We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at it's best”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Luxury at it's best”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Astoria for 2 nights as part of a site visit on behalf of a client. This was one of 5 hotels which I reviewed in St Petersburg and from my perspective did stand out as the best. I was particularly impressed with the associated antiquity and charm of the hotel and, importantly, it’s location in St Issac’s Square and being within easy walking distance of many historical features of St. Petersburg.

I stayed in a recently renovated deluxe junior suite, a well-appointed room overlooking St Issac’s Cathedral. The mix of old and new furnishings and the sleek décor ooze luxury and grandeur that you would expect from the Rocco Forte five-star brand. The spacious bathroom featured a picture from a James Bond movie (perhaps Russia with Love) which was a nice touch.

I did benefit from complimentary internet access but have noted comments from past guests with regards to the extortionate costs and do think that the hotel needs to rethink this policy as free Wi-Fi is certainly expected by guests as a given and it would therefore be short-sighted of management to overlook this.

I did have a slight problem with the temperature in the room which was uncomfortably hot and adjusting the air conditioning unit didn’t have any effect. I did report this to reception but it wasn’t resolved and I therefore had to have the windows open for the duration of my stay, which wasn’t ideal.

You cannot fail to be impressed by the public areas – the Rotunda Lounge, where afternoon tea is served and the Lichfield Bar which pays homage to the British photographer Patrick Lichfield and the walls are adorned with his iconic prints.

I do look forward to returning to Hotel Astoria.

Room Tip: If your budget permits upgrade to a room overlooking St Issac's Catherdral
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evans03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for a detailed and constructive comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru.

I'm very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and I truly believe that our approach towards our guest, with new renovated product and innovation which are just being implemented, has brought us success.

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you had with the temperature in your room, we will do everything possible to resolve this problem.

We hope to see you again at Astoria Hotel soon!

Kind regards,
Gerold held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    262
    78
    27
    11
See reviews for
224
529
85
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A faultless experience from start to finish; welcoming and helpful staff, well thought out room with nice touches like a handful of P G Wodehouse novels and a great afternoon tea. The location is perfect for the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral, and is within easy walking distance of the Marinskiiy. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for such positive review on TripAdvisor. I was very happy to read your kind words about our staff, room, great location and also our traditional Afternoon tea at Rotonda Lounge.

It is a pleasure for me to know that you would like to return to Astoria Hotel! We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astoria some day.

Please feel free to contact me directly to help with your booking.

Warmest regards,

Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. Before we came, the concierge quickly and efficiently answered all of my requests. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and upgraded to a huge suite. The room was beautiful and the food was very good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback you have posted for us on TripAdvisor.

Our aim is to provide the perfect service all the time. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with and you were please with our Concierge. Olga Molchanova, Les Clefs D'Or, our Head of Concierge is best in the city and we are really proud that she leads our team.

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria and we look forward welcoming you back again.
Kindest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Finally a hotel in which "perfection" has been achieved. Everything is extraordinary: location, service, food, ambiance. More importantly, attention to detail. The rooms are very large and comfortable, and the service during breakfast (which is excellent, including caviar) is without comparison. If you can get a good deal, there is no other place to stay in St. Petersburg. We would go back just for the pleasure of staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest!

Greetings form Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria! I hope you have arrived back home safely.

We are so happy to read your review you have posted on TripAdvisor after your stay with us.

We are very happy that we have new supporters in South America - part of the world, which we love and we visit on our regular sales calls.

I'm glad that we have helped to your trip to be nice and memorable. Astoria Hotel has a huge history behind and with combination with all the beauties which this unique city offer make this place unforgettable. We will be very happy to share your experience also on our facebook page.

Thank you once again.

We look forward welcoming you in our hotel soon again.

Your sincerely.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Astoria is a fabulous hotel as can be expected being one of Rocco Forte's group of luxury hotels located in the capitals and major locations in the world.

We transferred due to room availability from the sister hotel, Angleterre next door to spend our last 3 days in St Petersburg. The step up in service, accommodation, decor and style was immediately obvious.

The transfer of our bags went seamlessly, and, having booked an internal courtyard guest-room, on arrival we were upgraded into a suite along the side street close enough of the corner to see St Issac's Square, if not the St Issac's Church. Having been able to just afford an upgrade to a St Issac's Square view guest-room in the very good but cheaper Angleterre Hotel, we were obviously delighted. The rooms decor was restrained but very attractive with nice fittings and attention to detail. Double glazed doors opened between the bedroom and lounge whilst there was an internal door between the lounge and the guest-room entry door to ensure their was no noise heard from the guest corridor. Similarly the acoustic attenuation in the windows was of a high order blocking out sound from the busy street below. The bathroom was larger than the Angletterre and the fittings more modern and the carrara marble of a high quality. The room lacked nothing in comfort and offered a peaceful and pleasant retreat after a hard day touring St Petersburg.

The public areas were again a delight with original fittings mixed with the new by the interior designer, Olga Pollzzi. There was a dedicated lounge on the corner of the hotel giving views out onto the street off which was a comfortable bar lounge with original photographs by a top International photographer. Very plush and relaxing. Unlike the Angletterre next door plenty of space to relax.

The guests seemed more about individuals and couples rather than large tour groups though there was during our stay a British medical convention "junket" being held at the hotel. They stayed largely in the convention area to one side and in the lovely restored conference hall. Do try to have a peak when there to see this room Hitler had pre-booked to celebrate his arrival in Leningrad (now St Petersburg).

Breakfast was very good and encouraged you to linger in the restaurant which very attractive and encouraged us to book one evening for diner which was very good if not memorable.

The service was excellent at reception and in the restaurant. They were very helpful in booking taxis to and from places which is advisable in St Petersburg where it can be risky to hail a cab from the street.

If you can afford it this is a very good well located hotel to stay at but the price is very high if you opt for a St Issac's Square view or a suite. It has now to contend with the recently restored Four Seasons Hotel located just around the corner which has sensationally opulent public spaces but with room prices to match. I think I will stick with the Astoria.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room with a view of St Issac's Square and its church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time to review Hotel Astoria on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read such positive experiences and I will certainly share your comments with my team.
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our design, breakfast and service.

I hope that St Petersburg got into your heart and we will be very happy if you come to visit us soon again.

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here with my wife for two nights in early November. As we came to St. Petersburg to celebrate an anniversary, the hotel was very kind to offer us an upgrade to the junior suite (on floor 4) with the views of St. Isaac's square and the Cathedral. I have been to this hotel 2 or 3 years ago and can say that they have only got better. It seems like our room was recently re-appointed and was very charming and comfortable. They do have everything you expect from a luxury hotel, but often it is the little things that make the difference. For me it was a 'fireplace channel' on TV - a video of a real burning wood in a fire place, which was turned on by our maid in the evening. Even though it wasn't a real fire, it still felt very cozy and welcoming when we returned to our room after a full day of walking in the evening. I haven't seen this anywhere else.

We haven't tried the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast was good, though a little pricey, so if you want try something different, there's a nice cafe Schastye (Happiness) around the corner - they serve good breakfasts at a much lower price.

Overall, we had a very good time and having tried other hotels in St. Petersburg; I can say that Astoria is certainly among the top 3 hotels in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_M_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment you have posted on TripAdvisor for Hotel Astoria.

We are very happy that we made your stay cozy and comfortable. In our business, it is always very important to go an extra mile and this is always the case with little extra things we do. We are very happy that it left such an impression on you.

We will be very happy if you choos Astoria again in a future while traveling to St.Petersburg.

Have a great December and Holidays Season.
Thank you.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed four nights at Astoria. The friendly, helpful atmosphere at the hotel and its perfect location made this one of our best hotel experiences. Nice resaurant and bar. The use of the hotel cars in the evenings were perfect for ua! Thank you very much for a great long weekend.

Room Tip: High floor with a view towards the church!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stinger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I was very happy to read your positive review about our hotel, restaurant, bar and the staff. I will definitely share with my staff your kind words.

You are always welcome! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in Hotel Astoria and St.Petersburg!

With my appreciation, warm regards and best wishes,

Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,555 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 344 in St. Petersburg
746 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 344 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,128 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,539 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing