We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lack of service”
Review of Mark Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Inn Hotel
Ranked #150 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good location for experiencing the Petrograd side of town. Farmacies, dining, convenience stores and metro in walking distance.
The hotel is clean and well kept, nice self-catering kitchen, neat rooms. Could do with some mosquito net on the windows, though. Maid service was not consistent, but very good when performed.
Communication with staff was not the best, as some of them speak poor english, but that is more the rule than the exception in hotels here in general. Basic service as calling taxis and doing laundry seemed to be extremely troublesome for them and was done with a sigh (I saw the reception girl googling for the phonenumber to the taxi!) and they would make us load the washing machine and turn it on, yet they charged heavily for the service. They wouldn't fold the clothes, just threw them in a plastic bag, and didn't deliver it to the room.
Still, the spotless rooms and the reasonable price made up for it.

Room Tip: The en-suite rooms are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pros
It was cheap and especially so for spb as well as there was an apec intl forum on whilst we were there which made alot of the central hotels booked out or very expensive Relatively new modest decor and furnishings. Relaxed part of town opposite a large park Good access to Peter n Paul fortress (though its more of an underwhelming experiences in spb)


Cons
The drain gave off a foul sewerage smell that got progressivley worse over the 3 night stay. Turning on the shower seemed to make it reside abit but we had to make sure the toilet door was permanently. Hot water was tempermental and required time to switch on and wait for the water to boil. Reception, whilst friendly and tries to help, with the exception of 1 lady, spoke almost no english. Air con is not really an aircon, it was more like a fan, luckily it wasnt tat hot during our stay but it wud be terrible if it was hot as u cannot leave the windows open as there are lots of mosquitos and the electric msquito repellent seems to do little

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank teddytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is located in historic part-Petrograd. Located near Alexandrovskiy park. 10 minutes away from Zayachniya Island and Peter and Paul Fortress. 20 minutes walk from the state museum- Ermitazh.Building is located in the quiet courtyard of building complex located on a quiet street Markina. Free Wi Fi.Excellent value for money. 650 meters from metro station Gorkovskaya. Slow processing of documents in our compulsory registration with the migration authorities. There is no refrigerator in the room. The entrance to the hotel and the courtyard is through cards. CCTV at the entrance. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TodorStoyanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Walking distance from metro, one metro stop from the central Nevsky Prospekt station. 10-minute walk to Petropavlovskaya Fortress. 20 minutes walk to Vasilievsky Island. A very quite place - a small freshly restored 2-story building fully surrounded by tall old 4-story houses shielding it from street noise. Secure access with private entrance through a locked patio. Incredibly friendly staff, really nice owner. I was very surprised to find accommodations of such quality at a small mom-and-pop B&B. I guess it didn’t get the "hotel" status because some of the rooms are of hostel-type with bathrooms in the hallways (other rooms are regular hotel rooms with everything inside). This is a rare place in Saint Pete where you can get a modern high-quality room with all of the amenities in the historical part of town for the price of a motel room on the outskirts of the city. The only drawback is that it is hard to get a room at that place during the tourist season, it’s mostly sold out / booked in advance. Bottom line – LOVED IT!!!! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get the standard room. Book in advance. Don't rent a car: you are within a $10 cab-ride from pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex_Antonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Convenient location, comfortable, clean and warm rooms. There is a common kitchen with fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and utensils. There are hairdryers in rooms. Everything is free of charge. Washing machine and coffee maker are paid separately. Maintenance staff is polite and friendly. No trace of post-Soviet service.
Impressions of the hotel are exclusively positive. It is one of the best variants for economical and romantic trip .I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViacheslavM_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Pros
Great location near the Alexandrovskiy park, right next to Petr&Paul fortress, beautiful neighbourhood. Friendly and helpful staff, free wi-fi. Lots of delicious cafes around (a very good and cheap one is right across the street from the hotel). Everything is within the walking distance, 600 m walk to the Gorkovskaya subway station. Very clean rooms. Prices are quite reasonable.

Cons
Rooms are quite small, no view, no breakfast included (though the price is low, RUB 130 only - I didn't get to taste it, though). The biggest con is that the hotel is located outside the drawbridges relative to Nevskiy prospect, so if you want to have a bar crawl at Rubinshteina street, for example, you need to stay till 5 am or be ready to finish at 2.30 am, which is quite inconveneint sometimes.

Recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My native city, Saint-Petersburg, is the most beautiful city in the world. I'm happy to have my home in the historical center of this architectural and artistical gem of the mankind.
But.
All of us could be forced to use hotel even in the own city occasionally.
Last week I had to go to the the hotel for 2 nights and Mark Inn was my fortuitous choice.

Reasons were simple: central location, distance to metro, general look and price.

Mark Inn is located in Petrogradka, area of the St. Pete's Art Nuveau. It is 10 to 15 minutes walk to the nearest metro, however I lke this part of the city very much and I'm sure you will like it as well. Just don't run, walk and look around. You will enjoy an air of the Russian Silver Age, early XX-century time.

The hotel is brand new, very fresh and clean. There are new and modern furniture and linen. Nice austere design, actual and practical. Big and comfy rooms with flat TV and spacey bath.
Young open staff.
Free WiFi.

And the MOST IMPORTANT advantage of the Mark Inn: all the above is nearly for free. Price level is really perfect, 30-50% less than average one for the SAME accomodation. I affraid owners of the Mark Inn will change it shortly, but now ... )))))

Well, there is one problem: audibility between the rooms. I can not criticize too much, because my room was isolated, I had no neighbors. But other tourists told me that insulation could and should be better. On the other hand same men told me the price beat all small minuses.

Summing up: new, attrative, well located, reasonably priced. I'd like to use Mark Inn next time. I recommend it to the tourists and businessmen, who is travelling alone or in a couple.

Room Tip: Corner room is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abyrvalg_SPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#146 of 361 in St. Petersburg
67 reviews
Kolomna
Pushkinskiy Domik
Pushkinskiy Domik
#243 of 361 in St. Petersburg
11 reviews
Kolomna
Admiralteyskaya Hotel
Admiralteyskaya Hotel
#76 of 361 in St. Petersburg
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Nautilus Inn Hotel
Nautilus Inn Hotel
#240 of 361 in St. Petersburg
79 reviews
T-hotel
#94 of 361 in St. Petersburg
109 reviews
Galakt Hotel
#162 of 361 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Inn Hotel

Address: Markina St., 1, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $21 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mark Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable hotel Mark Inn is located in the historical part of St. Petersburg within walking distance of the city’s main attractions. Its recently refurbished building is hidden in a quiet yard shielded from the noise of the big city, which allows guests to relax after long city tours or intensive business meetings. Its ten standard rooms offer all the amenities needed away from home, while its five economy rooms share two fully equipped bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mark Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing