We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg
from $236.87
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $198.52
More Info
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
627
32
8
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
627
32
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour two days day tour catherine's palace via email responded quickly beautiful city cruise ship city tour extensive knowledge highly recommend this company summer palace personal tour wonderful guide guide elena credit card faberge museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 673 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019

My husband, daughter and myself booked the Best Guides Group for private tours in St Petersburg. We were extremely satisfied with our two days. On day one we had a Metro tour of the city, went to the Grand Imperial Summer Palace also known as Peterhof and also toured the Catherine Palace. We then drove back to St Petersburg and went into the Faberge Museum. Our guide found us a nice place to eat dinner before our driver took us to the Alexandrinsky Theater as we had arranged for ballet tickets to see Swan Lake. Our driver was right outside of the ballet when it was over and then took my husband to four places so he could take photographs. This was previously arranged. After this he returned us to our cruise ship for the night. On day 2 we did another driving tour of the city center and then went to the Peter and Paul Fortress. Our guide found us a nice quiet place for lunch and after that we toured The Winter Palace and the Hermitage Museum. Our day ended with seeing the Church of the Savior on spilled blood. We were completely satisfied and feel it was worth every dollar we spent.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

Thanks to Best Guides for making our two days in St Petersburg fun and memorable. Kira was great getting us set up, Andrzej was a wonderful driver and Edward was a knowledgeable guide with endless energy. We greatly appreciated the flexibility and tweaks to the schedule - especially the detour to use the subway and see a local mall. Very cool and wish NYCs subways were that nice (and that clean!)

A special thanks to Edward for his detail and knowledge. We were an interested group, and Edward was able to speak almost non-stop covering both what he wanted to share and answer many questions. We learned a lot!

Would certainly use again and will be recommending to friends. Thanks again!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank F0urPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

We went on a Baltic cruise and spent 1 day in St Petersburg. Visiting with a 4 and 1 year old a private tour was preferred.
From pre booking and going on the tour communication and organisation was brilliant. Best Guides were quick to respond and worked with us for a suitable itinerary with the kids.
We had Anna as our guide and Andreas as our driver. Anna spoke brilliant English and was very passionate, she had very good knowledge about the history of the city and the sites we visited. Anna was also great with keeping my 4 year old entertained and involved her when visiting the sites.
We couldn't have wished for a better day and guide. We had a fantastic visit to St Petersburg and would love to visit again. We would definitely recommend using Best Guides to all our friends and family.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Zeena_ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Since we (4 adults) were travelling with an 18-months old baby, our Best Guides contact Kira recommended an individual package. We have agreed to her proposal and could not be happier. In our party we had French, Russian and English speaking members. Our guide Inna spoke fluently all three languages. She was very knowledgeable and conveyed her love to her city to us. Kira's narrative was very engaging, witty and full of interesting facts that you couldn't find just by reading about St. Peterburg online. She went above and beyond to make sure we had an opportunity to see everything we've planned making adjustments based on baby's schedule (which sometimes was quite challenging) and leading us past the lines and crowds. Both her and our driver Anatoly were taking great care of us. Best Guides made our St. Peterburg experience unforgettable.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank natalieshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MashaV_BestGuides, Owner at Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear Natalieshapiro,
Thank you for the review. I know it’s very challenging to travel with a small baby and I’m happy you enjoyed your trip . Your guide Inna is one of my most favorite guides , we all love and appreciate her. Thank you for the good words about her and about our manager Kira and our driver Anatoly.
All the best and hope to see you again.
Masha Vankova, Best Guides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We used Best Guides for 4 days in St. Petersburg, 1 day in Novgorod and 2 days in Moscow. We gave it 5 stars because they have done their job very efficiently and delivered what they promising. However we probably would not use them again or recommend them to our friends:

The good:

All communication was extremely efficient and easy. Kira has answered e-mail very quickly and was able to add guide and car in Novgorod very quickly. The guides were pretty good. Car was not luxury but clean and sufficient (with pretty good driver). In St. Petersburg and Moscow the company uses a free lancing guides while Novgorod is more strictly regulated. As a result you experience may vary but our guides confirmed that the company tends to use better guides

Not so good:

The company does not have anything which distinguishes them from others. It was especially clear in at Petersburg. The tours in the city is geared toward 2 days fast trips by boat visitors ( no visa required). We were in the city longer plus we knew basic info already having visited it many years ago plus one of us was born in St. Petersburg The company or a guide could not offer anything “special”. We were more than willing to pay extra for something out of ordinary. For example, Our friends were able to get access to Hermitage after closing hours for private showing ( yes it is possible but requires special permission). That said the guide in St. Petersburg was pretty good.

In summary Best Guides is an efficient and top notch operation when you are looking for standard trip. If you are none-Russian speaker on the first visit, they are as good as any and better than most. They are not for something unusual.

Note of advise: if you speak Russian use Hermitage guides - they are much better and know museum more than 3 hour tour.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank yshmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews