We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Modern and Inspiring Museum”

History of Religion Museum
Ranked #50 of 1,863 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The State Museum of the History of Religion is one of the world’s few museums and the only one of its kind in Russia. Its permanent exhibition features the origin and development of Religion. The Museum collection numbers about 200 000 exhibits. It houses a wide range of historical and cultural artifacts from various countries, ages, and peoples which date back to the 6th Millennium BC. The Museum established a reputation of one of the most fast-growth museums in Russia for the last 5 years. The Museum opened to the public new permanent exhibition’s departments: ‘Islam’, ‘Sukhavati – the Pure Land of Buddha Amitabha’ (‘The Buddhist Paradise’), ‘Religions of the East: Buddhism, Hinduism, Confucianism, Taoism and Shinto’ and special Children department ‘The Very Beginning’ as well. The museum is delighted to announce that the redisplayed permanent exhibition’s departments, ‘The Archaic and Primitive Beliefs’, ‘Religions of the Ancient World: Polytheism’, ‘Religions of the Ancient World: Judaism and Rise of Monotheism’ and ‘Rise of Christianity’ were opened to public on April 2012. Anybody who is familiar with the experience of the world museum development knows that very few museums go in for the full redisplay and making new exhibition projects, does justice our executive work.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having seen many traditional museums is St. Petersburg which are artefact- and exhibit-centered, I was positively surprised with this museum. It reminded me some of the best museum i've seen in Western Europe where the main attraction is not the richness and the uniqueness of the collection, but the inspiing and involving way teh exhibits are presented to the visitors.

The Museum of the History of Religion presents the world's many religions in an impressive way, with interiors decorated in accordance with the religion they are presenting, also a good array of important objects (some authentic, some not) and involving explanations (I don't know if they are available in any other language than Russian). It is a place where one can learn more about bith the exotic and the more well-established religions.

Unfortunately, we had too little time to study all the exhibits since we were totally imbibed by the temporary exhibition on Chinese prints which combined the actual exhibits with extracts from a travel journal of a Russian scinetist who was the first one to pay attention to those and who saw their value as documents of cultural and religious history of China. The visit left a profound imprint and I will certainly visit the museum again.

4  Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina V, Public Relations Manager at History of Religion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Hello!
We really appreciate for your response on our temporary and permanent exhibitions. We try to do our best to represent the origins and history of various religions and faiths. Audio guides are available on both Russian and English for our foreign visitors. Welcome to the State Museum of the History of Religion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

14 - 18 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful museum with a rich collection of diverse exhibits, presented in a skillful way. Will definitely recommend to all interested in World religions and culture.

1  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina V, Public Relations Manager at History of Religion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello,
We really appreciate for your brief, but very informative review! The Museum is one of the world’s few museums and the only one of its kind in Russia with its permanent exhibition featuring the origin and development of Religion. The Museum collection numbers about 200 000 exhibits. It houses a wide range of historical and cultural monuments from various countries, ages, and peoples. The Museum keeps collections that cover a vast expanse of time from the Archaic (c. 6000 BC) and Ancient Egypt and Israel Times to the early Middle Ages in Europe; from the Ancient Greece and Rome to the present day. The history of Buddhism and Islam is also presented on the display.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the most amazing museum I have ever visited! It has many rooms to visit, videos and audio documents and the management of the rooms is spectacular! Very modern way to expose the exhibits! Must seen

3  Thank maroulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina V, Public Relations Manager at History of Religion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hello!
Thank you for excellent rating of the museum. A department, you mentioned in your reply is entitled 'Buddhist Paradise - A Pure Land of Buddha Amitabha' - it's a marvelous model made by the monks of the Buddist monastery in Buryatiya in the early 20th century for the duke Esper Ukhtomskiy. Also we have a number of temporary exhibition devoted to Buddhism.
Really appreciate for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amazing exhibits including archaeological finds and displays on culture and ethnography in dealing with questions of faith and belief. An eye opener without any particular agenda that should be seen by all. Also, the staff goes out of their way to help with advice and info for tourists, and they put in some time after my visit to make sure that some papers I left there by mistake were retruned to me.

A real find. Very informative, rewarding, and enjoyable. Since there are diverse exhibits,you can plan a shorter visit based on personal intersts, or or devote even more than 1 to 2 hours if your schedule permits. It's also close by other important sites in Saint Petersburg, but it provides an experience that is less crowded, more quiet and comfortable than some of the better known stops that are not far away, such as St. Isaacs and even the Winter Palace, so it's a jewel where you can recharge your batteries in a busy day of sightseeing.

6  Thank KennethMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina V, Public Relations Manager at History of Religion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi!
We really appreciate for your kind reply and 5 rating of our Museum. It's important for us to have such a detailed and nice description of the Museum. Our permanent exhibition featuring the history of faith and beliefs from the archaic and primitive ones till the monotheistic, including Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Judaism. For your comfortable and pleasant visit we have audioguide on both Russian and English languages.
Thank you and welcome to the museum on your next visit of SPb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was astonished by the vastness of the collection. Buddhist heaven room was the biggest surprise. This museum is a jewel.

1  Thank PirateSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina V, Public Relations Manager at History of Religion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear PirateSpace!
We really appreciate for your excellent reply! It's so important for us to know our visitors' opinion! There are only about 4 000 objects on a display. But the museum collection numbers about 200 000 exhibits. It's our treasury and we try to display a part of it on temporary exhibitions. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed History of Religion Museum also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to History of Religion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing