We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently located hotel close to all historical sites and transport facilities”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet location facing St Issacs cathedral and within walking distance of all the principal sites including the spectacular Hermitage Palace which commands a full half days visit.We travelled with a specialist Travel company -Kirker Travel who organised a personal guide for our stay of five days and she performed an invaluable service to navigate around the various quirks of the Russian systemsas well as speaking excellent English and was well versed in the history of the city.
The hotel rooms are well appointed but the common parts require plants/flowers to brighten up those areas.The Breakfasts were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.The hotel is very expensive if booked direct and therefore a package holiday is obligatory.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the park and St Issacs cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this magnificent Belle Epoque hotel in St Petersburg for three glorious nights the last time we were in Russia. The staff are attentive and bi-lingiual (Russian/English) which cannot be underestimated in Russia and eager to please. Our room exceeded all our expectations and the in-room dining for breakfast was a wonderful treat. The other mornings we ventured into the hotel's own brasserie to experience their full continental breakfast and we were not disappointed with the delicacies on offer. The location is, needless to say, first class with the iconic St Isaac's Cathedral, the Hermitage and the Mariinsky Palace which houses the Saint Petersburg Legislative Assembly all close by. Nevsky Prospekt (the most famous street in all of Russia) is not too far away and every other concievable attraction is near by. This Grand Hotel will not disappoint you, and on a personal note, if you are in St Petersburg, you MUST take the time out to visit the Royal Palaces in Peterhof (45 minutes out of St Pete on the Gulf of Finland) which is compareable to Versailles and Tsarskoe Selo which is another massive Czarist Palace (about half an hour south of St Pete). You will be stupified by their opulence and splendour.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view to St Isaac Square, do so. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is local in front of St. Isaac cathedral and close to the Hermitage Palace, the Neva and the main attractions. The service is careful and attentive, the restaurant Davidov offers good breakfast and meals, while the concierge is happy to book musuems and theatres. Our room facing St. Isaac cathedral was elegant and well equipped, though at times a little too warm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Given Russia standards this is a nice hotel however very expensive. The service is good and most employees try hard to please. The lobby is depressing but, again, this is Russia. The first room we were given was very hot and smelled freshly painted. The receptionist who showed us to the room told us we could adjust the temp +/- 3 degrees for our comfort. Unfortunately the - 3 degrees only brought us down to 82 degrees!!! After several phone calls we were finally given a new room with working air conditioning. This probably would not have been as bad as I am making it but after a 10 hr overnight flight from NY our main goal was a nap not spending over 1 hour getting checked into a suitable room. After our nap things got better. Dinner was good with attentive service. Breakfast buffet the following morning was nice with just about anything you could want available. Check In/out was also a bit annoying as they seem to have a problem with approving AMEX cards. Since my AMEX is Platinum with no foreign exchange fees I refused to provide another type card which might have been easier for them to deal with. The location is excellent right accross the
street from St Isaccs and a short stroll to the Hermitage.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Many aspects of my stay at the Hotel Astoria were excellent. The room - though nothing like as big as the price I paid for it - was attractively furnished and well serviced; it also had a wonderful view towards St Isaac's Cathedral, and although it was on a street with some traffic there was no noise from outside. The reception staff were generally very friendly and welcoming - but with few exceptions the rest of the hotel staff did not smile or show any warmth. If we passed staff in the hallway or on the landing, they looked the other way, lacking the common courtesy that one routinely encounters in other hotels that claim to have five stars. Some of the restaurant staff were not well trained; I saw one sneeze into his hands and then carry on with his work at other guests' tables without having a decent wash! There were often long delays in getting coffee or tea, although on other days we were very looked after. In short, the service was not consistent - and when one stays in a five-star hotel consistency and reliability should be taken for granted. Worst of all, perhaps, I returned home to discover that my credit card has been charged twice for the amount on my final bill, and I was also distressed when checking out to be told that my two-hour late checkout request 'had not been approved', even though I had been informed face to face that morning by another member of staff that I would indeed be able to leave my room two hours after the normal checkout time of 12 noon. The implication was that I was 'trying it on', which I most certainly was not.

It's a pity to carp about this and that when much about the Astoria is worthy of praise, but this is not an establishment where everything works as well as it should, especially given the eye-watering price. That use of the internet is charged for (except in a grotty side room where two computers are made available for public use) at incredibly high rates is also unacceptable; this felt like money grubbing rather than the high-calibre service that the hotel claims to offer.

Excellent location and much to commend, but don't go expecting everything to be as good as it should be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Perfectly placed to walk everywhere in city. Staff extremely fRiendly and helpful and we had a wonderful view of St Isaacs hotel. Breakfast was sensational and in a great setting. I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very good location .. Food in the lobby was expansive .. We were upgraded second night since they gave us a very small room the first night in Angleterre hotel which is connected to Astoria .. first we were disappointed because angleterre room was far from five star room standards...but the suite they gave us the next day was nice and spacy..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayaMarjiBitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 359 in St. Petersburg
835 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#17 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,156 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $210 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing