We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Russian cuisine with a twist”
Review of Severyanin

Severyanin
Ranked #118 of 12,027 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Severianin is a sublimely classic Russian restaurant located in the very heart of the city of St Petersburg. The restaurant’s charm and hospitality have been carefully crafted to impress guests with a sense of 19th-century romantic ambience. The restaurant is named after Igor Severianin, whose poetry was much loved by the cream of Russian society in the last years of the Russian Empire…though despised by the Bolsheviks. Just a few of the restaurant’s extraordinary delights are such dishes as Lake Ladoga whitefish, lightly smoked over alder-wood chips; homemade venison carpaccio with lingonberries; braised lamb’s tongue with marinated green peppers and forest mushrooms; fillet of roast suckling pig. The Severianin menu is, in fact, a rainbow of 19th-century Russian delights intended to excite even the most jaded palate.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Excellent varied menu with Russian classics and unusual variations. Freshly prepared and well presented food. Absolutely loved the decor and service, along with the pristine white table settings, cut glass and proper cutlery. Bravo!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severyanin R, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Severyanin, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019
Google Translation

Добрый день! Большое спасибо Вам за отзыв! Мы очень рады, что Вам понравились кухня, обслуживание и атмосфера нашего ресторана. Ждем Вас снова!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2019

Wonderful atmosphere!
The dining room looks like your great-grandmother's, simple, old fashioned, warm and vintage, with poetry books on every table.
The cuisine is, likewise, that of a Sunday family dinner, hearty, simple but well executed. As a vegetarian, I did not have many choices, but the grilled vegies as well as the mashed potatoes were very pleasant, and my husband just loved his grilled chicken!
But what makes this place special is the warm atmosphere and the quality of the waiters who speak several languages and bend over backwards to make your meal memorable.
We were lucky to get the last reservation on an evening dedicated (unbeknownst to us) to "poetry, champagne and music"
What a fabulous surprise!
Between the 2 wonderful actors who recited English and Russian poems the accordeon player who accompanied them, and the champagne we were all offered, the evening turned out fabulous!!!
Realizing I was speaking French to my husband, they asked me to participate with a poem by Baudelaire, which I did. To my great surprise, some clients, with the help of their IPhone, chipped in with their favorite French poems :-)
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ginsengNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severyanin R, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Severyanin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019
Google Translation

Добрый день! Большое спасибо за Ваш отзыв и теплые слова! Мы очень рады, что Вам понравилась атмосфера, кухня и обслуживание в нашем ресторане, и Вы провели незабываемый вечер! Поэтический вечер, на котором Вы побывали, называется "Ананасы в шампанском" и проводится у нас в последний четверг каждого месяца. С удовольствием будем ждать Вас снова!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

We walked to this place from the Ambassador Hotel. Lovely and cozy interior with piano greeting you as you entered (not being played). The restaurant cannot hold more than forty or fifty people and has a varied and excellent menu. Our waiter spoke perfect English and helped us with choices of food and drink. He had great sense of humor and helped us have a wonderful dining experience.Don't forget to book it before going.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anilt413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severyanin R, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Severyanin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019
Google Translation

Добрый день! Большое спасибо Вам за отзыв и добрые слова в адрес нашего ресторана! Мы очень рады, что Вы провели у нас в гостях отличный вечер! Ждем Вас снова!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

We were in Saint Petersburg for several days and we visited some of the highest rated restaurants in St. Petersburg. This was the best meal we had and we even went back twice it was so good. For instance we tried a mushroom soup at the Four Seasons which was mediocre and here it was just fantastic. Prices reasonable, delicious Russian food and charming service. It is not huge so call for a reservation. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank eo959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severyanin R, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Severyanin, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019
Google Translation

Добрый день! Большое спасибо за такие теплые слова и высокую оценку нашему ресторану! Нам очень приятно, что Вы выбираете нас уже не в первый раз и Вам нравится у нас в гостях. Всегда ждем снова!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018

very nice and beautiful restaurant, romantic athmosphere, superior service and researched cousine. I advise the duck breast, very tender, but also desserts worth to be tried ! if you are a group of more then ten, there is a reserved room with a big table.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giugni65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severyanin R, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Severyanin, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019
Google Translation

Добрый день! Большое спасибо за Ваш отзыв! Очень рады, что после посещения нашего ресторана у Вас остались только положительные эмоции! Ждем Вас снова!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Severyanin also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Severyanin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing