astoria and cannot understand the negative reviews that this hotel sometimes gets. We had a lovely time from the moment the hotel car met us at the airport to the minute it dropped us off at the airport for departure. The hotel upgraded us to their Studio suites with views of the Cathedral, a welcome gift of chocolates and we were given late check out privileges; what more could you ask? The ballerina pictures in the room and the 'From Russia with Love' picture in the marble bathroom provided a nice quirky twist to the overall ambiance. Breakfast in the Astoria Café was excellent.

We had dinner in the Astoria Café twice; the quality of the food and overall value for money were excellent. If one were to have one small quibble it would be that the service in the restaurant during our second meal was not up to the level of our first meal (which was completely faultless) due to a lack of staff caused by two functions running concurrently. This was just one of those things.

Overall we would not hesitate to return or recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels_with_Maud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and my colleagues and I are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays. Your feedback regarding the quality of food and service is greatly appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing this with the team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and would ask that you feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in arranging your bookings.

We wish you glamorous and magical 2014! All the best to you and your family.
Yours sincerely.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you appreciate great service and quality, Astoria is your hotel. Try also Cafe Astoria´s Russian specialities. No need to go anywhere else! One of the best hotels in the world. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Maisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Maisa,

I hope that you have had a great Christmas ad you have enjoyed your time with your family.

Thank you very much for your nice feedback you have posted after your stay.

We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and you had a great time in St Petersburg. Hotel Astoria is truly amazing property with lots of history and great reputation. We are working every day hard to be the best in the city.

We are looking froward welcoming you in our hotel again soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a definitely the best hotel in St.Petersburg or even in Russia. Very good service and atmosphere in hotel. Excellent location. One of the best restaurant in St.Petersburg. I do recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkoRiabkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I will definately share your comments with my team.

It is always nice to know when we do our work right. Thank you for such positive review about atmosphere, service and Astoria Cafe.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astoria Hotel some day.

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The first and the best hotel in St. Petersburg, close to the centre of the town!
The breakfast is very good with a lot of choice.
The personal is very kind and the hotel is wonderfull!!
Also the rooms are clean and comfortable with a magnific view on the town!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoVigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear guest, I appreciate highly the time taken by you to leave the feedback at the TripAdvisor, also thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria.

I was very happy to read that you liked breakfasts in Astoria Cafe, quality of service, room and view from your window.

I hope to see you soon again in the Astoria Hotel, you are always welcome!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Astoria Hotel in Saint Petersburg has a rich history so it has a certain cache right off the bat. But unlike a lot of hotels who can't seem to capitalize of the splendor of its past, the Rocco Forte Astoria group goes out of its way to make you enjoy the the full experience.

It's not a new hotel by any means but everything seems to "work". A lot of hotels go through a renovation modernization that destroys the old world charm in order to get modern functionality. Not so in the Astoria. Somehow they have managed to update just about everything without destroying the style and architecture of the place. I was there to attend a formal event in the Grand Ballroom and everything was perfect. My room AND the event. I can't think of a THING that was wrong with my stay.

I can't WAIT to return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woland15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind comment you have posted on TripAdvisor for Hotel Astoria.

I was very happy to read that you liked your room and atmosphere in hotel. I and my team are very happy that it left such an impression on you.

We will be very happy if you choose Hotel Astoria again in a future while traveling to St.Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently spent a weekend with my girlfriend in the laid back and comfortable Astoria Hotel in St Petersburg. This is my 3rd visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint. Very clean, comfortable rooms and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read such positive experiences from guests who choose us for the third time.

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria and we look forward welcoming you and your girlfriend back soon.

With my appreciation, warm regards and best wishes,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Needed a quick booking for a night and a friend recommended the Astoria to us as he was just checking out. As the title says I stayed for only one night, and even though we arrived late at night and left early in the morning, we were impressed.

At check-in we were informed of an upgrade from the Deluxe we booked, to a Junior Suite. The room had a modern touch to it with some fresh decor. View from the room wasn't all that great as the window was heading the side street. There was a good choice of literature in the room(Tolstoy, Orwell etc') but we were off to bed.

In the early morning I still managed to have a massage treatment at the spa on the 7th floor that was pretty good. Breakfast is only until 10:30 am and as we didn't make it we ordered something quick at the beautiful restaurant in the lobby. It took them some time to serve us our order and as we were running late on our flight we had to cancel, offering to pay for what we ordered but the waitress didn't accept our payment which was a pleasant surprise.

Quick check out and a quick driver that brought us to the airport just in time.

Room Tip: Room 305 has a lesser view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear guest, I appreciate highly the time taken by you to leave the feedback at the TripAdvisor and your high estimate of our product, quality of spa and services. I will share your warm comments with members of my team.

I hope to see you soon again in the Astoria Hotel, you are always welcome!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
865 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,655 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,185 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $183 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing