We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience SPB Tours
from $285.46
More Info
from $214.38
More Info
from $161.35
More Info
from $129.75
More Info
Reviews (5,871)
Filter reviews
5,195 results
Traveler rating
4,772
318
62
30
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,772
318
62
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe tour baltic cruise day tour two days deluxe st russian treasures small group cruise line excellent tour catherine's palace cruise critic subway ride guide maria celebrity eclipse baltic sea highly recommend this company tour group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,556 - 3,561 of 5,195 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2014

Booked SPB for a 2 day deluxe tour on 9/8 and 9/9 while on a 9 day NCL cruise. Elena was our tour guide. Elena was professional, knowledgable and helpful. Our driver, Sergei was friendly and also professional. Elena prepared us for every stop, managing our expectations and keeping us on time. We each received head phones and I don't know how we'd do a tour without them in the future.

We would definitely book SPB in other Baltic countries and if we make back to SPB would book them again. Vika was responsive to my emails before the cruise. It was lovely to meet her before our tour. Payment does not have to be made until you show up for the tour.

The company enjoys a great reputation and obviously a high rating on Trip Advisor. They deserve every accolade.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPB-Tours, Owner at SPB Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear G0ingn0w,

Thanks so much for your lovely review and recommendation. I appreciate it :-) So glad you enjoyed your time with SPB-Tours.

Best regards,
Vika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

While the 2 day tour of SPB was very interesting, there were some good and bad aspects .
Good - a most historic city that can only be experienced if you have a week , know the city details and can operate on your own . That means that with only a stopover of two days , it is a good idea to use a local tour company. SPB did a relatively good job in showing us some of the highlights in a short time . The tour guide was knowledgeable , friendly and had a good command of English. When our group was confronted with "problems" she did her best to try to resolve the situation..not always being successful.
When faced with a group of 17 people , she did a good job of keeping us together as a group.

Bad - not enough time to see the Hermitage. We selected this tour company because it was advertised as having special early entrance time before the public thereby allowing more time for the visit. We were promised 2 1/2 hours at the museum. Actually when we arrived , there were numerous other tour companies waiting in line that also had a "special entrance time " . Our guide had us standing in the wrong line which cost us time to visit. Then the pushing , shoving and physical and verbal abuse began by unruly , abusive animals. There was absolutely no control by museum officials who did nothing to stop the throwing of elbows etc. To top off all of this , SPB only gave us a little over an hour to visit. When we talked to our guide about this , she said that the 2 1/2 hours included travel time to the museum from the previously visited site . Our main reason for taking the tour was to have extra time to visit the museum . We actually ended up running by paintings by the Masters and other works of art because "had to stay on schedule" .
When we visited the castle of Catherine , once again the guide had us waiting in the wrong line which cost us even more time to visit.
Our tour included two features that were unnecessary and the time could been better spent at other sites. The subway ride and the river cruise were a waste of valuable time. We were all off a cruise ship and a river cruise was nothing special for us.

Date of experience: August 2014
6  Thank TheWaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPB-Tours, Owner at SPB Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear TheWaz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us overall and had a good time with your guide.

With regards to the lines at museums and the behavior of the crowd, this is unfortunately the result of the high volume of people visiting the city at one time, and something no tour company can do anything to change. The Deluxe Tour you were on is a very busy itinerary and tries to fit in a lot during a short amount of time. It's not always easy! And during busy times of the year, dealing with crowds is simply a fact of life. If an extended visit at the Hermitage was your main reason for taking the tour, we would have happily organized a private tour for you and your party, with an entire day at the Hermitage if you wished.

The subway ride and canal boat ride are very popular among many of our guests, but I'm sorry you didn't find them interesting.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for choosing SPB-Tours!

Best regards,
Vika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

We took SPB's tours in Germany, St. Petersburg, Helsinki and Stockholm and were very pleased with the tour guides, the transportation, itineraries and the value. Small group tours make the experience much better.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank garyrH8723XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPB-Tours, Owner at SPB Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear garyrath,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you had a great time with us this summer!

Warm regards,
Vika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

We recently did a two day tour of St Petersburg with SPB Tours. The tour was excellent, it was very well organised and Maria was delightful. Our driver was always on time, and went to great trouble to get the minibus as close to the meeting points as possible. The tour vehicles were brand new and very comfortable with on board wifi a considerable bonus. There were only 16 people in the group so it meant that we could get a more personal view of the city. We found all aspects of the tour to be very professional.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Sue15Warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPB-Tours, Owner at SPB Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear Sue15Warwickshire,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I'm glad you were pleased with our service, and I appreciate very much your recommendation :-)

Best regards,
Vika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2014

My husband and I booked a 2 day tour with SPB as part of a 2 week Baltic Cruise. The co. was recommended by several individuals who had made the trip previously. Vicki (owner) is a highly professional communicator, all questions, etc. are answered via email most promptly. Payment is not made until on the tour. While not inexpensive, there would be no way to accomplish all that was done, plus the transportation and narrative, on one's own. For first time visitors to SPB, it is a wonderful overview, if somewhat rushed at times. Lunches both days are included, representing casual Russian fare. Bus transport for our group of 16 was very comfortable and afforded excellent visibility. Olga, our guide, was outstanding in her language skills, knowledge, and charm. Like most of these type of things, there is a shopping opportunity at an overpriced shop, but that is the only drawback I could note, thus 4 stars. I hardly think other tour companies are different. I highly recommend SPB for a first time traveler to SPB who wishes to see the highlights in comfort and safety.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank centralvalleygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPB-Tours, Owner at SPB Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear centralvalleygrl,

Thank you very much for your review. Your recommendation means a lot to me :-) I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you again for choosing SPB-Tours!

Best regards,
Vika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews