We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally impressed by Best planning!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg

Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg
Ranked #10 of 333 Tours in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a group of professional licensed tour guides of St. Petersburg. We all graduated from St. Petersburg State University. We all have been working as guides and interpreters for the best tour companies and providing private tours in St. Petersburg for none less than 10 years, and we all love our city and enjoy our work a lot. At the same time we are very good friends, so we joined together in order to provide you with the best possible guided tours of St. Petersburg and its fabulous sights and museums.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally impressed by Best planning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Note: This is a pre-visit review of the Planning Services offered by Best Guides. We are 14 active seniors, a group of friends and veteran travelers going, many for the second time, to visit St Petersburg for a week to see that beautiful and historic city in more depth than the usual cruise schedule allows. I booked both hotel (3Mosta) and touring services at Best Guide after a lot of TripAdvisor research. I did this more than a year in advance, since I find the best small gems must be snatched up early. Our actual trip is scheduled for late July 2014.

First, I want to praise the staff of the 3MostA hotel who have been very professional and responsive and completely easy to deal with regarding our reservations and Tourist Vouchers. I am expecting a charming and well-located small hotel where we will be very comfortable for a week.

The bulk of my planning,however, has been done with the Tour Planner, Dariya, at Best Guides. This lovely woman is a delight to work with, taking my ideas and commenting on them as to their practicality (or not) and, as needed, offering a better suggestion. The result is a complete guided itinerary for the 14 of us for 4 days that reflects what we want to do, and the pace at which we will be comfortable. Pricing for the days is spelled out as to what is included, and not. There are also evening activities and an additional 1.5 days "on our own" which will include visits that do not require Guiding services; Dariya has been equally helpful in suggesting smart ways to add these into our free days.

Dariya has an amazing command of English and a lovely personality that shines through her written responses, and she responds very promptly, again a benefit of doing these things early when perhaps her caseload is not so stressed. In sum, to date, I think Best Guides in St Petersburg is a wonderful company that gives quality service at a reasonable price. I'll write again when we are done with the trip in mid-August. I have a hunch I won't change my opinion!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    23
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best guide of the Year: Elena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Thanks to You, Elena, we have discovered Saint Petersburg and suburbs with its numerous palaces and other beautiful things to be seen. The 6 days programme has been really well balanced.
Elena that's: kindness, competence, humour, attention, implication. She knows everything about Saint Pet.
Elena, we are really grateful to you for these visits with your kindness and humor!
When we'll comme back one of another summer we'll get in touch with you.

Kind regards,
Annette & Alain
Merry Xmas and Happy New Year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlainRenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa on
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful decision”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 3 days with Larisa, and driver Alexander in September. The experience could not have been better. They were informative, and fun. We had 2 days and 1 evening of the recommended places to see, and our 3rd day was spent as a local. I highly recommend this wonderful group of ladies. The ease of getting off the ship and thru Russian immigration was very easy with the trip tickets provided, much easier than getting a Russian Visa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1944barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best part of our week in St. Petersburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I (mid 70s)recently spent a week in St Petersburg on our own, wanting more time to see everything we could than allowed by cruise ship schedules and crowds. Guided tours seemed expensive but the one we took with Best Guides to Catherine's palace and Pushkin was more than worth it. As prearranged by email, our guide Inna and driver showed at our hotel at exactly 10a.m. and for the next 8 hours met our every need. Inna teaches English (and French) at the university and speaks it fluently and shared her own life's experiences. On the way out a lot of things were pointed out and she even stopped at a pharmacy to help me buy cough drops. We skipped lunch to see the palace (admission included) free of mobs (including the Amber room-only place where photos were not allowed) and all of the park. We stopped at the massive memorial to the defenders of Leningrad but even more impressive we got to the Piskaryovskoye
Cemetery which was very moving. We later combined a different tour offered thru our hotel of the Peter and Paul Fortress and cathedral with drop off at airport but this guide was not as good as Inna, and we could have done that on our own. Perhaps other than having two days by ourselves in the Hermitage this trip to Catherine's Palace was the best part of our week. Inna even made some good restaurant recommendations and did not include the annoying mandatory trip to a souvenir shop that our hotel tour included.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NovtomCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Intensive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had Olga as our guide.
She is just the type of tour guide that we like. Friendly but not overly friendly. Share information readily but not excessively talkative. Speaks softly but clearly. Paid our meal for us in rubles as the store didn't accept credit card and we didn't have rubles (we paid her back in usd). Let us spent more time in certain places as we wanted to take the 'perfect' photos (and hence we were just in time for the ballet which was also arranged by Best Guide).
The two-day intensive tour by Best Guides really covered many things. There are so much to see and do in St. Petersburg. Wish we had more time there so that we can see and do everything more leisurely (not that we were hurried or anything but we were really tired after the first day).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Best Guides -Tours in St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing