We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star All the Way!”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Five Star All the Way!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are on a Globus tour of Scandinavia and Russia and stayed here for 3 nights so we do not know how much it costs per night. The hotel is right next to St. Isaacs Cathedral and we had a room on the fifth floor with an overview of the Cathedral. Our view at night with the dome lit up was breathtaking. The staff at the hotel spoke English and were very helpful from the front desk staff to the restaurant staff. Internet access is free in the lobby, but not in the rooms, which was ok. The breakfast buffet was very good, especially the blinis, pancakes and pastries. There was a small exercise room and a small indoor pool but we did not use it.

The hotel is a short walk to Nevsky Prospect, the main street. We did have to watch for pickpockets, but the area seems relatively safe as long as you don't keep a wallet in your back pocket and exercise some caution like carrying money in a belly bag. But the hotel is excellent and the beds are very comfortable. They also have an ATM in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kappy9857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    383
    120
    24
    9
See reviews for
111
345
52
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days with my wife over the weekend. Staff was friendly, helpful and fluent in english. Restaurant breakfast was included in our rate and it was a very good and complete breakfast buffet. Located in front of St. Isaac's Cathedral, the hotel gives you a great view everytime you take a walk to any of the many nearby points of interest. Bathroom was a bit small and with no amenities as used in most western hotels. Different to Moscow, St. Petersburg is more used and open to tourists and foreign languages.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ah582291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been here for 7 nights in the "white nights" period on a B&B basis.
Excellent- location, very helpful concierge staff and breakfast at the Borsalino restaurant.
Very good- room cleaning, bed and room insonorization (not looking the main road however).
good- room size, overall money for value (but SP is very expensive and it was peak season...).
A very good experience overall and I would be glad to return there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luca1106060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

great service and location in this St Petersburg hotel. The connected Astoria next door looks much more alive and up to date, however. Rooms looked a bit worn and a face lift would be great. But a competent hotel, all in all. Bar service, though, was not good.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing St. Isaac's square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morristNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Location was perfect - right in the middle of town and close to all the main attractions. Staff were very friendly, they helped me book my taxi... in Moscow! Went well above and beyond the requirement, even calling me on my HK mobile phone to let me know the taxi number as my train was arriving Moscow at 3am. Yes - no any amenities in the bathroom, just the basic soap, but that's not what I'm looking for in a hotel - I'm happy enough bringing my own shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste. Rooms were clean and very comfortable - and the staff recognize you when you come back into the hotel.
Wifi is available in the rooms, but for a fee. Internet is free in the lobby, and in the restaurants next door.
If you want the full pampering, then check into the Astoria next door. Otherwise the Angleterre is great value for it's very central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location is for sure the most important factor when doing a city vacation in my believe - and Angleterre Hotel at St Isaac's Sq. delivers exactly that, beside from being a very nice hotel with high standards. As for the bed in the standard room I have tried better, also the green approach about just having one shampoo/body soap on the wall takes a little of the luxury feeling that one would like - paying premium prices. But all in all the hotel comes recommend - mostly due to its location.

Room Tip: Consider if you want the view to the cathedral or the court yard.. both have their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelharrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is a little tired in parts, rooms are small.. Wifi only available in the lobby. The food was excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Fresh gluten free bread for breakfast was a real treat, quite the best I have eaten for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelalotLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#36 of 349 in St. Petersburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
773 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#39 of 349 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing