We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience SPB Tours
from $285.46
More Info
from $214.38
More Info
from $161.35
More Info
from $129.75
More Info
Reviews (5,871)
Filter reviews
5,195 results
Traveler rating
4,772
318
62
30
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,772
318
62
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe tour baltic cruise day tour two days deluxe st russian treasures small group cruise line excellent tour catherine's palace cruise critic subway ride guide maria celebrity eclipse baltic sea highly recommend this company tour group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,516 - 4,521 of 5,195 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked SPB after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. They were all correct. We loved our guide in St. Petersburg. She was so knowledgeable and had a wonderful personality. She answered every question, and even helped one of the people on the tour locate where their ancestors were from. She found a map and helped them with their questions. She spoke wonderful English, and we never had a problem with the language. She took the time with everyone. Her knowledge of Russian History, and art was amazing. The tour company was punctual, and we were always back to the ship with plenty of time to spare, even when we had long touring days. I would highly recommend this company to anyone taking a vacation to St. Petersburg.

Date of experience: May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We sailed with Holland America in June 2013 and booked with SPB after reading so many
positive things about them on Cruise Critic.

We were picked up after clearing customs and taken to our comfortable bus by our very friendly
guide. Her English was great as was her knowledge of her city. We are seasoned travelers and
were amazed at how much we saw in those 2 days.

We were able to bypass lines to get into the museums and churches quickly. Our lunches were
a great way to try the local food while dining with the locals.

We experienced a canal tour, a hydrofoil ride, a glimpse at a subway station, all the while taking
in the beautiful sights.

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank wanderlust657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

SPB tours was repeatedly recommended on the cruisecritic website for tours in St Petersburg. We chose the 5 day- 4 port tour option and covered most of our ports while on a Baltic cruise. Besides booking the Azamara cruise, this was one of the best decisions we made. Each day a a small group of us (between 7 and 11 tourists) were picked up by a very personable guide who spoke fluent English. Each one of our guides excelled in our view... Loved them all.....Luba in St Petersburg, especially stood out as exceptional. Saying our goodbyes to her was hard (she made us feel like family).
Vika has planned her tours just right.... Cover the essentials, optimizing the tour coverage, as opposed to maximizing, at a very manageable pace. The tours offer much more value than the expensive and crowded cruise ship tours and clearly less confusing than the myriad of choices offered on board.
We have typically avoided large group tours and prefer self guided tours after our obsessive compulsive research. This experience has changed our opinion. For our next trip to Peru in October, we are trying to schedule tours like SPB organizes. (SPB Tours may be a hard act to follow).

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank neodoc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had been recommended to book SPB tours in St Petersburg by another satisfied client. We were amazed by our tour guide Maria's high standard of English and her ability to understand all of our Australian accents. Maria has an incredible knowledge of St Petersburg's art and history. Viewing the thousands of art exhibits with Maria was an excellent experience that we shall all treasure. Her love of fine arts was truly a pleasure to share. SPB provided a wheelchair for me and Maria was most flexible with her tours allowing me to access many areas I did not think would be possible to view. They even managed to purchase four tickets to the ballet with only one days notice. The Peterhof and its beautiful gardens and fountains were magnificent. Our friendly and helpful driver Max was very skilled at weaving through the traffic and he had an uncanny ability to find a much appreciated very close car park. Even the pleasant selection of lunch venues were places where we could eat along side the locals.

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Robynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked SPB because of problems obtaining a visa for Russia. Our cruise company, Holland America, demanded visas and only offering limited tour options. So we booked through SPB because they claimed no need for a visa and they had a great two day tour. We were a little nervous, but ended up booking a private tour for the 4 of us with a private van, tour guide and driver.

We got a little nervous when we received a notice from SPB, just before we left on our trip, advising us that some cruise companies were trying to restrict people from leaving cruise ships in St. Petersburg unless they had visas or booked tours through the cruise line. Cruise lines were evidently refusing to issue a boat certificate required by Russian authorities. Our unease built up after we boarded the cruise ship when our Holland America tour brochure made it clear that nobody would be allowed off the boat unless in possession of a visa or having tour tickets booked through Holland America. We were getting ready for a fight. However, the day before our arrival in St Petersburg, boat clearance certificates were delivered to our room, all filled in, by Holland America. Good going guys. Good customer service.

At the end of the day, we cleared Russian Immigration/Customs no sweat. SPB was there with car, driver and tour guide and we had two absolutely outstanding days. I highly recommend SPB. Everything was as promised. Our tour guide was exceptional at working 'the system'. A one hour wait to see Catherine the Great's palace was reduced to a few minutes. This scenario was repeated at Church of the Spilled Blood and The Hermitage. Our guide was very good at reading us. People will tell you it takes a week to see the Hermitage. I could do it in about an hour. Others in our foursome would take the week. Our guide led us through the Hermitage, constantly checking our tolerance (Do you want to see another Rembrant? No!) and striking a balance that satisfied everyone.

Anyway, by day two we were beginning to feel comfortable enough to make special requests. I wanted to see the Aurora. Our driver told us he would try and make it given the traffic at rush hour and make it he did with some pretty interesting driving on some backstreets.

I would recommend SPB tours of St Petersburg if traveling a cruise ship or not. The two day tour is a great way to get the lay of the land in case you want to head off on your own. If on a cruise ship, ite the way to go.

Date of experience: July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank RMG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews