We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing, wouldn't recommend it”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #27 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. We were so disappointed when we were shown our room, quite small and uninspiring and things didn't get better. The bathroom was lacking amenities - no toothbrush, toothpaste, moisturizer, conditioner, shower cap, or anything else- just a generic all in one body wash/soap/shampoo, one attached to the wall in the shower and one by the sink. We only had one flannel, despite the fact we were booked in a twin room.

We asked the front desk for a kettle as the room lacked any tea or coffee making facilities, were told to call room service ourselves. Called room service who told us to call house keeping. House keeping we're very helpful. Still we supplied our own tea bags as we were only given the kettle and cups (as we caught the train to Russia we still had our tea/coffee stuff thankfully).

There is no free wifi in the rooms and the charge is ridiculously expensive 4,000 rubles for a week, thats AU$132!!! Thankfully there is free wifi in the restaurant so we were able to plan the next steps of the holiday over breakfast. A long breakfast!

We had a much better hotel room in Moscow for a lot less cost. I will never stay at the Angelterre again.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin share rooms on the inside of the hotel, looking into the central courtyard. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 985 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Angleterre for 5 nights. The location is very convenient, with many attractions a short walk away. Check-in and check-out were quick and the staff was friendly with plenty of English-speakers. To our surprise, we found ourselves upgraded without even asking from a standard double room to a corner suite. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The nicely appointed bathroom had a grab bar in the tub; soap - in tiny bars - was provided and there was a 110/220 volt plug in the bathroom. The housekeeping staff was responsive to a request for more towels. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby and restaurant. One small inconvenience, probably a peculiarity with our room, was that there were no drawers, so we had to stack clothing on tables. Overall, staying here was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good location in the center of SPb right in front of Isaakii/

Rooms are nice, comfy beds, bathrooms need some renovation, surprisingly no free wi-fi in the room (~7$ / hour or 30$ / day).

Generally is OK

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandrinKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Angleterre Hotel and it was fantastic. The location directly across from St. Isaacs Catherdal is perfect. You are within walking distance of many sights, excellent restaurants. It is a very happening place with a great cafe attached to it that stays open for late night eating. It is expensive but everything is in St. Petersburg. The concierge was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feuers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recommend this hotel. Superb breakfast. Good sized room. Really appreciated the professional staff . Thank you to all at the hotel for your support. We would return to visit and stay at this hotel again. Naomi and Trevor

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Well run as are all World Hotels. Super service and food. Adequate rooms. Prime location. Great breakfast. Meeting rooms are ok. Overall the location gives you access to the whole city. We stayed for over a week and were sad to leave. Decor in lobby and restaurant is lovely and understated. Staff are extremely professional.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Far from being luxurious, the Angleterre has the advantages of a wonderful location, with views to the St. Isaac's cathedral, and a helpful staff.
The rooms are not large but in an expensive city they are not shabby either. My main criticism is the absence of black-out curtains in a city of a midnight sun in summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandrebrasil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,665 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,188 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#39 of 361 in St. Petersburg
654 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,662 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $103 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing