We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, unhesitatingly recommend”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Considering cost of hotels in the downtown core, the Angleterre offers very good value. The reservations staff were excellent - efficient,friendly and provided a rapid turnaround with the visa Support letter required for obtaining visa through the consulate in Canada.

Similarly reception and concierge staff went all out in trying to be helpful with restaurant, cultural activities etc. I was particularly impressed that the concierge offered to book a city taxi as an option to the much more expensive hotel taxi for our return trip to the airport. Our room was simply but tastefully decorated in art deco style. The breakfast buffet was copious and available until 10:30 am weekdays.

The location is unbeatable and allowed us to virtually walk everywhere - we felt safe and secure at all times due to the crowds of people out enjoying White Nights until the wee hours.

Loved St Petersburg and our stay at the Aangleterre made it all the more special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montrealchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 985 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

In June 2011, I spent five (5) nights at the Angleterre Hotel. It was my first visit to St. Petersburg. I was very satisfied with all aspects of the Hotel. I made a number of unusual requests to Ekaterina (Concierge) due to busines needs. She accomplished each and everyone of them in a very efficient manner and never made me feel like I was asking for something over the top.. My room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant was very good, especially the breakfast buffet. The Hotel's location is perfect for those visitors whose primary reason is sightseeing. I look forward to my next visit to St. Petersburg and the Angleterre Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

beautiful Italian restaurant especially good breakfast
good sauna and swimming pool( when you are swim you can see view to the St. Isaak's cathedral)

small but nice and comfortable rooms.
especially special thank you for reception staff for fast check in and all time smiling and good mood.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The hotel is located in a great position, it has small but clean rooms, and a good restaurant (Borsalino, recommended). The lobby area has some old charm but nothing special. If you get rates at less than 200 $ then it is a Very good value for money, especially given it's location; above those rates you risk being disappointed because it looks better than what it is. The gym area is small and the swimming pool just a big bathtub ....

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early May 11 and enjoyed ourselves. From the welcome of reception, porters and the breakfast staff and the great breakfast we recommend this hotel. The hotel is in an area where the are lots of estaurants and shopping and tourists attractions

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a Volga cruise. As such, we had no choice in the selection of the hotel but have to admit that the location is superb - many of St Peterburg's sights are within strolling distance and allow you the opportunity to explore independently once the day's organised itinerary has finished. Having stayed in many cities where 5 star hotel rack rates are high (eg London, Paris, Rome and Venice) , however, we found the room was tired and quality fell short of the price tag (£350+ per night) while the breakfast on offer was no more than average (the cooked food, for example, was cold and you had to seek out someone to ask for toast rather than it being offered or facilities available to do it yourself). I suspect that the price is a reflection of the limited rooms available within the city centre but the overall appearance and quality fell short of the Moscow equivalent that we used (Marriott Royal Aurora).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabascoleathergrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in May. The hotel is in a fabulous location opposite St Isaac's Cathedral, 5 minutes walk to the Hermitage and the main shopping area. Room was a good size, comfortable and clean. There was a good choice for breakfast. Staff on reception and at the door were efficient and helpful. There are a couple of restaurants. We ate there one night but thought it was much too expensive. There are many restaurants in the vicinity. Unfortunately internet was not free which we were unhappy with given the price of the accommodation. This is the only hotel of the 4 that we stayed at in Russia which charged us a passport registration fee. Again we were unhappy with this. However, we would certainly stay here again for the central location and comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments on your recent visit to the Angleterre Hotel.
I am glad that you find the room in good quality and clean, the hotel being in a fabulous location , the view of St. Isaaks Cathedral worth the upgrade .
I was very sorry to read that you were unhappy with the passport registration fee.
Unfortunately we'd like to inform you that passport registration fee is aplicable according to the Russian Law. What concerns internet, I would like to inform you that it is free of charge for corporate business travelers, the charge to be waived at departure due to IT software programming. I would assume that has been the reason for being charged.
Since the 15th of June we have already established free WI-FI access in the rooms.
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write your comments which I very much appreciate.

Sincerely yours
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,665 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,188 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#40 of 361 in St. Petersburg
654 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,662 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $95 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing